top of page

Secrets Of The Monument by Arlene Pearson. Review


Book Description


Two sets of lovers, one age-old monument… forever connected...


In this intriguing dual-time story, two very different love stories prevail -


2015 - Verity and Jeremy are idyllically happy in their new home, a country cottage at the foot of an old Greek temple on a green hill. He has promised her there will be no more surprises – until his chaotic music producer nephew turns up to stay and causes havoc.


1946 - Amelia and Ed. Torn apart in distressing circumstances, is the romance between the daughter of the Lord of the Manor and the son of a pitman over before it ever really began?


When Verity’s Grandad Ed asks her to find his first love after sixty-seven years, to reveal a life changing secret, she embarks upon a journey which takes her to different shores. When worlds which are generations apart collide, will the mystery of the monument be revealed? Also, will Verity finally be able to shake off the turbulence of her own past and find a deeper love and understanding wins the day



BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Secrets Of The Monument' by Arlene Pearson.



Read and reviewed for Arlene Pearson and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 25th March 2023.



This is the first book I have read by this author.



This novel consists of 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




This book is devastatingly heartbreaking and beautiful. It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, family, love, loss, romance, secrets, friendship, forgiveness, moving on, and so much more. It is one of the most thought provoking books I have ever read and I was questioning myself throughout this heartbreaking storyline. I didn't just question myself once about what I would do at the beginning of this book if I was in Amelia's position but also what I would have done in Verity's position throughout. Arlene's writing and descriptions are so evocative I really felt I was write next to both Amelia and Verity during the present and past. Reading this book really does make you feel that you are standing with them and going through their pain, love, worries and suffering. While you are reading this you are going through a journey of love and loss, heartbreak, secrets, love and forgiveness and so, so much more. It really is a rollercoaster ride of emotions. I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying this book around every chance that I got and I had tears absolutely streaming down my face by the time the gorgeous ending came. You need to clear your schedules and get the tissues at the ready because you will not be able to put this book down and it had me in tears by the end and I do not cry easily!!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



The characters are strong, realistic and I became completely invested in both Verity and Amelia. I felt each of their pain, heartbreak, betrayal, guilt, happiness, anger, sorrow and so much more My heart broke for each of them who went through so much change and more (but I can't say more as I don't want to spoil the storyline for anyone). Although they both went through very different situations romance wise their families were both very similar, especially their awful (so called) father's. Although it was mainly through Amelia and Verity's eyes that the stories unfold there are several many other characters that were affected by all the changes and the emotions charging through the characters and I was completely invested in Ed, Jeremy, Albie and not forgetting Pedro, Shaggy, Tom and Tiny of course!!! Arlene does an absolutely amazing job of bringing a range of characters and personalities to life. I won't say anymore about the characters as I don't want to go into too much detail at the risk of spoiling it for other readers. Well done Arlene!!




Overall a beautiful romantic emotional rollercoaster ride set over multiple timelines.



389 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@SecretsOfTheMonument @ArlenePearson @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


















Author Bio


Arlene Pearson lives with her family and a crazy cockatiel in in a small North East village and is a

writer of blogs and fiction. She began writing seriously after graduating from Northumbria University

with a Master of Arts degree in Creative Writing, initially writing articles for local publications. She

was a Readers Champion Columnist for a Sunday newspaper for many years, also writing an on-line

blog entitled Two Point Four Children/Teenagers. Arlene has also written a novella which can be

found on the Cutalongstory Writers Community Website and has self-published four books on

Amazon including a full-length novel entitled Where the Four Streams Meet.



Social Media Links








Purchase Links








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page