top of page
Writer's pictureKirsty Whitlock

Review for 'House Of Shadows' by Darcy Coates




Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Poisoned Pen Press


This is the second book that I have read by this author. The first I have just finished is called 'Hunted' which I enjoyed. I am looking forward to reading more. This book is the first in the 2 volumes 'Ghosts and shadows' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb which both worked very well with the storyline. I am also a fan or horror and have enjoyed a book by Darcy Coates before.


This novel consists of 39 chapters and an epilogue relatively short in length so perfect for 'just one more chapter', like that ever happens for me, more like 3 or 4 more!!


This book gripped my attention from the beginning and kept me sucked into the plot all the way until the cliffhanger ending. I will definitely be moving straight onto the next book in this 2 part series.


I really enjoyed the gothic romance and all things gothic, macabre and almost labyrinth feel about this creepy, disturbing horror.


The book is very well written throughout with fantastically gory descriptions which builds the picture up easily for readers.


The plot kept me on the edge of my seat and turning the pages. It is filled with horror, suspense and tension and is perfect for fans of any of these types of books.


The characters were all strong and quite well developed. There were enough of them needed to build the storyline and not too many as to lead to confusion. I also really enjoyed the personality growth of Sophie. I'm looking forward to reading more about them in the next chapter 'House of Secrets'.


I would love to see this being made into a movie especially with the fact that it is set in older times, brings some uniqueness to it, that as well as the whole storyline.


I would recommend this book to fans of horror, Darcy Coates and suspense.


294 pages

Free on kindle unlimited or £2.99 to purchase. I think this is a very good price for this book.


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@DarcyCoates @PoisonedPenPress @Bookworm1986

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page