top of page

'Silent Angel' by Helen Phifer


Book: SILENT ANGEL


Author: Helen Phifer


Pub Day: Sept 28th 2022



About the Book:



The girl’s head is bent as if in prayer, her hands bound tightly together at the wrist. Her bare feet are still against the cold sand, the last thing she ever felt before she breathed her last…


When the body of a teenage girl is found in Rydal Falls’ churchyard, Detective Morgan Brookes abandons her own birthday to attend the scene. In the dim evening light, Morgan can just make out the girl wrapped in a pristine white sheet and is certain she’s been left here for them to find.


The autopsy identifies the girl as sixteen-year-old Shea Wilkinson, and Morgan’s heart cracks with sorrow. The beautiful teenager has been missing for weeks, could she have been suffering all this time? When she learns the sand on Shea’s feet is from a nearby island, Morgan leaves immediately, determined to find the killer’s hiding place and stop them in their tracks.


But scouring the windswept beach, Morgan can’t find any sign that Shea was ever there. And then her phone rings with devastating news. Another girl has gone missing, a young nurse called Milly with the same blonde hair and blue eyes as Shea.


Morgan won’t rest until she has returned the kind, cheerful girl to her distraught parents. But Milly was last seen chatting to one of Morgan’s colleagues on the force… Refusing to think the worst, can she trace the clues and get inside the mind of the most cunning killer of her career, before another innocent life is lost?


An absolutely addictive page-turner! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Rachel Abbott.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Silent Angels' by Helen Phifer.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Helen Phifer, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 28th September 2022.


This is the seventh book I have read by this author. It is also the sixth book in the 'Detective Morgan Brookes' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'Find The Girl' (book 5 in this series), 'First Girl To Die' (book 4 in this series), 'The Hiding Place' (book 3 in this series) , 'The Girl In The Lake' (book 2 in the 'Beth Adams series),' The Killer's Girl' (book 2 in this series) or 'One Left Alive' (the first book in this series) and LakeView House (standalone) which I also recommend anyone and everyone read!!



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'An absolutely addictive page-turner! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Lisa Regan and Rachel Abbott.' I am a huge fan of all three of this authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Helen and if this is half as good as' Find The Girl' (book 5 in series), 'First Girl To Die' (book 4 in this series), 'The Hiding Place' (book 3 in this series) , 'The Girl In The Lake' (book 2 in the 'Beth Adams series),' The Killer's Girl' (book 2 in this series) and 'One Left Alive' (the first book in this series) and LakeView House (standalone) it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 56 chapters and an epilogue The chapters medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Cumbria, UK 🇬🇧 The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually been on holidays to Cumbria so it will help me picture everything.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Detective Constable Morgan Brookes and Detective Sergeant Ben Matthews The benefits of third person perspective with multiple perspectives are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Wow!!! Just Wow!!! I did not see that one coming!!! Yet another absolutely unputdownable page turning book from the extremely talented Helen Phifer!!!


This book is fantastically written and such an addictive and compelling read. Excellent descriptions making it so easy to imagine what's going on. The book cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is an absolute roller-coaster ride filled with suspense, crime, drama, red herrings and is an absolutely explosive psychological thriller that kept me up until late at night. I just could not put it down!!! I completely blame Helen for the bags under my eyes!! This is just one of those series that I have no idea how as each of them have been explosively addictive but Helen manages to make each one better and better!!! This is such a high accomplishment and it is exactly why I cannot wait for each of these fantastic books to be released. Whether part of this fantastic series or standalone Helen completely sucks her readers in to the depths of each storyline and manages to completely captivate them until the very last page!! . Helen completely emerges the reader into the storyline and there is just no escaping so be warned!! Do not start this if you have plans for the day 😂 It gets harder and harder to surprise me when it comes to crime books after reading so many yet Helen manages to do it absolutely every single time!!! Helen please let me into your secret as I have no idea how you do it but each book gets better and better!! The storyline itself was very realistic and I must admit I had no idea that she had worked in a police team until the letter at the end of this book but her experience shines through when your reading. My heart absolutely broke by a certain event and along with another matter I really really cannot wait to see how the team recovers from these bombshells. I was absolutely she'll shocked and had tears streaming down my eyes. I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers but OMG Helen 😭 It is always a strange experience reading one of Helen's books as her storyline and writing skills make you want to keep flipping the pages until the end but then when you get there your absolutely gutted as you have to wait for the next book in this absolutely fantastic series that ticks each and every box!!


Congratulations Helen on yet another absolutely addictive, unputdownable explosive success!! Your books keep getting better and better which is incredible as I have loved each and every one of them. As always, looking forward to the next installment in this epic series!!



Although this is the seventh book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Clear your schedules as you won't be able to do anything else the second you turn the pages on this explosive action packed psychological thriller that will tick absolutely every box!!


I loved meeting all the characters again. They have definitely become like friends to me over these books and it's always sad to say goodbye to them. The characters are all very strong and the fact that Morgan and Amy are such strong females was definitely a bonus with me being female myself. I love Amy and Morgan and her relationship with Ben and would love to read more about her as always. I'd love to read more about Ben, Morgan and a few others actually. I am looking forward to seeing the relationship between Ben and Morgan progress and I liked the way they had quite similar histories. I also enjoyed the progression of friendship between Morgan and Cain who I really liked and enjoyed getting to know more in this book. I absolutely adore Cain who is such a sweet and kind hearted, not to mention sexy part of the team!! He has the perfect qualities of a police officer. I have always had fun watching the sarcasm and snipes between Amy, Morgan and Detective Des. I had started to warm to Marc in the last book but OMG I could kill him. What is the pri&k playing at, seriously 😡. That man has got a serious chip on his shoulder and I hope someone smashes it off in the next book!! I absolutely LOVE Amy with her sarcastic say it as it is, larger than life personality and I loved meeting her again. Declan the pathologist is another big character for me and I really love his funny yet caring and compassionate personality and always look forward to seeing him. I love him more and more with each epic, suspense filled addictive page turning novel in this series!! Theodore is a very strange character and I am intrigued to see if we get to see more of him soon!! However, you can't love everyone and apart from that horrible cow I just cannot wait to meet the rest of an amazing team who I have grown to love!!


Well done on yet another massive success Helen and here is to the next success in an amazing series 🥂 🎈 💐. This is EXACTLY why your one of my favourite authors and this is one of my top 3 series'!!! 😍



Overall another action packed, page turning, gripping, suspense filled edge of your seat must read by the legend that is Helen Phifer!!



Genres covered in this novel include Romance Novel, Thriller, Mystery, British Detective Stories, Suspense, Serial Killer's, Women's Detective Fiction, English Crime, Psychological Thriller, Hardboiled, Noir Fiction, Women Sleuths, Psychological Fiction, Police Procedural and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, CL Taylor, Tess Gerritson, Lisa Regan, Rachel Abbot and anyone looking for an epic read.



327 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@HelenPhifer @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio


Helen Phifer is the Bestselling writer of the hugely popular Annie Graham, Lucy Harwin, Beth Adams and her current series featuring Detective Constable Morgan Brooks published by the fabulous Bookouture.


She lives in the busy town of Barrow-in-Furness surrounded by miles of coastline and a short drive from the glorious English Lake District.


Helen loves reading books that scare the heck out of her and is eternally grateful to Stephen King, Dean Koontz, James Herbert and Graham Masterton for scaring her senseless in her teenage years. Unable to find enough scary stories she decided to write her own and her debut novel The Ghost House released in October 2013 became a #1 Global Bestseller.


She has written over twenty books in various genres, and you can follow her over on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/helenphifer/


Or find her over at www.helenphifer.com



Social Media






Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/helen-phifer




Purchase Link









12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page