top of page

Review for 'A Desperate Place' by Jennifer Greer




Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Crooked Lane Books


This is the first book that I have read by this author and it is actually her first and only book at the moment. It is the first book in the 'McKenna and Riggs' series.


You can preorder this book on Amazon now ready for release on 11th August 2020.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing blurb. I am also a massive Tess Gerritsen fan and when I read that is is "Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen's Rizzoli & Isles" I just had to give it a go! I have also read several books published by Crooked Lane that I have enjoyed so was hoping this would be one added to that list (written before I read the book). Well after reading this book I must say it certainly didn't disappoint!


This novel consists of 36 chapters and an epilogue of medium length.


The story is presented from the points of view of medical examiner detective Katie Riggs and journalist Whit Mckenna and is set in Oregon. I loved that you get to see what is going on from both a detective and journalistic point of view as it is normally one or the other due to strained relationships. between both sides. It ensures that you get a complete picture of what is going on.


Well I must say what an explosive start to what promises to be an exciting new series that I am excited to read more of!


The plot jumped straight into the action and immediately gripped my attention and continued to do so straight through until the nail biting, heart racing and unpredictable ending!! I love the fact that I thought I knew what was going on just to have a massive unexpected twist thrown in. Well done! There's nothing worse than working out what's going on when your less than half way through a crime novel!


I loved the characters and especially the fact that there were 2 really strong female leading characters. I definitely agree that fans of Rizzoli and Isles will love this!! There's more and more books coming out with strong female leads but not many that have two and it was pulled off really well. I must say all the characters in this novel were all very strong and realistic. I especially enjoyed Dr. Weldon's twisted sense of humour!!

I really enjoyed the friendship between Katie and Whit and again how procedures are followed shines through with their career "clashes".


I believe that Jennifer Greer did quite alot of research into police procedures as well as medical research and it really shines through! Although quite grotesque I was intrigued with the teratoma tumours as I have never heard of them and I did a bit of research myself. Learn something new every day! Thank you for teaching me something new!


I, personally, think that the plot has a very unique storyline which is an excellent achievement for an authors first novel, congratulations! I believe this book will be a fantastic success.


This novel is very well written with events all flowing together perfectly and descriptions that really put you in the plot next to the characters. Filled with suspense, drama, murder, friendships, crime, action this is an excellent thriller that I highly recommend to fans of all the above as well as Tess Gerritsen, psychological thrillers and police procedurals.


Overall an explosive start to what promises to be an exciting new series. Very well written, excellent characters and a massive congratulations to Jennifer Greer for an A*** first novel. I'm looking forward to reading more of your books!!!


Genres include crime, mystery, thriller, police procedural, action, drama, fiction and suspense.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good book, fans of Tess Gerritsen, murder, mystery, crime, suspense, thrillers, police procedurals, drama and action! Basically, everyone!


£10.36 to preorder on kindle via Amazon.


Rated 5/5 ( I LOVED IT) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads and like my page 'My book reviews' for more reviews


@JenniferGreer @CrookedLaneBooks @Bookworm1986

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page