top of page

'No Going Back' by Casey Kelleher


Author: Casey Kelleher

Book: NO GOING BACK

Publication Day: April 29th 2021


Description:

A child has been taken. A family is out for revenge.

Riley Cooke is just one day old when he is stolen from the hospital. His young mother, Shelby, is beside herself. DC Lucy Murphy and her team face a race against time to find the vulnerable baby and bring him home – before the child’s grandfather, fearsome gangster Pete Baker, takes matters into his own hands.

Pete is sure he knows who’s behind baby Riley’s abduction, and he thinks they ought to pray Lucy finds them before he does. Because someone is going to pay dearly for causing this much pain to his family.

They say never stand between a gangster and his target. But that’s exactly what Lucy must do – because if Pete is wrong, innocent blood could flow.

A shocking and addictive read that will keep you turning the pages. Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Emma Tallon will love this.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'No Going Back' by Casey Kelleher.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Casey Kelleher, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 29th April 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author and it is the third book in the 'DC Lucy Murphy' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the second book in the series 'No Fear' which I enjoyed and would recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a fan of Casey's previous book 'No Fear' and if this is half as good as that it is sure to be a great read. It also stated in the synopsis that 'Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers and Emma Tallon will love this.' I am a huge fan of Martina Cole and Emma Tallon so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 54 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person (omniscient) perspective with the main protagonists being DC Lucy Murphy and Shelby. NnThe benefits of third person perspective especially if omniscient are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'No Going Back' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Casey discusses/includes strong language, foetal abduction and child abduction.


Wow!!!! What another absolute success Casey!! Absolutely LOVED it!!! Another very well written action packed crime thriller thay just kept on giving. The descriptions were excellent and the setting perfect for the storyline. The synopsis and cover worked well with the plot. I can't remember when I last read a book that was written with a third person omniscient point of view but Casey has done a fantastic job. I loved being able to see every characters thoughts.


The storyline was absolutely ram packed with action which kept me turning the pages while on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what happened next. The book was filled shock, suspense, tension and a twists to keep you on your toes. It was also very realistic and would make an interesting movie if done right. I never would have guessed who was behind everything. I thought I had it worked out and then BOOM came the huge twist!!! Nothing worse than guessing who did what when your not even half way through a book but there's no worry of that here. What an absolute shocker!!! The foetal abduction was completely unique and I've never come across a crime novel which has mentioned it before. Very satisfied with how it ended and I'm looking forward to reading about the next chapter in Lucy's career.


I loved the fact that it revolved around a strong female character (being female myself this is always a bonus). Lucy was realistic and strong and I love her personality and getting to meet her again. I really clicked with Lucy and also Ben who was also a strong character as well as being funny and light hearted, I really like Ben and look forward to meeting them both again. Perfect team dynamics and DS Morgan is a very competent and likeable boss. I think they all worked really well together and I'm looking forward to meeting them all again in what is bound to be an amazing next book in the series. I also absolutely adore Winnie and was very happy to meet her again. She is such a wonderful character who makes me laugh and I'm quite sad to see her suffering. She is definitely larger than life and made me laugh out loud on several occasions in this book!! I am loving watching Lucy and Ben's relationship and bond grow and develop and think the last scene they were in together was perfect.


Another MASSIVE congratulations to Casey on yet another successful novel. Loved every part of it and was sad to see it come to an end. I hope your busy working on the next book in this absolutely epic series!!



Overall another fantastic book in the action packed, page turning, breathtaking must read DC Lucy Murphy series



Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Crime Thriller and Action amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, Emma Tallon and anyone who loves non stop action thrillers.



303 pages.


This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@CaseyKelleher @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86











Author Bio:


Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole. Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.






Buy Link:


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page