top of page

One Moment In Time by Shari Low. Review


Book Description


Sometimes the best surprises reveal the most shocking secrets.


After three decades of marriage, Brenda Jones has decided to leave her husband, just as soon as they both return from a mystery trip with their daughter Zara. But she has no idea that Zara is flying them to Las Vegas to renew their vows.


Zara Jones has recreated almost every detail of her parent’s original wedding - now her only challenge is tracking down the two friends who were pictured with her mum and dad back in 1993.

Aiden Gregg is dealing with his own relationship woes when he receives an unexpected message from a complete stranger. WIth the help of Facebook, Zara has tracked him down and is asking if his parents are the other couple in the old photo? And if so, could he bring them to Vegas for a surprise reunion?


What Zara and Aiden don’t know is that thirty years ago, One Moment In Time changed everything.


Will rewinding the clock right the wrongs of the past?

Or are they all counting down to a rendezvous with disaster?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'One Moment In Time' by Shari Low.


Read and reviewed for Shari Low, NetGalley, Boldwood, Book & Tonic and Rachel's Random Resources Tours.


Publication date 2nd May 2023.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


This book is set in Glasgow, Scotland, UK and Las Vegas, Nevada, USA. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I absolutely love that this book is set in Wales which I must admit was another thing that drew me to it and I cannot wait to see if I recognize any places mentioned.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Boldwood. I have yet to read a book published by Boldwood that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).

Pop


This novel consists of 33 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonists are Zara Jones, Brenda Jones, Aiden Gregg and Eileen Gregg, The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book has fantastic descriptions that set you straight in the scenes. The cover, title and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Where the heck have you been hiding all my life Shari!!! Love, LOVE, LOVED this absolutely gorgeous page turner!! An absolute must read!!!


This book is very well written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline. It is one of those books that are very easy to read and perfect for any reading situations whether you are laying on a beach or curled up in front of a fire. It is an absolutely ideal read for anyone who is looking for a fantastic read that will have you hooked from beginning to end. I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on which had been helped by Shari's fantastic evocative writing skills. I cannot wait to get hooked into more of Shari's books so I hope she is busy writing her next one!! This is definitely one of those books that will turn a frown upside down and make life seem a lot brighter. It is packed with fun, family, romance, heartbreak, friendship, laughter, sympathy, memories and everything you could ask for in a fantastic feel good book. I absolutely LOVE the fact that we are told the story from so many perspectives as it means that we get to see a much bigger picture and learn more about how the different characters are feeling and acting about certain events and situations. Sisters Zara and Millie want to treat their parents and splash out on their 30th wedding anniversary as a Thank you for helping them to open the flower shop of their dreams by taking them to Las Vegas to renew their vows as a surprise. Unbeknown to them, their mother Brenda has decided she has had enough of her boring life with her husband, and Zara and Millie's father, and wants to start a life of her own. Zara invites Eileen and Gary to come along after seeing them in a photo of her parents wedding with a caption saying they were all best friends. Zara couldn't get hold of Gary so messages Gary and Eileen's son Aidan, who has just been jilted at the altar. Eileen and Gary have been divorced for several years and Gary is currently with a woman about the same age as his son, Mitzy (also the name of my cat I would like to point out lol!!). Well, I will let you discover what happens when you pick up your copy as I don't want to spoil anything for any future readers. However, I can promise you it will be a fun rollercoaster ride of drama, laughter and absolutely everything you could want in an absolutely unforgettable, laugh until you have tears streaming down your face, page turner!!!! Shari's evocative writing skills drew me deep into the book bringing the atmosphere and characters to life all around me. It is one of those books that I could not put down. I ended up walking around the house looking at my kindle reading away and absolutely devoured it in one sitting. I did not expect the twists and turns or the ending which is a HUGE bonus so congratulations Shari. i have started finding that many romance books have storylines that are too predictable and I am finding that i am guessing what is going to happen in most of them but i did not manage with this one so I am definitely looking forward to seeing if you can do the same in each of your pat and future books!!



This may be the first book I have read by Shari but I cannot wait to get hold of more books by this extremely talented author!!!


The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. The fact that we get to see from so many of their perspectives ensured that I felt like I really got to know them all and how they were all really feeling. It was also intriguing getting to 'watch' their interactions with each other and how feelings changed from the first page to the last. I really enjoyed getting to learn more about each and every one of them and they slowly started feeling like friends that I did not want to say Goodbye to. I also found that I was completely invested in each and every one of them and was rooting for them all. I adored how close Zara and Millie were from the start along with the amazing bond that they have with their parents, especially Brenda. I was not a fan of Gary from the beginning and I could have easily given him a much needed slap or two!!! I thought Colin was sweet although he was a but drippy at times he was still loveable. regardless of whether you love or hate any or all of the characters they all worked perfectly for the storyline and it just wouldn't be the same if you loved or hated them all!! However I felt about them they are each memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group of people that I wont be forgetting any time soon!




Pick up this book and get lost in this absolutely gorgeous page turner!



Congratulations Shari on an absolutely stunning read that I just could not put down!!! I am absolutely mind blown that I have never read any of your absolutely gorgeous books yet!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books. I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! Welcome to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an unputdownable, gorgeous book filled with family, tears, drama, romance, fun, laughter, friendship and so much more!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the first chapter of Maxine's 'Just Say Yes' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!


Genres covered in this book include Contemporary Women Fiction, Friendship Fiction, Humour & Entertainment, Coming Of Age Fiction, Women's Romance Fiction, Fiction Mashups, Rural Life Humour, Family Life Fiction, Women's Contemporary Fiction, Teen & Young Adult, Holiday Romance, Literary Fiction, Romance Fiction, Women's Divorce Fiction, General Humour, Women's Friendship Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Women Writers And Fiction, Holiday Fiction and Contemporary Romance amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sariah Wilson, Lindsey Kelk, Abby Jiminez Emily Henry, Bridget Jones, Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Kinsella and just anyone looking for a great read!!



300 pages.


This book is just £2.79 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon, at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@OneMomentInTime @ShariLow @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks

https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86


https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86





Author Bio


Shari Low is the #1 bestselling author of over 30 novels, including My One Month Marriage and One Summer Sunrise and a collection of parenthood memories called Because Mummy Said So. She lives near Glasgow.



Social Media Links


Facebook https://www.facebook.com/sharilowbooks


Twitter https://twitter.com/sharilow

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/sharilowbooks/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/ShariLownews


Bookbub profile: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/shari-low






Purchase Link












1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page