top of page

'My Little Girl' by Shalini Boland

Title: My Little Girl

Author: Shalini Boland

Publication Date: 22nd April 2022



Book Description:


Your daughter is missing. Did someone close to you take her? Seven-year-old Beatrice has gone missing. Her mother Claire’s whole world has been turned upside down in just one moment and she can’t stop shaking. She’s desperate to find her precious daughter, but nothing about the day she disappeared makes sense… The mother-in-law: Jill was meant to be looking after Beatrice. She says she didn’t take her eyes off the little girl but her version of events doesn’t add up… Claire has never got on with her, so why should she trust her now? The husband: He should have been with their only child. Instead, he changed the plans without telling Claire. She didn’t think there were any secrets between them, but maybe she was wrong? The first wife: Laurel has always been jealous of Claire’s family. Has her husband’s ex-wife taken her daughter? Which one of them is lying? And who really knows where Beatrice is? From the million-copy bestselling author, this totally addictive psychological thriller will keep you guessing all the way to the final shocking twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Little Girl' by Shalini Boland.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Shalini Boland, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 22nd April 2021.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. The previous books I read are 'The Other Daighter', 'One Of Us Is Lying' and 'The Wife' and I highly recommend each of them!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I loved Shalini's 'The Daughter', 'The Wife' and 'One Of Us Is Lying' and am hoping this will be just as good. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us'. I loved 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this, as you can tell I'm a huge fan of Shalini and I'm sure I won't be disappointed!! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 54 chapters and an epilogue. It also includes 8 'snippets' throughout the book. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in in Dorset, England, UK. I love books set in the UK as I live in Wales, UK and sometimes I have been to the places mentioned so I 'see' it more clearly when reading. Considering I've been to Dorset many times. I have actually visited a theme park in Christchurch, where the book is based, several times already.


This book is written in first person perspective with the protagonists being Jill and Claire. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Wow!! Where to even start?!? Firstly I must say yet again I was NOT disappointed by the very talented Shalini Boland!!! I started reading this book this morning and finished it in a day.


It is extremely well written as is every book I have read by Shalini with vivid descriptions that really put you in the storyline. The blurb and cover work perfectly with the storyline. Every single time I told myself I'd finish the chapter and then put it down and every single time I was left with a sort of cliff hanger refusing to allow me to put it down. If your planning on reading this I would recommend clearing your schedule!!!


Absolutely gripping storyline which I got completely sucked into. A great unputdownable page turner filled with suspense, friendship, family, deceit, mystery, love and lies. I loved the storyline, especially the shocking plots that I would never have seen coming! Not just one either!! There's nothing worse than when you have worked everything out and your not even half way through a book so a massive well done for that!! I definitely did not even have the person involved in my suspect list AT ALL, soooo many red herrings. I haven't been that shocked in a book in a while so WELL DONE Shalini!! I really had y head set on a certain person, I can't say as I don't want to spoil it but I'm sure many other readers will feel the same. I really could not compliment this book any more it is an absolutely gripping, addictive and shocking page turner.



The characters were all well rounded and realistic with their own personality traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was very interesting watching how the bonds strengthened and weakened between characters throughout the storyline. What happened to Claire is a mother's worse nightmare but at times I did feel sorry on Jill, yet at others I felt like shouting at the woman!! Loved the last chapter, something I love with Shalini is that she always seems to dedicate the last chapter to a certain character in books and really makes you want to see what happens and several times I've been left hoping and wondering if that storyline will be carried on.


A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Shalini Boland for another absolutely fantastic success!! I cannot wait to read more of your amazing work!! I really would love to see your books on the big screen one day, I can guarantee they will be a success if they are even half as good as the books you write!!!


Overall a page turning, epic psychological thriller that will keep you thinking about it long after you have finished. I would love to see this turned into a film.


Genres covered in this novel include Psychological Thriller, Suspense and Psychological Fiction amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us and of course Shalini Boland and just anyone looking for an epic read with a twist. What are you waiting for?? Go grab your copy now!!!



363 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it!!!!) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@ShaliniBoland @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Shalini lives in Dorset, England with her husband, two children and Jess their cheeky terrier cross. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer songwriter, but now she spends her days writing suspense thrillers (in between school runs and hanging out endless baskets of laundry).






Buy Links:






16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page