top of page

Review for 'Silenced For Good ' by Alex Coombs




Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Blackwood Books


This is the first book that I have read by this author. This is the only book he has written under the name Alex Coombs but he has 4 books in the DI Hanlon series under a different publisher and under the name of Alex Howards. He also writes light hearted crime fiction under the name HVCoombs.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb.


This novel consists of 36 chapters which are medium length so good if you want to read 'just one more chapter', not that I ever end up doing that, more like two or three.


The story is set in the UK and had has a strong female lead which is always a bonus for myself being female and British.


The plot is quite interesting and there are scenes in the beginning, middle and end that had me on the edge of my seat but the majority of the book was a slow burner.


The book is well written with good descriptions. I liked the Scottish dialect as it made me feel like I was 'in' the book more but there were times when I did struggle to understand what some words meant.


There was a good mix of characters and most of them were realistic. However, I did find Hanlon to be quite blunt and rude. I don't mind the bluntness so much but can't abide rude people, places and thank you doesn't cost anything, so I struggled with her character in quite a few places although she did grow on me in the end.


Unfortunately, I cannot say I was completely surprised by who did what which is a shame. However others may not work it out as there were quite a few red herrings thrown in.


If I was to recommend this book it would be to fans of crime and mystery.


288 pages


Free on kindle unlimited or 99p to purchase on kindle. I think this is a good price for this book.


Rated 3/5 (It was OK) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@AlexCoombs @BoldwoodBooks @Bookworm1986

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page