top of page

'My Life For Yours' by Vanessa Carnevale


Book Description:   


Your life or your unborn child’s – how do you choose? Paige and Nick are happy. They have a beautiful home, a loving family and, most importantly, they would do anything for each other. Now, they are having a baby and it feels like all their dreams are coming true. But joy turns to despair when they discover that Paige has a rare, life-threatening heart condition and they lose their longed-for child. Heartbroken, the couple must accept the reality that they may not become parents after all. Just as they begin to come to terms with their loss, Paige unexpectedly falls pregnant again. Paige’s heart is still weak, and to carry the baby to term puts them both at risk. The couple now face an impossible decision: Paige’s life or the life of their unborn child? If Paige keeps the baby, she could lose her life and destroy the man she loves. If Nick tries to stop her, he may lose them both forever. It’s the most important decision they have ever had to make – and time is running out. My Life for Yours is a heartbreaking, gripping and emotional story about love, loss and an impossible choice, perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Kelly Rimmer and Kate Hewitt.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Life For Yours' by Vanessa Carnevale


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


This is the first book that I have read by this author. I am definitely looking forward to reading more!


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing title & blurb. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 55 chapters and an epilogue which are a nice length so that you can read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written from the perspectives of Nick and Paige. I always enjoy reading books written from the perspective of more than one person as you get to know how each character is feeling and more of what's going on giving you the bigger picture.


This book is seperated into 3 parts:


Part one focuses on Paige and Nick's long await for Paige to become pregnant, the grief of losing Max and how they build up their strength and relationship again. It is extremely emotional to read especially as a mother myself. I believe how Paige was during the grieving process paints an accurate picture of how a mum who has lost her child may feel and behave. Thankfully I have never had to go through this myself.


Part two focuses on the fact that Paige becomes pregnant again and the effect it has on her relationship with Nick and the rest of her family. Again, Paige seems to paint a true picture of what a woman in this position would feel like. I believe that how Nick behaves is very much what my partner would feel like in the same position.


Part three I shall leave a secret for you to discover yourself. Don't want to spoil things for future readers now do I?


Wow!! What can I say!! Such an emotional roller-coaster!! As a mum to 3 boys this storyline definitely hit me hard and it felt like I was going through the turmoil of emotions with Nick and Paige. I was even in tears before the WOW (cannot say more as I don't want any spoilers) ending!! I cannot remember the last time I cried while reading a book and yep there was ugly crying!! Not a good look at all!! So thank you very much for that Vanessa!!!


The book itself was very well written although I did get confused at certain points due to the jumps in time with no prewarning but not enough for it to spoil the story. I was hooked from page one and it left me thinking about it a long time after also. It is always good when you find an unforgettable book and I think this was one of them. I love the fact that it promotes awareness of Peripartum cardiomyopathy and it is obvious that the author did alot of research on this subject.


The characters were all very strong and all with their different beliefs and reasons behind their opinions. I adored both Paige and Nick and it was good to see this plot particularly from the perspectives of both the mum and dad as it gave me alot of different things to think about especially as a parent myself. I also loved reading about the rest of the family members who were also very believable and how they felt about everything and what they were going through.


Overall an extremely emotional book, a true page turning tear jerker. I think fans of Jodi Picoult would enjoy reading this. I would normally give 4/5 rather than 5/5 for the time lapse confusion but 4/5 for me is 'I enjoyed it' but this book I loved so it gets a 5/5 from me!!


Genres covered include Literary fiction and Drama.


I would recommend this book to fans of anyone who enjoys an emotional read, a good book in general and fans of Jodi Picoult


349 pages.


This book is 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I loved it) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@VanessaCarnevale @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Vanessa Carnevale is an Australian author of women’s fiction. She is also the host of Your Beautiful Writing Life retreats held in Tuscany and Australia. Vanessa loves to travel, and spent several years living in Florence, Italy, a place she considers her second home. She lives in Australia with her husband and two children. Her previous novels, THE MEMORIES OF US and THE FLORENTINE BRIDGE are published by HarperCollins and have been translated into German and Slovenian. Vanessa’s third novel will be published by Bookouture in August 2020. You can connect with Vanessa on Instagram and Facebook or via her websites: www.vanessacarnevale.com | www.yourbeautifulwritinglife.com Twitter: v_carnevale





Buy Links:


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page