top of page

'My Only Child' by Sam Vickery

Book Description:


There he is, my baby boy. His eyes are closed, his tiny rosebud mouth is pursed in sleep. My eyes well up as I catch a whiff of his newborn skin and I swallow back a wave of emotion. I should feel happy, I should feel grateful, but all I can think about is everything I just lost…


It’s a miracle when Katherine’s baby boy is born healthy. But his twin sister doesn’t survive, and when Katherine is told she can’t have any more children the loss is almost too much for her to bear.


Katherine always saw herself having a big family: she remembers how the loneliness of being an only child used to overwhelm her, and she is desperate to adopt a sibling for her son.


But her husband Davis won’t agree. He worries that Katherine will struggle when the new baby arrives. What if growing their family only adds to the grief she feels over losing her little girl? What if this breaks their marriage apart?


And Katherine is forced to make a choice. Give up the second child she has always dreamed of or risk losing the family she already has?


An unforgettable and heart-wrenching page-turner about fighting for those we love. Readers of Jodi Picoult, Diane Chamberlain and Kate Hewitt will remember this story forever.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Only Child' by Sam Vickery .


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 2nd November 2020


This is the second book that I have read by this author. The first book I read is called 'One Last Second' which I gave 5/5 and would highly recommend also reading.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing synopsis. It also stated in the blurb that readers of Jodi Picoult amongst others will remember this story forever. I am a MASSIVE Picoult fan so am looking forward to see if the book lives up to this. I have previously read 'One Last Second' by Sam Vickery and gave it 5/5 so hopefully can give this the same. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 39 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture the scenes.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Hazel and Katherine. I enjoy books written in first person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. It also feels like you get more of a bond with the characters than you would in third person perspective.


Well I must say another well done to Sam Vickery on another very successful novel!! This book is very well written and reads smoothly. The synopsis and the cover work perfectly with the storyline.


The storyline itself is an emotionally packed roller-coaster ride bringing tears along with some happiness. I found some parts very hard to read being a mum to twin myself and made the mistake of reading it while waiting on the school run and ending up picking up my son while trying to hide my tears. It is a compelling read and shows the difficulties of both child loss and adoption along with the stress and emotions it puts on families involved. I enjoyed looking back on Hazel's past and really did feel for her. Get ready for a tear jerking page turner.


The characters are very well built up and I enjoyed watching them develop, grow and bond with each other. The difference between them at the beginning of the story to the end is amazing and very well worked out. They are all strong and realistic and I really bonded with them. The character development I found the most fascinating was Davis and I'm glad how it all worked out.


I think this book would work out fascinating as a movie and I would love to watch it if this ever happened. Another congratulations to Sam Vickery, I am looking forward to reading more of your successful novels.


Overall an emotionally packed page turner that should only be read with tissues on hand!!


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Fiction and Religious Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Jodie Picoult and tear jerkers.


274 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SamVickery @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Sam Vickery is an English author who loves gritty, emotional stories that can make you sob. As a child, she was forever getting in trouble for being caught with her nose in a book, and these days are no different. She lives on the south coast of England with her husband, two children and a cat that thinks it's a dog.





Buy Links:






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page