top of page

'One Last Second' by Sam Vickery

Book Description:

I never expected to be doubted, but if I can't make them believe me, what then? I sit here beside her stroking her tiny hands as she sleeps and she looks so perfect. It never crossed my mind that something would be wrong with my sweet girl and I’d be powerless to do anything to help her. When Madeline's six-year-old daughter Tilly collapses one Sunday night, Madeline’s world is turned upside down. Racing to the hospital, she imagines the worst scenarios in her mind, but when they arrive the doctors say that Tilly is fine. Madeline’s ex-husband Adam and her best friend Laura think Madeline is being overprotective, that Tilly fainted because of her fussy eating. But Madeline is sure something is seriously wrong with Tilly. She can feel it. And she believes that a mother’s instinct is never wrong. As Madeline embarks on a desperate journey to have Tilly re-diagnosed, taking her in and out of hospital, Adam and Laura begin to wonder if Tilly would be safer in Adam’s care. Madeline just wants to keep her daughter safe, but the harder she pushes the closer she comes to losing her… One Last Second is an emotional reminder of just how far a mother will go to protect her child. Readers of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Kate Hewitt will never be able to forget this heartbreaking and beautiful story.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'One Last Second' by Sam Vickery


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most definitely will not be my last.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing cover and blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 45 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


The story is presented from the perspectives of Madeline and her best friend Laura. It has two time lapses of their school years and of the present. It is set in the UK which is always a bonus for me as I live in the UK.


I really loved the fact that the book went from past to present as it helps you discover more of the characters backgrounds it also reveals bits of the puzzle until the whole picture is revealed.


I also loved that the story is told from the perspectives of both Madeline and Laura as it shows you how each of the characters are feeling and what they are doing so you can see more of what is going on and don't miss anything. It also helps in this case for you to see both sides of the picture.


This book is beautifully written and is such a compelling read. The writing was nice and smooth so flowed nicely, especially so considering the past and present links. It was also heart wrenching and kept me turning the pages wanting to know what was going on with Tilly. It shows the love and courage of a mother and how far she would go to protect her child whilst going through every parents worse nightmare.


It is quite hard to mention what I thought of the ending without giving too much away and spoiling it for potential future readers so I will just leave a congratulations to the author and hopefully she will know what I mean by that!! I will also say that the story line is quite unique.


The characters were all well defined with their own flaws, strengths, secrets and backgrounds and I loved reading about the growing relationships of Madeline, Adam and Laura from childhood to adulthood. I also liked the strong characters of the 'background' families.


Overall a very well written, roller-coaster ride of emotions that will give every parent the need to cuddle their children while reading whilst also being on the edge of their seat plus filled with nail biting suspense!! A perfect book for fans of Jodi Picoult, who happens to be one of my favourite author!


Genres covered include domestic fiction, literary fiction and psychological fiction.


I would highly recommend this book to fans of the above genres, Jodi Picoult, suspense and anyone looking for a good read.


Sam Vickery you have made my favourite author list!! Congratulations!


328 pages


Free on Kindle Unlimited or 99p to purchase. I think this is an absolute bargain!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED IT ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads for more reviews

@SamVickery @Bookouture @Bookworm1986





Author Bio:


Sam Vickery is an English author who loves gritty, emotional stories that can make you sob. As a child, she was forever getting in trouble for being caught with her nose in a book, and these days are no different. She lives on the south coast of England with her husband, two children and a cat that thinks it's a dog.






Buy Links:





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
まだ評価がありません

評価を追加
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page