top of page

'Only For My Daughter' by Emma Robinson


Book Description:


I look at my lovely girl. The child I always promised to keep safe, the child I know I’d love no matter what. I look at her and in that moment, my heart breaks into pieces. Because right now, I am not sure I know her at all… Julia’s daughter Grace is her whole world. To Julia, she’ll always be the little girl who would put her tiny hand in hers, who she could heal with the smallest kiss, who would trust her mother with everything. But Grace has changed since becoming a teenager. She’s fallen out with her childhood best friend and has become quiet and distanced. Julia wants more than anything to find a way reach her only daughter. Even if some days it seems impossible, Julia knows her lovely, sunny girl is still in there. Until today when Grace came home after school, covered in blood, and she’s refusing to speak, except to acknowledge that her former best friend is lying in a coma in hospital. Julia is forced to ask herself: what could Grace be hiding? She can’t believe her little girl could have done something terrible. But her instincts tell her that Grace is keeping a secret. And if it’s what Julia fears it might be, she could lose her fragile, gentle daughter forever. And – as another mother’s daughter fights for her life – Julia will have to ask herself, how far would she go as a mother to protect the child she loves with her whole heart? This totally unmissable, heartbreaking, grab-your-tissues story is perfect for fans of Kate Hewitt, Diane Chamberlain and Jodi Picoult.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Only For My Daughter' by Emma Robinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Emma Robinson, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 27th April 2022


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'My Husband's Daughter', 'To Save My Child' and 'His First Wife's Secret' which I highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'This totally unmissable, heartbreaking, grab-your-tissues story is perfect for fans of Kate Hewitt, Diane Chamberlain and Jodi Picoult. ' I am a huge fan of all three authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Emma and if this is half as good as 'My Husband's Daughter', 'To Save My Child' and 'His First Wife's Secret' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 46 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited England on many occasions including this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Julia and Samantha. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Only For My Daughter' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Emma discusses/includes bullying, violence and sexual assault.


Wow!!! Where to even begin?? Mind you it's hard enough to write this with blurry eyes through tears!! Oh yes, that emotional even I shed tears!!!


I start by saying that Emma Robinson is a very talented author and I cannot wait to dig into more of her books. She is definitely on par with several of my favourite authors including Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks which is why she is also one of my favourite authors!!!


The book itself is written so well that it reads so smoothly from chapter to chapter with brilliant descriptions and settings perfect for the scene. It really dragged me deep into the story and I became completely invested until I came out the other end with tears streaming down my face. The title and synopsis fitted the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely heartbreaking and a real tear jerker. It is also an absolutely beautiful story of love, loss, friendship, secrets and family!! It is filled with love, family, friendship, abuse, regrets, selflessness, heartbreak and much much more. It was an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions. This story is definitely a mother's worst nightmare and you will definitely not only need to clear your schedules when you start this as you will not be able to put it down but you need to make sure you have tissues at the ready!!! I cried, screamed, smiled, my heart broke, I seen evil and then a hero. I can't say too much as I don't want to give too much a way. Needless to say it is a beautiful book and an absolute page turner!!! I WAS completely invested in this book and read it in one sitting as I do with all of Emma's books. It is a complete rollercoaster ride of emotions and Emma has weaved so many "hard" subjects perfectly into a gorgeous yet heartbreaking storyline. The subjects of bullying, sexual assault, knife crime and violence are so important ones to talk about as there are so many victims of either or all of them that are too frightened to come forward and whose lives are destroyed because of them. If this book brings one person forward then Emma has helped change a life and should be extremely proud of that. It is extremely scary how common knife crime has become, especially for parents such as myself. The fact that Emma has done her research definitely shines through this storyline so another congratulations to Emma.


Do not start this until you have cleared your schedules as you won't be able to put it down!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


The characters are all realistic and described so well I really felt that I got to know them all. I became completely invested in not only Julia and Samantha but also Grace and Keira too. It tore me apart watching Grace and Keira's life's being destroyed although the behaviour of both Keira to Grace and Samantha to Julia really annoyed me as I've seen it happen so much myself. However, it needed to happen for the storyline to be the way it was and hopefully someone who is acting in that way can see what they are doing after reading this fantastic novel. I can't say anymore as I really don't want to spoil it for others. I think if I did say anything else I will spoil things but just trust me you need to read this book and you will know what I mean and feel!!! I loved that they were a mix of personalities and I enjoyed watching the relationships between each grow and develop. I admired Grace's strength and Julia's dedication and loyalty as a Mum and honestly just everything about them and the storyline was perfect. I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie!!!!


Congratulations Emma on yet another page turner!! Here is to your next success 🥂!!!


Overall an absolute page turning, tear jerking and emotional roller coaster, beautiful story of friendship, secrets, and family.


Genres covered in this novel include Literary Fiction, Literary Saga, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Contemporary Fiction, Women's saga, Emotional Drama and Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Kate Hewitt, Diane Chamberlain Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, 'My Sisters Keeper' and just anyone looking for a beautiful read.



314 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaRobinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Emma Robinson is the author of several women’s fiction novels. She also blogs about the funny side of parenting and has contributed to podcasts such as Funny Women. Whilst her early novels are humorous, her recent work focuses on emotional themes and these novels are both heart-breaking and life affirming. Emma enjoys writing stories which explore the power of family and friendship in the most challenging circumstances. Emma currently lives in Essex with a husband, two children and a small black dog.




Purchase Link







20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page