top of page

'Save My Daughter' by Sam Vickery

Updated: Apr 22, 2021


Book Description:


As soon as we sat on the ride I knew something was wrong. I couldn’t relax. I couldn’t hear the theme park music, the giggles of my two other children. I’d left my baby in someone else’s care. And I knew I’d made a mistake… With her two beautiful children and newborn baby Ella, Lily’s life is full of love and laughter. She gave up her job to be a stay-at-home mother, and though she sometimes envies the freedom of best friend Hannah, Lily wouldn’t trade it for anything. But Lily’s world implodes when Hannah disappears with Ella one day, and Lily fears from the text message she receives that Hannah doesn’t intend to come back: You don’t deserve her. It’s true that Lily has been keeping secrets about her marriage from Hannah, ones she thought only she and her husband knew. Suddenly Lily realises that there are things she doesn’t know about Hannah too – and that by keeping her husband’s secrets, she might pay the ultimate sacrifice. A rollercoaster ride of emotions, Save My Daughter will break your heart. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Diane Chamberlain will be swept away by Sam Vickery’s utterly gorgeous novel.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Save My Daughter' by Sam Vickery.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sam Vickery, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 1st April 2020.


This is the third book I have read by this author. The previous book I read are called 'One Last Second' and 'My Only Child' which I loved and would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and colouful cover and its captivating synopsis. The synopsis stated that this fans of Jodi Picoult, Kate Hewitt and Diane Chamberlain will be swept away by this book. I am a huge fan of all of their books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I have also previously read two previous books by Sam which I loved and am hoping to enjoy this one just as much. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 44 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Dorset , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture the scenes. I have actually been on holiday in Dorset several times so it will be interesting to see if I recognise anywhere mentioned in the book.


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonists being Lily and Hannah. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on and feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


It is set over multiple timelines (now, then and 'the day it all began' ). When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions.


Well, Well, Well, Sam Vickery you have done it again!!! Congratulations on yet another breathe taking novel!!


This book is extremely well written and the layout with the past and present chapters are perfect. They drip feed you information of what has gone on in the past with just the right amount of information to give you an idea of what is going on but not too much so that you work it all out. The cover and blurb work perfectly with the storyline.


Wow!! What an absolutely breathe taking and heart stopping storyline. Every mothers worst nightmare and as a mother it had me absolutely hooked. It is a beautiful and devastating plot that really shows the true devotion of a mother's love and the pains that someone may go through to have a baby and have that mothers love. It just completely blew me away and left me sitting there thinking what measures someone would go to to have that child and what would I do if I was in the situation of either Hannah or Lily. Would I forgive Hannah?


However, it wasn't just the one heart tugging storyline as you had the other subplot going on at the same time. I won't say too much as I don't want to give to much away but oh how I felt for Lily and Jon and everything they were going through. Have your tissues at the ready ladies and gents cause this one is a complete tear jerker!!!


The storyline was set at a perfect pace, not too fast and not too slow. It gave just the right amount of time for you to be able to take everything in as it was happening and question yourself about what you would do. It really is thought provoking.

It is an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions and filled with love, deceit, secrets, tension and trust. A very powerful and gripping depiction of the power and intensity of a mother love and a fathers sacrifice. It sucked me in from page one until the tear jerking ending.


The characters are unique, well defined and realistic. The strength of Lily and Jon absolutely shine through as does the devastation Hannah is going through. Many would hate Hannah but if I was in that position I think I would do what Lily did, I think, at this time I would but who knows? Nobody knows how they would react until they are in that situation. I did have a lot of sympathy for Hannah but I also had sympathy for Lily and Jon. This book shows the power and devastation of not just a mother and fathers love but of friendship too.


I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!! Another congratulations to Sam Vickery and I do believe that Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain have some strong competition here when it comes to the book charts. Looking forward to her next gripping, and going by all her previous work, what promises to be heart rendering.


Overall a gorgeous, heart breaking, page turning, tear jerking and powerful novel of a parents love and sacrifice and a friends heartbreak and devastation. Powerful and addictive.


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Fiction, Suspense and Religious Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and ANYONE looking for a powerful tear jerker.


299 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamVickery @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Sam Vickery is an English author who loves gritty, emotional stories that can make you sob. As a child, she was forever getting in trouble for being caught with her nose in a book, and these days are no different. She lives on the south coast of England with her husband, two children and a cat that thinks it's a dog.






Buy Links:






39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page