top of page

'Ouija' by Zoé-Lee O'Farrell

Book Blurb


The only thing for certain is the deaths were no accident.


Rayner High School once a prestigious school stands in ruins after such a terrible event.


A year later, a group of friends return to the abandoned school and their nightmare begins.



Something wants to get out and won’t take NO for an answer…




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Ouija' by Zoé-Lee O'Farrell.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours and Zoé-Lee O'Farrell. .


Publication date 30th August 2021


This is Zoé-Lee O'Farrell's debut novel.


I was originally drawn to this book by its absolutely fantastic, eye-catching and unique cover and its intriguing synopsis. I'm also a major horror fan and have heard some fantastic things about this book!! I must admit that I have done several book tours for Zoé-Lee so when I had seen she had brought he own book out I just had to read it!! The fact that she can organise tours and write her own book makes her an absolute inspiration to me, book Queen!!


This novel consists of a prologue, 42 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with several protagonists. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Ouija' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Zoé-Lee discusses murder of children in a school environment.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


OMG!!! ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS SPIME TINGLING, UNIQUE, CREEPY, PAGE TURNER!!!! A PERFECT HALLOWEEN READ!!


Wow!!! How on Earth is this your debut novel Zoé-Lee?? You absolutely rocked it fair play!! Not only are you epic at organising tours but you are a Stephen King in the making!!! I am an absolutely HUGE horror fan and always get excited but also wary when reading horrors as I tend to expect the same old and nothing scary but always like to give it a go and I am extremely glad I did!!! AN absolutely gripping horror that left me with my heart still raising and the hair on my arms still standing. I have a mirrored cupboard in my room that I will be avoiding now and am already hearing noises around the house and that's having read that in the day!! Thank god I hadn't waited until the night, well saying that even in the day its dark so just as bad!!! This book came out at a perfect time for Halloween but don't wait until next Halloween to pick up this chilling page turner or you'll be missing out on one of the best horrors I have read!! It has the perfect amount of pages to get everything in without dragging unnecessary descriptions out and it also means it is a quick read you can pick up and easily read in a few hours. This is only the second book I have ever actually read that has creeped me out so much but you actually managed it so genuinely a MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS!!! It may be the first book I have read by Zoé-Lee and the first she has written but I can promise you it won't be the last I read!!! I just need her to write more now and if this is anything to go by then her next book promises to be just as explosive!! I was absolutely addicted to this book from the attention grabbing and hair raising start to the creepy cliff hanger ending!! I have my fingers crossed and really hope the fact that this book did end in a cliff hanger way means we have a sequel to look forward too 🤞. If so I am definitely being the first in line to get my hands on a copy!! If I had ever been tempted to do a ouija board then this book has definitely made sure I won't be and I have watched The Exorcist and thousands of horror movies and never been creeped out by the paranormal, ouija boards and contacting the dead. Zoé-Lee has managed to create such a unique storyline which is an absolute pleasure to see and read!!! This book will keep you awake at every bump in the night and THAT ladies and gentlemen is what you call a successful horror!!



DO NOT PICK THIS BOOK UP IN THE DARK AND MAKE SURE YOU GIVE YOURSELF PLENTY OF TIME BEFORE BED TO FINISH IT!!


The storyline is absolutely ram packed with demons, death, horror, tension, gore suspense and absolutely every single thing you could want in a truly unputdownable horror!!! There is not a single negative thing I can think about this book and I always try to ensure I give constructive criticism but Zoé-Lee you absolutely SMASHED it in one!! Every single time I kept telling myself one more chapter the one I was in ended at a point where there was no way I could stop reading so I absolutely devoured it in one sitting!! Actually, I lie, there is one criticism.... Why is the next book not out yet woman!!!!!


DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT READING THIS UNTIL YOU HAVE CLEARED YOUR SCHEDULES AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN!!!



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I wasn't just 100% invested in the storyline but also in the characters. Every single one of the characters were well defined, realistic and strong. Each of the teens had their own unique personalities and they all had personality traits I liked. My heart really went out for George when the full story came out. Although the book was under 200 pages I really connected with the characters and considering it was a horror Zoé-Lee even managed to made me shed a few tears when something happened and for me to cry over anything that is not animal or my family related is extremely rare so another congratulations ( I think) to Zoé-Lee for making a rhino skimmed woman she's tears over a horror!!


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Zoé-Lee on what promises to be a massive best seller!!! I loved the twisted ending and the fact that you genuinely managed to scare me..... Just perfect 👌 Welcome to my favourite 3 horror author list Zoé-Lee and here's to your next explosive success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolutely addictive, psychological, mind blowing, spine tingling, page turning horror that will keep you up with a racing heart until you've finished!!!



Genres covered in this book include Teen & Young Adult Religious Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Horror Fiction Classics, Thriller, Suspense, Debut Novel, Teen & Young Adult Visionary and Metaphysical Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Teen & Young Adult Occult Fiction, Occult Horror and Horror Suspense amongst others.


189 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle, free on kindle unlimited and £5.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@ZoeLeeOFarrell @Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT











Author Bio


Zoé O’Farrell grew up in Watford but left the town life to live by the sea down at the White Cliffs of Dover.

She spends her days working with numbers before escaping in the evening to the world of words and movies. Her go-to relaxation is watching a scary movie or reading a terrifying book!


She is a book blogger and tour organiser just to keep her extra busy. When she is not reading or writing, you can usually find her watching Watford FC or at a gig. Failing that she can be found rolling her eyes at her husband as he acts the same age as her spitfire of a Mini-Me whilst separating her two cats.



Ouija is her debut novel.


Follow her at:











Buy Links








14 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page