top of page

'Santa Please Bring Me A Boyfriend' by Sophie Ranald

Updated: Oct 15, 2022

Book Description


Santa, Please Bring Me a Boyfriend: An absolutely perfect and heartwarming Christmas romantic comedy by Sophie Ranald


As snowflakes fall like icing sugar, I smile at him and feel an unmistakeable spark. And I realise I don’t just fancy the (taut, muscular) arse off this man – a man who probably doesn’t even know I exist – but I actually like him…


This Christmas, Rowan has a long list for Santa:


To get her sex life out of the Sahara

To stop being the lonely singleton in her friendship group (aka the prime target for blind dates that go horribly wrong)

To find out where her confidence went (note to self: check under sofa

To have someone to curl up with this Christmas, other than a tin of Quality Street

But having had more than her fair share of heartbreak thanks to her ex – with more off-agains and on-agains than Rachel and Ross – she’s starting to think that real love is just wishful thinking…


But Rowan’s friends aren’t so quick to give up, arranging an advent calendar to help get her spark back. And while the gifts make Rowan feel festive – glittery bubble bath, anyone? – what she really wants to unwrap is the guy who delivers them, Alex. With his soft Scottish accent, infectious grin and blue eyes as twinkly as fairylights, Rowan wouldn’t mind finding him in her stocking this Christmas…


Rowan has no clue how to put her heartache behind her and get his attention. Is she brave enough to open the door in mid-December wearing nothing but her new sexy lingerie and shiny lip gloss? Are twenty-five days enough to get her mojo back or will she have to send a strongly-worded letter to Santa after all…?


This totally addictive, fabulous and feel-good romance will give you ALL the Christmas feels this festive season! Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sophie Kinsella and Beth O’Leary.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Santa Please Bring Me A Boyfriend' by Sophie Ranald


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sophie Ranald, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 7th October 2022.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'He's Cancelled' which I would highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and its hilarious sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'This totally addictive, fabulous and feel-good romance will give you ALL the Christmas feels this festive season! Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sophie Kinsella and Beth O’Leary.' I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sophie Ranald and if this book is half as good as 'He's Cancelled' it's guaranteed to be a page turner. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 41 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are partly or fully set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and gone on holiday in England on many occasions so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Rowan and Alex. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.


What an absolutely fantastic laugh a minute, heart warming, stunning must read!!! Absolutely loved it fairplay!!! This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline itself was absolutely unputdownable so make sure you clear your schedules before starting to read it!!


This is the second festive book I have read this year and I am tempted to put the tree up!! This book is an absolutely gorgeous read that is perfect to lift your spirits!! It is filled with romance, friendship, family, love and of course Christmas!! I love that the protagonist is an estate agent but it is shocking how competitive the industry is. The fact that Sophie has done her research into the industry shines through! There's nothing worse than having a book filled with errors as the author didn't do their research into the subject they are writing about. I absolutely adored Rowans friendship group 'The Girlfriend Group' which I will talk about later. However, I will say that the fact that they gave her an advent calender which she had to wait to open as her friends had taken the gifts out and replaced several of them with other heart filled and generous gifts. It is such a sweet and beautiful idea which I loved watching unfold. It is a unique storyline, I've never come across a book where someone is attracted to their delivery man/woman and that was something else I loved unfold before my eyes. This was a light hearted, easy read which made me laugh out loud and smile so many times I lost count. The ending is stunning as is the whole book. I would love to see this turned into a movie. I would be the first in the line to see it!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them especially Rowan who I thought was a fantastic female role mode especially as a muml!!! My heart went out to her so many times watching her struggle as a single mum of a teen, watching everyone enjoying their Christmas plans and putting up with the chauvinistic pigs at work. Marty and Brett are absolute d|ckhe@ds who I would have loved to punch and her boss Julz wasn't any better!! How they treated Rowan and Kimberley was a disgrace, as well as being sexist and illegal and I loved Kimberley's comeback at the end!! You go girl!! Alex is absolutely lush, romantic and I just absolutely adored him. I definitely won't forget him in a hurry!! Shame my delivery men are nowhere near as decent!! 'The Girlfriend Club' which consisted of Rowan's absolutely amazing friends Kate, Naomi and Abbie made me green with envy. Such an amazing support group with such caring, loving and thoughtful friends that looked after each other and gave Rowan the best Christmas anyone could ask for, along with Alex. What I wouldn't give to have friends half as amazing as that!! These characters, well most of them, were one of the best group of people I've ever 'met' and they will stay with me for a long time!!


Make sure you read until the end to enjoy the first 2 chapters of another of Sophie's books 'Sorry Not Sorry'. I haven't read this myself but after reading the first two chapters it is definitely on my to read list ASAP as it looks like yet another amazing read!


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Sophie on yet another HUGE success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more past and future amazing books. This is exactly why you are on my top 3 favourite romcom authors list!! Here's to your next success 🥂!


Overall an unputdownable, unforgettable, stunning romcom that will put you in the festive spirit and have you staying up late at night to finish it.



Genres covered in this book include Women's Humourous Fiction, Romance Novel, Christmas Romantic Comedy, Humorous Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Humour, Romantic Comedy, and Domestic Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Bridget Jones, Bridesmaids movie, Emily Henry, Beth O’Leary and anyone looking for a absolutely stunning festive and heartwarming read!



394 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SophieRanald @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86












About the author:


Sophie Ranald is the youngest of five sisters. She was born in Zimbabwe and lived in South Africa until an acute case of itchy feet brought her to London in her mid-20s. As an editor for a customer publishing agency, Sophie developed her fiction-writing skills describing holidays to places she'd never visited. In 2011, she decided to disregard all the good advice given to aspiring novelists and attempt to write full-time. After one false start, It Would Be Wrong to Steal My Sister's Boyfriend (Wouldn't It?) seemed to write itself, and six more novels have followed. Sophie also writes for magazines and online about food, fashion, finance and fitness. She lives in south-east London with her amazing partner Hopi and their two adorable cats.


To find out about Sophie's forthcoming releases and get access to free books and special offers, sign up to her newsletter at sophieranald.com or www.facebook.com/SophieRanald




Author social media:











Buy links:


Amazon: http://ow.ly/KnQi50KZMIq


Apple: http://ow.ly/67rt50KZMIn


Kobo: http://ow.ly/hqgr50KZMIo







17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page