top of page
Writer's pictureKirsty Whitlock

Review for 'House Of Secrets' by Darcy Coates




Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Poisoned Pen Press


This is the third book that I have read by this author. The first I read is called 'Hunted' and the second was 'The house of shadows', both of which I enjoyed. I am looking forward to reading more. This book is the second in the 2 volumes 'Ghosts and shadows' series.


I decided to read this book immediately after finishing reading the first book in this 2 part series 'House of Shadows' which I enjoyed and ended in a cliffhanger.


This novel consists of 32 chapters relatively short in length so perfect for 'just one more chapter', like that ever happens for me, more like 3 or 4 more!!


This book is fast paced and gripped my attention from the beginning and kept me sucked into the plot all the way until the explosive and action packed ending.


The second book begins with Sophie having nightmares about The Grimlock that we 'met' in the first book. It continues from there and even though it is the second part in the series I believe it could be read as a standalone. However, to get the best picture I would probably read the first book before.


Not sure what I think of Joseph in this book. I can understand why he was so stand offish in the first one but after what they went through and other events it annoys me really that he is still like this. It is like he has multiple personalities when it comes to Sophie. I wrote this earlier on in the book but understand now why this was done.


I really enjoyed the gothic romance and all things gothic, macabre and almost labyrinth feel about this creepy, disturbing horror. Although it wasn't as morbid as the first book there was still plenty to keep a horror fan happy.


The book is very well written throughout with fantastically gory descriptions which builds the picture up easily for readers.


The plot kept me on the edge of my seat and turning the pages. It is filled with horror, suspense and tension and is perfect for fans of any of these types of books.


The characters were all strong and quite well developed. There were enough of them needed to build the storyline and not too many as to lead to confusion. Whereas Sophie seemed to be getting a stronger personality in the first book it seems that she 'reset' herself at the beginning of this one until she started to grow again. I enjoyed reading more about Garrett in this book as there wasn't that much of him in the first one to be able to make an opinion on him.


I would love to see this being made into a full length movie with the both books being brought together, especially with the fact that it is set in older times, brings some uniqueness to it, that as well as the whole storyline.


I would recommend this book to fans of horror, Darcy Coates and suspense.


246 pages

Free on kindle unlimited or £2.99 to purchase. I think this is a very good price for this book.


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@DarcyCoates @PoisonedPenPress @Bookworm1986

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page