top of page

'Pray For Mercy' by D.K Hood

Updated: Mar 14, 2022


Book: PRAY FOR MERCY

Author: D.K. Hood

Pub Day: March 7th 2022


About the Book:

Her heart races as a noise from downstairs wakes her. She checks every room in her small home, but it’s not until she returns to the safety of her bedroom does she see movement. She’s not alone. And nobody can help her now… Writing scrawled on the wall of Sheriff Jenna Alton’s office overnight leads her and her deputy David Kane to a secluded house on the outskirts of town. Inside, Jenna is devastated to find a much-loved local resident lying in a pool of blood, stab wounds covering her lifeless body. What monster would attack a defenseless woman living alone? With no trace of the killer at the scene, the deadly message written on Jenna’s door is her only clue. But as the small town grieves, it leads her to a contractor who recently had access to the woman’s home. She races to interview him, only to discover the wreck of a car on a steep mountain road with another dead woman inside. Jenna knows the victims were friends and regularly went to church together. She thinks a twisted killer has been watching them, waiting for the perfect time to strike. But before she can make her next move, one of her own team is found unconscious and covered in the blood of a third female victim—a knife inches away from his hand. Pulse racing, Jenna questions her shaken deputy, who can’t explain why he was in the woman’s house. Could he really be a killer, or is someone playing an evil game? The clock ticks to uncover a dark secret that connects all three victims, but can she work it out before another innocent life is taken? An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller from a USA Today bestselling author. If you’re a fan of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot, you will love this gripping read.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Pray For Mercy' by DK Hood.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for DK Hood, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 7th March 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the fourteenth book in the 'Detective Kane and Alton' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'Cross My Heart' (book twelve in the series) and 'Fallen Angel' (book thirteen in the series) which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'If you’re a fan of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot, you will love this gripping read.' I am a huge fan of all three of those authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of DK Hood and if this is half as good as 'Cross My Heart' and 'Fallen Angel' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 50 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Montana, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Sheriff Jenna Alton and Detective David Kane. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


OMG!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVED THIS BOOK!!! D.K HOOD you just keep getting better and better!!!


This book is fantastically written and had me hooked from the first page until the last. DK Hood way of writing is perfectly evocative and she has such a creative imagination!! The descriptions were so vivid and realistic I felt myself feeling the cold and reaching for a blanket to warm me up. This has got to be one of the best storyline I have ever read!!!! OMG the suspense, especially during a certain event left me with my heart in my throat!! Needless to say I absolutely LOVED the storyline. This book is absolutely perfect for any crime lovers as you are literally reading about crime, secrets and murder!!! It just does not get better than that!!! Just seriously, I cannot say how brilliant all this book was!!! The storyline is packed with tension, suspense, murder, tension and filled with twists and turns. I was absolutely shocked when everything was revealed and was not expecting it at all!!! A HUGE congratulations to D.K Hood, it is getting harder and harder to shock me but you did it well!!! . D.K Hood has obviously done her research on police procedurals which is yet another bonus as I've read many crime novels where the authors make massive mistakes due to not doing enough research. This is an absolutely unputdownable page turner and I cannot wait to read the previous and future books in what is promising to be an addictive series. I did have one small issue which would normally mean I only gave a book 4/5 instead of 5/5 and that was what happened with Poppy? There was something that happened but then she was barely mentioned again which is driving me crazy wanting to know. Whether this is done on purpose and all will be revealed in the next book I'm unsure. I cannot wait to read it either way and do hope we get some answers.


Although this is the fourteenth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


I absolutely LOVED meeting the characters again and they are all realistic and I became completely invested in them. I love that Jenna is such a strong female lead that has history and has been through so much but doesn't cower and stands strong. I enjoyed watching her relationship with Kane and I am looking forward to going back to how they met and moving forward to see where it goes especially after how the book ended (LOVE LOVE LOVE by the way!!!) Kane is another fantastic character that I became invested in and I adore how protective of Jenna he is. The team dynamics worked well and I also enjoyed getting to know more about Rio, Wolfe and Rowley and I look forward to meeting them all again. I must say my favourite had to be Duke though!!!! What an absolutely fantastic addition, I just love it when pets play such large parts in books.


Congratulations D.K Hood on what promises to be a huge success!!! Very rarely an authors books get better but you have certainly mastered it!!! I cannot wait to get stuck into more of your books and I would like to welcome you to my favourite crime author list!!!


This book is definitely in my top 10 and considering I've read 1000's this is a HUGE achievement!!! This series is also in my top 5 ♥


Do not start this until you have cleared yours schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!



Overall an absolutely addictive, heart racing and unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night.



Genres covered in this novel include Police Procedural, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller, Noir Fiction and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh, Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, Kendra Elliot and anyone looking for a gripping page turner .


346 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@DKHood @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio and Social Media


D.K Hood is THE WALL STREET JOURNAL, USA TODAY, and Amazon Bestselling Author of The Kane and Alton Series. She is a member of International Thriller Writers, Australian Crime Writers Association, and Sisters in Crime Australia. D.K. lives very quietly with her husband and enjoys her beautiful garden filled with birds and water dragons. The dogs and cats in her stories are reminiscent of her wonderful companions. Social Media





Buy Links:




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page