top of page

'Saved From Scandal' by Julia Cassandra

Book Description


How do you react when your first love returns from a hero's grave?


Sophie Dawson had only ever loved one man and imagined marriage to her childhood friend Sam Mason as simple destiny. So convinced of their unbreakable bond was she that the pair spent an unguarded afternoon together shortly before Sam's departure for the war. When the news of Sam's death at Waterloo reaches her, a distraught Sophie vows never to love again. But one year later Sam is back wishing to resume where the pair left off...and relating a story that Sophie can't quite believe.


Sophie's brother, having misgivings over Sam's peculiar return, discusses the matter with his firm friend the Earl of Stanford. When Sophie enters the room Stanford proposes to her in order that she may be released from her betrothal to Sam. Little does he realize how beguiling the charade would become to him.


Now two stubborn souls must navigate the scrutiny of the Ton in the hopes of saving Sophie from scandal, and perhaps finding happiness together.


Readers of Regency romance will thrill to the slow-burn intensity of Sophie and Lord Stanford's relationship as their sham betrothal becomes something altogether more real in the second of the 'Bent but not broken' series.



BOOK REVIEW



Review for 'Saved From Scandal' by Julia Cassandra.



Read and reviewed for Julia Cassandra.


Publication date 21st February 2021.



This is the the first book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Bent But Not Broken' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its fantastic eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title.


This novel consists of a prologue and 25 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Edgerton, Huddersfield, Wear Yorkshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere mentioned in the book.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Sophie Dawson. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO JULIA CASSANDRA ON AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVELY PAGE TURNING GORGEOUS READ.


AN absolutely successful unputdownable historical romance

by the very talented Julia Cassandra. I'm always a bit dubious with books based historically as I worry about not being able to 'deal' with the language used but I absolutely love how Julia has written her book. The language used is perfectly suited to the era whilst being easy to read. The atmosphere and descriptions were perfect. The synopsis and cover also suit the storyline.



This book had me hooked from the first page to the last. There was so much going on that I just couldn't stop turning the pages and as soon as I said just this last chapter and then bed something happened that meant I just had to read another one. It is absolutely rammed with romance, loss, friendship, family, heartache, scandal and everything you could want in a romantic page turner. The setting was perfect for the storyline and the descriptions brought the story to life. There were so many times I was so absorbed that when I looked up from the book it took me a few moments to realise where I actually was! There were many moments my heart was in my throat wondering what was going to happen next and the ending was absolutely perfect. The fact that Julia has done her research absolutely shines through. There's not much worse than reading a book littered in errors as the author hasn't done their research in the area they are writing about but you don't have to worry about that with this book. It is heartbreaking how hard it is just to be able to marry the person that you love and it definitely makes me realise how lucky I am not to live in an era or in royalty where it is so complicated. I don't read an awful lot of historical romances but after reading this one I cannot wait to get stuck into more books in what is promising to be an addictive series.


It is always worrying when starting a new series as you have no idea who the characters are. It is very important for me to bond with not only the lead protagonists but also any characters that may make repeat appearances during the series too.


Although this is the second book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters were all larger than life and realistic. Julia's writing brings each and every one of them to life. My heart went out to Sophie on so many occasions and I am so glad that I live in an era where I can choose who I wish to be with and marry. I loved watching the relationships change and develop between all the characters especially Sophie and Sam and Sophie and Stanford. It was also lovely to see the sibling relationship between Sophie and Caleb and the friendship/relationship between Sophie and Annie. My thoughts changed on Sam throughout the book and one minute I really liked him and the other I thought he was more concerned about himself than anyone else. His father on the other hand was such a sweet man and I thought it was so sweet how he continues to see Sophie as his daughter. Caleb is a typical bug brother and seems to want to have to much control over Sophie at times but you can definitely see how much he loves her. His wife Annie is also such a lovely woman as is Lydia and Miranda (my heart went out to her when we discover what happens and I hope she makes a come back in the next book). My feelings also changed with Stanford throughout the book and definitely the biggest change of heart I had with him is when I discovered Miss Waters. I won't say any more about the characters as I don't want to give anything away. However, regardless of of you love them or hate them they all worked perfectly to make this such an explosive start to a promising series I cannot wait to meet them all again and see what they get up to in the next "episode".


If you are looking for an absolutely gorgeous page turning historical romance then your in the right place!!


Welcome to my favourite historical romance author Club Julia. A page turning and unputdownable success! Here's to your next success 🥂!!



Overall an easy to read, beautiful and intriguing page turning historical romance that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Historical Romance, Series, Regency Historical Romance, Historical Fiction, Romance Fiction, Historical Regency Fiction and Romance amongst others.


442 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £12.67 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@SavedFromScandal @BentButNotBroken @JuliaCassandra @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited

















Author Bio


Julia Cassandra is a life-long lover of reading, and has enjoyed her favourite genre - Historical Romance - since she first stole a book from her mother's shelf to read at aged twelve. Many, many years later she finally has put all of that... research... to good use. Her premiere novel - Healing Words fulfils a dream of joining the ranks of all of her favourite authors. Look soon for 'Tempting Timothy: Bent but not Broken Book 3'




Purchase Link






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page