top of page

Review for 'Act of Murder' by Dr. John Bishop.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Mantid Press


This is the first book that I have read by this author. This book is the first in the 'Doc Brady Mystery' series.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb. Unfortunately, I didn't feel the storyline lived up to the blurb.


This novel consists of 48 chapters that are relatively short so ideal if you want to read 'just one more chapter' (never happens with me).


The story is presented from Dr Brady's perspective. At times it felt like he was talking directly too me as if he was opposite me having a cuppa.


Doctor Bishop's medical knowledge shines through and there were excellent and vivid descriptions throughout.


Started off really well and I got sucked straight in but then the plot seemed to go off on a bit of a tangent with too much extra information for was unnecessary and I started disconnecting from the storyline and getting distracted.


I personally don't think it's very realistic for a detective to ask a doctor to help with an investigation but I may be wrong.


The characters were all strong and I liked Brady's personality and sense of humour.


Overall I believe this is meant as a medical thriller but I would class it more as medical/crime. I read until the end but I lost interest in the book several times and I was not surprised at the ending which is a shame. There just wasn't enough action for me but other readers may enjoy it more.


If I was to recommend this book it would be to fans of medical and crime books.


282 pages


Free on Kindle Unlimited or £4.29 to purchase. I think this is an acceptable price for this book in paperback but quite steep for a kindle version.


Rated 3/5 (It was OK ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews


@DRJohnBishop @MantidPress @Bookworm1986

https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page