top of page

Prom Queen by Laura Wolfe. Review.


Book: Prom Queen


Author: Laura Wolfe


Pub Day: October 9th 2023



Book Description


Twenty years ago, someone murdered my best friend the night she was crowned prom queen. Now I’m finally going to prove it…


After Bailey died, I fled our small lakeside hometown and never returned. But now I’m forced back here and I can’t avoid the constant whispers about our prom night, the suspicious looks of the people I grew up with.


Then I bump into a woman in a coffee shop and my eyes are drawn to the silver locket around her neck, glinting in the sunlight. My blood runs cold. I know it’s Bailey’s—she never took it off. And it’s been missing since the night she died.


The shock of seeing it again jolts me back to that terrible night: Bailey under the glittering lights, blowing kisses to a crowd glaring furiously back at her. Bailey wasn’t supposed to be prom queen—and someone made her pay for it.


Officially her death was ruled a tragic accident, but I knew better. I’ve never seen this woman before, so why does she have my best friend’s necklace? There has to be a reason, and this time I’ll stop at nothing to find out what really happened to Bailey the night she died.


Everyone in this town has secrets. But as I edge closer to the truth, I’m afraid of what lengths they’ll go to protect them…


A gripping psychological thriller with a twist that will make your jaw drop, perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window, The Wife Between Us and Lisa Jewell.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Prom Queen' by Laura Wolfe.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Laura Wolfe, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 9th October 2023.


This is the fifth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The In-Laws', 'Her Best Friends Lie', 'The Girl Before Me' and 'We Live Next Door' and I would highly recommend them all!!



This novel consists of a prologue, 51 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all feeling the hair raise on your arms and feeling the sweat run down your back.


Another absolutely huge success by Laura!!! This book had me hook, line and sinker from the first page and I could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx 1am, read it in one sitting and although I'm knackered today it was 1000000% worth it!!! I loved that you got to meet such a a mix of personalities and so many suspects!!! It keeps you constantly guessing who did what!! It is filled with friendship, murder, romance, lies, secrets, twists, turns and everything you could want from a psychological thriller along with some MASSIVE BOMBSHELLS which will leave you absolutely shocked!!! I haven't read a book with a storyline like this one and I loved the podcasts throughout the story and the fact that you jist can't trust any of the characters so your guessing and changing your mind constantly. Laura's fantastic evocative skills brings the environment, characters and their emotions to life ensuring that the reader is feeling their heart pounding along with the characters. She ends the timelines together perfectly to drip feed the reader just the right amount of information to tell them what they need to know while not giving anything away. I for one was NOT expecting that at all so a huge well done to Laura!! After reading hundred of thrillers it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but she definitely threw a bombshell with this one!! This book would make a fantastic movie that I will be first in line to watch!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


All the characters were strong, well developed and realistic as well as each of them hiding their own secrets. Laura's fantastic evocative skills ensures they all come to life in front of the readers eyes. Unfortunately, I really can't say anything about them without giving anything away now that I know who did. However, this is one of those fantastic books that will have you questioning each and every one of the characters and leave you with no idea who is lying and who, if any, you can trust. One minute I was convinced how I felt about one character and then the next everything was flipped around leaving my head spinning!!! Regardless of how you feel about the characters they all played their parts perfectly to create this on the edge of your seat thriller from the fantastic author that is Laura Wolfe!!! Grab your copy now to meet them all yourself!!


I would love to see this turned into a movie and Laura I really hope you are working on your next psychological thriller at this moment because this book will go far!!! A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS on what promises to be a MASSIVE success!!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors and here's to your next guaranteed success 🥂!!



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first two chapters of Laura's 'The In-Laws' which is actually one I have already read and if you enjoyed this book then I can guarantee you will love that one too. I would highly recommend reading it!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, nail biting, unputdownable thriller with twists you will not see coming!!!


353 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews







@PromQueen @LauraWolfe @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @BookoutureAnonymous @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited














Author Bio


Laura Wolfe is an Amazon charts bestselling author who writes twisty, fast-paced psychological thrillers and suspense novels published by Bookouture. Her indie titles have also been shortlisted for multiple book awards. Laura is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found hanging out with her husband and two kids, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She enjoys living in Ann Arbor, Michigan


Get Laura's FREE short story (a mini psych thriller), The Perfect Escape: https://t.co/RTGEoz9VgY




Social Media Links






Bookouture Email Sign up: https://www.bookouture.com/laura-wolfe




Purchase Link:








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page