top of page

'My Sister's Husband' by Nicola Marsh


My Sister’s Husband by Nicola Marsh

Release Date: 27th of October 2020

Format: Kindle

Print Length: 344 pages

Genre: Domestic Suspense

Publisher: Bookouture


Book Blurb


The sunroom at the back of the house is just as I remember. I can’t taste homemade lemonade or smell oatmeal cookies without thinking of home, of the beautiful cliffs of Martino Bay, and I feel welcomed. But all thoughts of a happy family reunion are destroyed the moment I see him…


He’s as handsome as I remember: broad shoulders, piercing blue eyes, hair the colour of burnt toffee.


The man who once meant the world to me. The reason I fled eleven years ago. I’ve never told anyone the terrible mistake I made that night. The secret we share. I’m still haunted by the crashing waves at the bottom of the cliffs, the blood…


But what is he doing at my sister’s house?


And then I see her. My baby sister. She smiles, she tips her hand so I can see the ring. And his arm slides around her waist, pulling her close…


A twisty and emotional domestic thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty, Kerry Fisher and Sally Hepworth from USA Today bestselling author Nicola Marsh. It will keep you turning the pages deep into the night absorbed by every last word.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Sister's Husband' by Nicola Marsh.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 27th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching and beautiful cover and intriguing sounding blurb. The synopsis stated that this book is a thriller for fans of Kerry Fishes amongst others. I am a big fan of Kerry Fisher so I am intrigued to see if it loves up to her standards. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 77 chapters. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Californa, USA 🇺🇸


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonists being Brooke, Alice and Freya. I enjoy books written in first person perspective as as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. The fact that there are 3 protagonists that you get to 'chat' with individually is fantastic as you get a MASSIVE picture of everything going on, how they are feeling and what they are thinking.


This book is very well written and definitely unique which is hard to find in psychological novels. The blurb and cover definitely worked well with the novel. The book opens with a prologue that sets up the flavour of the story and from then it just kept getting better!! The writing style was captivating and the descriptions and languages Nicola uses captivates the imagination.


The storyline was absolutely alluring and had me hooked . The changes of time lines from past to present worked well and helps to slowly put the pieces of the story together. At times it was confusing until I figured out who was talking and I quickly worked it out. The way the past and present linked really helped out the pieces together smoothly. The book was absolutely rammed with deceit, love, loss and lack of bonding to say the least!!! I couldnt believe all the secrets that were kept in one family and as they were revealed one by one I was completely knocked off my feet as I did not suspect them. I thought I had it worked out about half way through but boy was I wrong!!! If you love twists you will love these shockers!!!


I was completely invested in the characters and think they were a great choice for the plot!!! I really felt sorry for Brooke, had mixed feelings about Alice and well as for Freya she was definitely one that I loved to hate!!! An image of Alice in her younger days!!! I really enjoyed reading from each of their perspectives and I found the story was really brought to life.


This would make a great movie and one that I would love to watch!!! Nicola Marsh well done on completely shocking a reader who is hard to shock!!! I am definitely looking forward to reading more of your work!!!


Overall a page turning psychological thriller that just keeps giving!! Prepare to be shocked!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Crime Fiction and Psychological Fiction among others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as anyone looking for a thriller that keeps you guessing, on your toes and will just keep surprising you!!


344 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@NicolaMarsh @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









About Nicola Marsh:


USA TODAY bestselling & multi-award winning author Nicola Marsh writes feel-good fiction with a twist!


She has published 68 books with Harlequin, Amazon and indie, and sold over 8 million copies worldwide. She currently writes women’s fiction/rural romance for Harper Collins Australia Mira imprint, emotional domestic suspense for Bookouture and contemporary romance for Harlequin Dare.


Her first mainstream contemporary romance, BUSTED IN BOLLYWOOD released to rave reviews, including a nomination for RWA’s RBY, Romantic Book of the Year. Her first indie-pubbed contemporary romance CRAZY LOVE is an Amazon and Barnes & Noble bestseller, and was nominated for an ARRA award. Her women’s fiction novel SAVING SARA with Lake Union hit the #1 kindle romance spot on Amazon UK.


Her young adult fantasy SCION OF THE SUN won a National Readers’ Choice Award for Best YA novel.


She’s also a Waldenbooks, Bookscan and Barnes & Noble bestseller, a RBY and National Readers’ Choice Award winner, is a multiple finalist for awards including the Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, HOLT Medallion, Booksellers’ Best, Golden Quill, Laurel Wreath, More than Magic and has won several CataRomance Reviewers’ Choice Awards.


A physiotherapist for 13 years, she now adores writing full time, raising her two dashing young heroes, sharing fine food with family and friends, barracking loudly for her beloved North Melbourne Kangaroos footy team, and her favourite, curling up with a good book!


Stay up to date with Nicola’s work by signing up to the mailing list on her website and follow her on these social media accounts.





Buy Links:



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comentários

Avaliado com 0 de 5 estrelas.
Ainda sem avaliações

Adicione uma avaliação
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page