top of page
Writer's pictureKirsty Whitlock

Review for 'Hunted' by Darcy Coates



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Poisoned Pen Press


This is the first book that I have read by this author. I am looking forward to reading more.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb which both worked very well with the storyline. I am also a fan or horror.


This novel consists of 69 chapters relatively short in length so perfect for 'just one more chapter', like that ever happens for me, more like 3 or 4 more!! The majority of the chapters ended on a cliffhanger which definitely didn't help the 'just one more chapter' situation at all but kept me wanting to read on continuously. Thankfully, some chapters didn't end in suspense so I managed to get some sleep!


The story is presented from several points of view which I always enjoy as you can 'see' more of what is going on and get a better picture of it all.


Carla made me laugh with her non-people skills and managing to make situations worse by saying the wrong things, reminded me of myself 😂.

Found Todd to be a bit creepy going from saying Eileen was a friend and then going on about things like being his soul mate. Daft I know, but it also annoyed me that he littered unnecessarily!

Some of the things Decker came out with cracked me up!

All the characters were very well developed and strong as well as very realistic which I find is important regardless of genre.


The book was very well written, descriptive and very gruesome in some places, just my kind of book 😂. I found myself as lost in the story as the characters were in the book.


I must admit I did start feeling sceptical and a bit disappointed when I suspected a certain something. I won't go into what that was as it may give too much away. However, I decided to continue as it is well written and still interesting and I hate not finishing a book. I am so glad that I did!!


First unexpected twist came at approx 50%! There were several after that and I definitely did not suspect the ending!! What a twist!!! There's nothing worse than figuring out what is going on before you are even half way through the book!


Overall this book completely hooked me and I hadn't even realised! Filled with suspense, horror, mystery, suspense and more, a great thriller!


I would recommend this book to fans of police procedural, suspense, thrillers, mysteries, horror and more.


409 pages

Free on kindle unlimited or £3.99 to purchase. I think this is a very good price for this book.


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@DarcyCoates @PoisonedPenPress @Bookworm1986

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commenti

Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page