top of page

'My Husband's Lover' by Jess Ryder

Updated: Oct 18, 2022

Book Description:


A wife. A mistress. A week away with no escape…


As my girlfriends and I sip wine and share secrets in the flickering candlelight of our remote Scottish hideaway, we all agree we need this break. Every morning we will swim in icy cold lochs and hike to remote beaches and each night we will sip wine and share stories, cosy beside the log burner. It will be a break none of us will ever forget.


But behind my warm smile, there is ice in my heart. One of my friends is my husband’s lover, and it’s only a matter of time before I discover which one. She thinks she has me fooled, but she’s not the only one with secrets.


I don’t let my smile slip, but as I get closer to the truth, it becomes very clear that in these remote Scottish hills, far from help, someone is going to pay for their lies with their life…


A completely gripping and addictive page turner. Fans of The Guest List, K.L. Slater and Jackie Kabler will be utterly hooked on My Husband’s Lover.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Husband's Lover' by Jess Ryder.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jess Ryder, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 14th October 2022.


This is the fourth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'The Night Away', 'The Second Marriage' and 'The Girl You Gave Away' which I highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is 'A completely gripping and addictive page turner. Fans of The Guest List, K.L. Slater and Jackie Kabler will be utterly hooked on My Husband’s Lover.' I am a huge fan of KL Slater so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Jess and if this is half as good as 'The Girl You Gave Away', 'The Second Marriage' and 'The Night Away' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 39 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited London on many occasions including this year so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.


This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Sophie and an unknown narrator known as 'The Swimmer'. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



OMG!!! Just WOW!!! My heart is still pounding now!!! Yet another amazing page turner Jess!!! Another huge congratulations on what is guaranteed to be a best seller!!! If you pick up this book then clear your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


This book is fantastically written, another amazing success from Jess Ryder. The descriptions are vivid leaving you tasting the sea salt on your tongue and feeling the hairs on your arms rise!! I thought the cover, title and synopsis worked perfectly with the storyline.


The storyline itself swept me straight up and didn't put me down until the last page. It has a strong and realistic plot which you can see running through your mind as you are turning the pages. A true page turner. It is filled with twists, turns, nail biting suspense, lies, tension, loss and drama. I was completely surprised at the bombshells and just kept getting shocked and blown away as the storyline goes on and the mysteries are all revealed layer by layer. .. Its quite hard to describe what I mean without giving too much away. I was kept on my toes constantly with the rest of the shocks to come, none of which I seen coming!! I just could not put it down!!! Every time I thought I will finish the chapter and leave it there for a bit each chapter seemed to end in a cliffhanger!!! Another major success for Jess Ryder. I am looking forward to reading more of her books and would love to see this one turned into a movie.


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I was completely invested in the characters and most have them seemed to have something to hide which you find out piece by piece. I must say I love how Jess has put in the voice of the mistress by calling her "The Swimmer" meaning we get to see what happens through their perspective. I loved trying to work out who they were along with Sophie but I never did guess so a HUGE WELL DONE TO JESS as it is getting harder and harder to shock me but yet again you managed. Its so hard to say how I feel towards certain characters without giving too much away!! Each character had their own strong and unique personalities and were all realistic making the story feel more realistic and helped it to come alive.


Another HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Jess!!! This is exactly why you are one of my favourite authors!!!


Overall a gripping page turning psychological thriller that will keep you guessing and questioning yourself throughout.



Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Mystery and Suspense amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of The Guest List, K.L. Slater, Jackie Kabler and anyone who loves Jess Ryder's books. In fact anyone who is looking for an amazing read!!



366 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JessRyder @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Jess Ryder is the pseudonym of Jan Page, author, screenwriter, playwright and award-winning television producer. After many years working in children’s media, she has recently embarked on a life of crime. Writing, that is. So she’s very excited about the publication of her debut thriller Lie to Me. Her other big love is making pots.




Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Jess Ryder here: https://www.bookouture.com/jess-ryder






Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo







8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page