top of page

'Shimmer' by Alan Meredith


Book Blurb

Lyla is having the worst year of her life and then her Mum announces they are moving to a strange new town.

The only silver lining is the signs that a cat has made itself home in the new house.

Lyla quickly finds out though that Shimmer is no ordinary cat...





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Shimmer' by Alan Meredith.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours and Alan Meredith.


Publication date 17th March 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title.


This novel consists of 19 chapters. The chapters are short to short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Lyla. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'Shimmer' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Alan discusses/includes animal death.


This book is very well written and takes you into the mind of both a young girl and a cat! The vivid descriptions left you feeling the waves on your skin and the leafs in your hair.


This book is unique in the fact that it is not only written from a child's point of view but then goes on to what goes on in the mind of a cat. I actually read this book twice, firstly myself and then to my 9 year old son although I did leave out the but about what happened to Lyla's mothers cat. I am an adult and found that quite upsetting so I'm sure my 9 year old son would too so just be careful if reading to a child or your child is reading this book. However, although it is upsetting, sadly this does happen even now. The story wasn't fast or slow paced but it did start speeding up more from chapter 6 where Shimmer takes over. This part did leave me confused as I wasn't sure if it was meant to be Lyla in Shimmer's body or Lyla just seeing memories, this was later cleared up. I found it to be an easy read which was unique and enjoyable. I read it in an hour so if you are looking for a quick read this is certainly one for you. I rate this book 4/5 as I enjoyed it.


My 9 year old son really enjoyed listening to me read it and even read it himself afterwards. When I asked him what he thought he said "I think it is a really cool book and I loved Shimmer (he is a huge cat lover especially as I run a cat rescue). It was like going on an adventure with him and seeing all the other animals. I felt sorry for the chickens which was my worst part and some other animals but loved the Queen cat who was really cool and was my favourite part. I want one of them (not happening I explained to him 😂). I give the book 5/5".


Although this book is mainly aimed at children from approximately 8 to 13 (would be from 6 if not for certain parts with animals) it is also and enjoyable read for adults.


Overall a unique and enjoyable read for older children and adults alike.



Genres covered in this book include Children & Young Adults, Fantasy, Middle Grade and Urban Fantasy amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of cats!!


94 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) from myself and 5/5 (Loved it) from my son which gives a 4.5 (as can't give half stars upped it to a 5) 5 on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@AlanMeredith @ZooLoosBT @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio


Alan Meredith lives in sleepy West Sussex with his wife and two children. He relocated there after suffering a psychosis back in 2000. Writing stories was a childhood love that he lost as he mistakenly believed that imagination had no place in the grown up world.

He likes taking reality and weaving fantastical elements into it. Alan's writing reflects his belief that life is a journey of highs and lows and the idea that 'life should be fair' is an unrealistic expectation to give anyone, especially kids. If you are looking for the sugar coated ‘Happy Ever After’ you have come to the wrong place.



Follow him at:







Buy Links








39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page