top of page

'Not My Mother' by Miranda Smith

Book Description:


What if the person you trust most in the world is lying to you? I’d heard of the Baby Caroline case, of course. When a baby is snatched from her mother’s arms, the whole country knows about it. I knew about the parents left lying by the swimming pool, the open window in the nursery. But I never dreamed it had anything to do with me. Today, my beautiful daughter turned one. We were unwrapping gifts and blowing out candles when the knock came at the door, and they took my mother away. The police say she’s not really my mother. That she stole me, thirty years ago. When I visit her, desperate for answers, she looks me in the eye, and says nothing. I can barely breathe. Is my whole life a lie? I have to find out, but the more I learn, the more scared I become. And soon I start to wonder, am I losing my grip on reality or is my own daughter in terrible danger? An absolutely gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.







BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Not My Mother' by Miranda Smith.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Miranda Smith, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 30th March 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. The first book I read was called 'The One Before' which I loved and would also highly recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and colouful cover and its captivating synopsis. The synopsis stated that this book is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell amongst others. I am a huge fan of Lisa's books so am interested to see if it will live up to this statement. I have also previously read another of Miranda's books which I loved and am hoping to enjoy this one just as much. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 52 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium to long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in the USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonists being Marion and Eileen. There are also 2 short chapters from Amelia's third person perspective. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on and feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


It is set over multiple timelines (now and then). When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions.


Miranda you have done it again. Well done! Another very well written and addictive novel by a very talented author. The vivid descriptions placed me in the storyline and the cover and blurb fit the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is absolutely addictive and gripping. It is ram packed with deceit, lies, secrets and filled with twists and turns which will knock you sideways. It is fast paced and has big reveals that I was not expecting. I was slightly annoyed at how quickly Marion gave up on her mum but then you never know how people will react until they are in that situation themselves. It does make you question how you would react and where your loyalties would lie. The narration was tense throughout and it had to me on the edge of my seat biting my nails and staying awake late at night to find out what happened next. I really enjoyed the past and present narrative and really felt for Eileen and what happened to her. I thought the ending was perfect.


The characters all had their own strong and unique personalities. As previously mentioned I was a bit annoyed by Marion but throughout she was being told one thing and then another just to have her whole world turn upside down. I really liked Des who is another strong willed female along with Carmen. Evan really wound me up when he stated towards the end that Marion left him and he basically expected to pick up where he left off after HE left and stated it was if she moved on arrrggghhh. Apart from that part with Evan I really liked his character before and he did prove himself worthy at the end and was a good guy overall. What do I think of Amelia? That, I don't think I can answer yet. In some ways I felt sorry for her but then at other times she definitely needed taking down a peg or four.


Another congratulations Miranda on another great novel. It would be very interesting to watch this on the big screen. I'm looking forward to reading more of your books.


Overall a riveting and addictive gripping page turner that will have you hooked and guessing throughout until the big reveals.


Genres covered in this novel include

Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Miranda Smith, Lisa Jewell and anyone looking for an addictive book full of twists.


287 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@MirandaSmith @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Miranda Smith writes psychological and domestic suspense. She is drawn to stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations. Before completing her first novel, she worked as a newspaper staff writer and a secondary English teacher. She lives in East Tennessee with her husband and three young children.





Buy Links:






58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page