top of page

'Our Stolen Child' by Melissa Wiesner

Updated: Sep 20, 2022



Book Description:


I grip my husband’s hand tight. The doctor is frowning. “Mr and Mrs Marcello… I’m so sorry.” She tells us there’s been a terrible mistake. Our last embryo—our last chance—was accidentally given to someone else. The child we made four years ago calls another woman “Mommy.”


Quinn cries silent tears as she folds a tiny knitted cardigan, bought in a moment of hope, and packs it away. All she’s ever wanted is to be a mother. Although her husband James brings her comfort, the knowledge they have no embryos left, and that their child is out there being raised by another family, is tearing them both apart.


When the lawyers tell them there’s a chance to get custody, James is unsure. But Quinn knows she has to take it: if only to look her little girl in the eyes, just once. Meeting Emily and the woman who raised her, Quinn’s heart cracks wide open. Emily looks just like Quinn, right down to her curly hair. And when the little girl flings her arms around Quinn’s waist, she can’t shake the feeling this is where Emily is meant to be.


As the two families reckon with an unimaginable decision, a secret from James’ past surfaces… one that forces Quinn to question everything she thought she wanted. But how will they decide what’s right for the little girl they all love so dearly? And where does Emily truly belong?


An absolutely unputdownable, heart-wrenching read about two families torn apart by one terrible mistake. Anyone who loves Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, Diane Chamberlain and Catherine Ryan Hyde won’t be able to put this down.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Our Stolen Child' by Melissa Wiesner.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Melissa Wiesner, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 13th September 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Family Secret' and 'The Girl In The Picture' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Anyone who loves Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, Diane Chamberlain and Catherine Ryan Hyde won’t be able to put this down.' I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Melissa Wiesner and if this is half as good as 'Her Family Secret' and 'The Girl In The Picture' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 29 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is set in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA 🇺🇸 .


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Quinn Marcello and . The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Our Stolen Child' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Melissa discusses/includes loss of a child.


Another absolutely gripping book Melissa well done!!! This book is beautifully written with such emotion it will have tears streaming down your eyes. The stunning cover and synopsis suit the plot perfectly.


The storyline is a rollercoaster of emotions including heartbreak, tension, love and just so so much more. It is hard to explain in words tge emotions this book brings out. It is so heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. I was absolutely captivated and absorbed throughout, a beautiful page turner. It is genuinely one of those books you just can't put down. It is also extremely thought provoking and most definitely unique! I have never come across a storyline like it in a book before!! Although the book and storyline itself is unique sadly what happens in this book isn't completely unheard of and there have been cases similar to this one in the news. I was just absolutely addicted to this gorgeous novel. It is an absolutely sensational family drama with twists and turns I just did not see coming so A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Melissa as it is getting harder and harder to shock me as recent reviews show. I am a Mum myself and OMG just the thought of being told one of my children was not actually my own, I genuinely couldn't imagine the pain. It would absolutely tear me apart. It is so hard to even think what I would do in Norma's position. Would I allow the biological family to see them at the risk of them getting attached and taking them away from me? How would I feel if I discovered it was my child that had been given away? Would I fight tooth and nail to see them or would I decide it was best not to barge into their lives and turn it upside down? Wow!!! I just could not put myself in that position, just thinking about it brings tears to my eyes!! It asks the ethical question whether biology matters. Should the gestational parent or the biological parent have more legal rights? There are so many questions raised in this book and it makes a perfect book for anyone in a book club to discuss. It makes me want to be in a book club discussing it!! Melissa has such evocative way of writing that it really does bring out all the emotions in her readers. This book is heartwarming and heartbreaking, uplifting and just an absolutely stunning addictive page turner. I absolutely LOVED the ending and I had tears streaming down my face by the end which is very rare for me so well done (I think 🤔) Melissa for making me cry lol 😂). I would absolutely love to see this book created into a movie!!!,


Clear your schedules and grab the tissues before even turning the first page of this stunner and get ready for an absolute rollercoaster of emotions!! One of the best books I have ever read and definitely the most thought provoking!!


The characters were realistic and each had their own unique personalities. My heart really did go out to both Nora and Quinn as mothers and as a mother myself. For Quinn, Emily is her biological child and it would be heartbreaking knowing your child is in the world, growing up and doing things that you will never see or be a part off. For Nora, Emily was physically a part of her when she was in her womb and then she spent four years raising her as her own. It isn't just Nora who would lose out as a mother but also Norma's brother who has been such a huge part of Emily's life. Liam (Nora's brother) is really sweet and is an absolutely fantastic father to Connor. I really liked his character and was invested in him along with Quinn and Nora. There was one character I could not stand but I can't say absolutely anything about them as it will spoil the story so you'll just have to read it yourself to find out! There are so many people who would be affected if either Nora kept Emily and Quinn never plays a part in her life or if Nora loses the child she has raised to Quinn. Whose side would you be on? Would you want Quinn or Nora to take over Emily's life? I'll give you a hint........... Read this fast paced, emotionally charged page turner to find out 😉


OMG Melissa!!! When will I learn? Always have a box of tissues at the ready and clear my schedule when I pick up one of your books as they are guaranteed storyline that I will completely lose myself in and end up in tears!!


.This is EXACTLY why you are one of my favourite authors and bring out the same emotions as reading a Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks book brings out in me. They have definitely got competition in you!!


Congratulations Melissa on yet another absolutely stunning, riveting success. This would make an absolutely gorgeous movie and I am looking forward to your next successful novel!!!


Overall a must read, gorgeous, addictive page turner that will take your breathe away and have you absolutely sucked in with tears streaming down your face!!



Genres covered in this novel include Romance Literary Fiction, Women's Literary Fiction, Family Drama and Literary Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kerry Fisher, Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult’s 'My Sister’s Keeper', Catherine Ryan Hyde and absolutely anyone who loves an absolutely breathe taking, emotionally charged and addictive page turner!!!


289 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) and £7.99 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MelissaWiesner @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86







Author Bio:


Melissa Wiesner is a night-owl who began writing novels about five years ago when her early-to-bed family retired for the evening. In 2019, she won the Romance Writers of America Golden Heart® Award in the Mainstream Fiction Category for her first novel. Melissa holds two Master’s Degrees in Public Health and Community Agency Counseling. Her day job is in Social Work where she often encounters people knocked down by hard times but who pick themselves up and keep going, just like the characters of her novels. Melissa lives in Pittsburgh, PA with her charming husband and two adorable children.





Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Melissa Wiesner here: https://www.bookouture.com/melissa-wiesner



Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page