top of page

'Pretty Broken Dolls' by Jennifer Chase



Book Description: In the thin light of the moon, the woman’s limp body hangs from the iron fence amongst the redwoods. Looped over the railings is the little gold locket her mother gave her when she turned sixteen. The picture of the girl inside smiles out at a future she’ll never see… As day breaks over the fairground, Detective Katie Scott forces herself to take in another disturbing scene in front of her. A woman, the same age as her, found slumped in the carriage of the Ferris wheel, red lipstick dragged across her lips, her throat cut. Katie doesn’t want to believe that the serial killer picking off women across the state has found their way to the small town of Pine Valley, California, but when her team finds a gold engagement ring hanging nearby, it’s a terrifying, but undeniable fact. With a twisted killer on her doorstep, Katie knows if she doesn’t act fast, she’ll find more women left out in the cold like broken dolls. Her team hit dead end after dead end, but only she can see the vital link between the victims: a connection with Katie herself. Katie has spent years pushing traumatic memories of her years in the military far out of reach, but she must confront them now or more innocent women will die. But as the killer circles closer and closer to Katie, what if the only answer is to give him what he wants? There must be another way… Warning – This absolutely unputdownable thriller will keep you up all night! Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh better hold on tight for a nail-biting rollercoaster ride!






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Pretty Broken Dolls' by Jennifer Chase.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jennifer Chase, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 5th August 2021.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the sixth book in her 'Detective Katie Scott' series. I have previously read 'Last Girls Alive' which is the fourth book in this series and 'The Fragile Ones' which is the fifth book in this series which I also recommend. All books can be read as standalones.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine and Melinda Leigh better hold on tight for a nail-biting rollercoaster ride! .' I am a huge fan of Lisa Regan and Melinda Leigh so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Jennifer Chase and if this is half as good as' The Fragile Ones' or 'Last Girls Alive' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 52 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in California, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Katie Scott. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.



Wow!!! What can I say about this page turning, nail biting crime thriller!! It was absolutely fantastically written and had me completely hooked from the first page until the last. Fantastic descriptions that really painted the picture throughout and put me in the book.


The storyline itself was unique, fast paced and filled with nail biting suspension. It was packed with action and very importantly the storyline was believable. When Katie knew about her phone I knew straight away that something was going to happen to a certain someone when it was arranged so that came as no surprise. Sorry to be vague but don't want to give anything away for future readers but once you've read it you'll know what I mean. I had no idea who the killer was until just before Katie worked it out so a HUGE WELL DONE Jennifer. It is getting harder and harder to shock me but you definitely did it this time. The fact that on your previous book I had worked it out at approx 50% shows that you are making it harder for the reader to work out which is great!!! There were many red herrings throughout which did make me doubt myself at time. It kept me hooked throughout and I cannot wait to read more in this series, not only the ones after but the ones I have yet to read.


I really enjoyed meeting all the characters again especially Katie and Gav but also getting to meet several other characters. The characters were well defined and realistic. I loved the fact that there was a strong female role model, being female myself. Katie is definitely a very likeable character who is suffering ptsd and is a force to be reckoned with. I loved her relationship with her partner Gav who is also another great character. I am so happy by what happened at the end and it was definitely well deserved for him!!! I cannot wait to read more about the them all and follow their relationships!!


Congratulations Jennifer on yet another fantastic book. I cannot wait until for your next one!!! Keep up the amazing writing!!!


Overall a nail biting, addictive, page turning suspense packed action crammed psychological thriller that keeps you on edge.



Genres covered in this novel include Mystery, Suspense, Thriller, Crime Fiction, Hardboiled, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Police Procedural amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Melinda Leigh, C. L Taylor, Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and anyone who has read any of Jennifer's previous books.


302 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on Kindle Unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JenniferChase @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio:


Jennifer Chase is a multi award-winning and best-selling crime fiction author, as well as a consulting criminologist. Jennifer holds a bachelor degree in police forensics and a master’s degree in criminology & criminal justice. These academic pursuits developed out of her curiosity about the criminal mind as well as from her own experience with a violent psychopath, providing Jennifer with deep personal investment in every story she tells. In addition, she holds certifications in serial crime and criminal profiling. She is an affiliate member of the International Association of Forensic Criminologists, and member of the International Thriller Writers. https://twitter.com/JChaseNovelist





Buy LInks:





11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Kommentare

Mit 0 von 5 Sternen bewertet.
Noch keine Ratings

Rating hinzufügen
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page