top of page

'Other People's Marriages' by Kerry Fisher


Book Description:


As I stood at my own birthday party, listening to my husband’s speech about me, I could no longer silence the thought that had started as a low-level hum five years ago and built until I could no longer ignore it… did I want to leave him? Steph has spent decades building a family with her husband Mal, and putting that family first. She is the glue that holds them all together and she has convinced herself that she’s been happy… most of the time. But as she stands at her birthday party watching her husband talking about a wonderful marriage she doesn’t fully recognise, the doubts that she has been pushing down for so long begin to grow… After the party, as Steph tries to gather her courage to leave Mal, she receives a letter from her old friend Evie. Steph hasn’t spoken to Evie since a sunny weekend on a holiday beach twenty years earlier, when the two friends said things to each other that could never be unsaid. And now, Evie is seeking a reunion and a way to repair the friendship. But this reunion threatens to reveal a secret that could destroy two families. Other People’s Marriages is an absolutely unputdownable and heartbreaking read about the lies we tell to keep our loved ones close. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Other People's Marriages' by Kerry Fisher.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kerry Fisher, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th July 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Another Woman's Child'.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.' I am a huge fan of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Kerry Fisher and if this is half as good as 'Another Woman's Child' it is sure to be an epic read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 27 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited England on many occasions including going there on holiday last and this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the main protagonists are Steph, Teresa and Evie . The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


This book is beautifully written with descriptions that set the scene and really make you feel what the characters are going through.


The storyline is about three friends, all who are married and how their friendships grow, dissolve and develop and what happens when you keep a secret from one. I enjoyed getting to learn more about Steph, Teresa and Evie and watch not only their friendships between them develop and change but their relationships with their Husbands. Each friend had their own unique personalities along with their Husbands.


I loved Steph's say it as it is attitude to life, appreciated Evie's sensibility and respected Teresa as the pivot between them. I feel their personalities worked perfectly in the friendship and I loved how they supported each other. The book makes you question what you would do if you were in the same position. The husbands also had their own unique personalities but the only one I actually clicked with was Paul. I thought both Mal and Neil were chauvinistic sexist pigs. The storyline is filled with love, friendship, secrets and loss and will leave you thinking long after you have finished the last page


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



Overall a beautiful but heartbreaking story about love and friendship and what happens when secrets are involved.



Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, Contemporary Fiction and Domestic Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Diane Chamberlain and anyone looking for a relaxing summer read.



294 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KerryFisher @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio: Kerry Fisher is a million-copy bestselling author. She writes women's contemporary fiction, is a USA Today bestseller and her books have been translated into twelve languages. She was born in Peterborough, studied French and Italian at the University of Bath and spent several years living in Spain, Italy and Corsica. After returning to England to work as a journalist, she eventually abandoned real life stories for the secrets of fictional families. She lives in Surrey with her husband, and a naughty Lab/Schnauzer called Poppy, who joins in the huge dances of joy when her young adult children come home. http://www.kerryfisherauthor.com/




Buy Links:


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page