top of page

My Husband's House by Sheryl Browne. Review


Book Description:



A new home. A loving wife. A secret that could kill…



With its peeling wallpaper and overgrown garden I know our new home isn’t perfect. But my husband Ben promises it’s the fresh start we need. I remind myself that he’s an amazing father to our two children, and that we have years of happy marriage behind us. He’s been distant for months but I’m desperate to believe the move will bring us back together.



When I meet our next-door neighbour Sara, I’m immediately relieved. She’s so welcoming and full of local gossip. But the moment she meets Ben I’m sure an angry frown flickers across her smiling face. Later he says I’m imagining things…



Why is my husband lying?



Then one night as I tuck our children into bed, the silence is broken by a knock on the front door. A stranger is standing on our doorstep. I turn to look at Ben’s face as he stares at her with unconcealed fury. Has he met this woman before? Nothing could prepare me for what she says:I know who you are. Get out of my house.



How well do I know the man I married? And by moving to this house, did I put my children’s lives in danger?



If you enjoyed reading The HousemaidThe Perfect Marriage and The Wife, you will love My Husband’s House. Gripping and totally addictive, you’ll be hooked from the first page.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'My Husband's House' by Sheryl Browne.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sheryl Browne, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 5th June 2023.



This is the sixth book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'My Husbands Girlfriend', 'Her First Child' 'The Invite', 'Do I Know You?' and 'The Liar's Child' and would highly recommend them all!!




I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'If you enjoyed reading The Housemaid, The Perfect Marriage and The Wife, you will love My Husband’s House.Gripping and totally addictive, you’ll be hooked from the first page.' I am a huge fan of 'The Housemaid'' and 'The Wife' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Sheryl and if this is half as good as 'My Husband's Girlfriend', 'The Invite', 'Do I Really Know You?', 'Her First Child ' and 'The Liar's Child' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists a prologue, 71 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in the UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.




This book is written in a mix of third and first person perspective and the protagonists are Naomi Felton, Joan, Sara, Ben Felton and Lily. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are, as long as they are well written, it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. To have the benefit of both first and third person perspective ensures you don't miss out on anything.



'My Husband's House' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Sheryl discusses miscarriage.


Wow!!! What did I just read!!! What twists and a half fairplay, I most certainly was NOT expecting any of that!!! Anyway, we shall return to that!!! This book is extremely well written and completely drew me in from start to end. The synopsis, title and cover worked perfectly with the storyline.


Yet another absolutely addictive psychological thriller by this absolutely incredible author!!!



The storyline was extremely compelling and I was completely addicted from the beginning starting with a prologue putting my heart in my throat to absolutely explosive ending!!! I started it this morning and finished it in a day!! It was filled with mysteries, drama, friendship, crime, secrets, cover ups, twists, lies and surprises and and had me completely absorbed throughout. This book ticked absolutely every single box!!! It was filled with suspense, lies, romance, twists, heartbreak, deceit and shocks!! It had me on tenterhooks on the edge of my seat and biting my nails to get to the truth. I absolutely loved how it completely shocked me at the end!! There's not much worse in a book than when you have already figured out what is going on by 50%!! This book is told from multiple perspectives which gives the reader a huge insight into what is going on and how the different characters are feeling without giving too much away and Sheryl weaves the different chapters told by the different characters together perfectly at just the right times. It really is one of those books that I kept telling myself one more chapter as I was walking around with the kindle glued to my hand but each and every time the chapter ended in a way that there was no chance I could end there so I just had to read another and another until I completely devoured it in one sitting in the end!!! The storyline is multilayered, multigenerational, creepy, dark, twisty, complex, suspense rammed and just seriously everything you could ask for when looking for a show stopper!!! It starts of with the tragic story of a family torn apart with 9 year old Holly disappearing and her father committing suicide. Ben, Naomi, Liam and Maya move into home 20 years later and Naomi and Ben are expecting their son to be born not long after they have moved in. The home has been abandoned for 20 years and is filled with creaky doors, a tattered teddy and a ghostly rocking chair. Ben is working in his new job, Liam and Maya have started a new school and Naomi gets to know the neighbours Sara, her partner Paul and Sara's children James and Ellie. She also meets her other neighbour Joan. However, Sara, Paul and Joan seem to take an instant dislike to Ben and then strange things start happening which leads to tragedy. Why is everyone against Ben? Is Ben hiding something from his past? Why does Paul never talk about his ex wife and daughter? Who is the strange woman having around the park and then the school? Grab your copy now to find out the reasons to all of these questions and more in this fantastic page turner!!!

This book is not only an epic psychological thriller filled with twists and turns that I would have never expected all the way to the end but it is also quite sad and heartbreaking at times and it definitely makes you question why certain people didn't get the help they needed sooner. It also ends in a very thought provoking way leaving the reader to think and talk about it long after they have finished reading the book which is definitely a sign of an amazing author and an addictive successful book!!! In this book Sheryl discusses very important subjects that include miscarriage, mental health and Gaslighting and manages to weave them all into an addictive, realistic and emotional storyline. A huge well down to you Sheryl you should be extremely proud of yourself!! I would love to see this book turned into what would promise to be a massive hit movie!!




It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.



Absolutely addictive, unputdownable and most definitely EXPLOSIVE!!!



The characters were vivid, realistic, unique and very compelling. Throughout the book I liked, disliked and questioned most of the main characters unsure of who was to blame and who was doing what wrong and right. After I had done all that I was still wrong!!! Throughout the book I flicked from feeling sorry for either Naomi, Lily, Sara and Joan and then by the next chapter I thought that some of the characters seriously needed help or were just horrific. I became suspect of them all. This really is one of those books who you really have no idea who to trust and because I have finished the book I have different feelings on some of them so I won't say anymore as I don't want to risk dropping any hints that may spoil the storyline for future readers. However I do want to say a HUGE Well done Sheryl!!! Sheryl has created the perfect eclectic mix of strong and realistic characters came together to make this book a real page turner!!! Each of them played their parts perfectly and Sheryl's evocative writing skills really did bring each one of them to lore!!!



Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue and first two chapters of Sheryl's 'The Affair' which promises to be just as addictive as this book and I cannot wait to get stuck into it!!!


This book would make a truly captivating movie which I would love to see and I am definitely looking forward to reading more books by Sheryl. Congratulations Sheryl on yet another amazing read!!! Here's to your next success 🥂



This is exactly why Sheryl is one of my favourite authors. I love every book yet she still manages to make them better and better which is not an easy feat!!



Overall a page turning, gripping and addictive psychological thriller that will shock you at times and break your heart on others!!



Genres covered in this novel include Crime, Thriller And Mystery Adventures, Women's Psychological Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Women's Popular Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Psychological Theiler, Noir Fiction, Womens Psychological, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Romantic Suspense, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Thriller amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Jewell, Rachel Abbott, K.L Slater, T.M Logan,The Housemaid, The Widow, The Housewarming, The Perfect Marriage, The Wife, Daniel Hurst and anyone after an addictive psychological thriller.




393 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@MyHusbandsHouse @SherylBrowne @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited



















Author Bio



Bestselling Author, Sheryl Browne, writes taut, twisty psychological thriller. A member of the Crime Writers’ Association and the Romantic Novelists’ Association, Sheryl has several books published and two short stories in Birmingham City University anthologies where she completed her MA in Creative Writing. Sheryl has also obtained a Certificate of Achievement in Forensic Science and – according to readers – she makes an excellent psychopath. Sheryl’s latest psychological thriller HER HUSBAND’S HOUSE comes to you from BOOKOUTURE. Her previous works include the DI Matthew Adams Crime Thriller series, along with contemporary fiction novels, The Rest of My Life and Learning to Love.


To find out more about Sheryl. go to www.sherylbrowne.com


If you would like to join her Bookouture Mailing List you can grab her short story 𝗧𝗛𝗘 𝗖𝗘𝗥𝗘𝗠𝗢𝗡𝗬 #FREE! https://t.co/bIigwwALCs


Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Sheryl Browne herehttps://www.bookouture.com/sheryl-browne




Purchase Link



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo










0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page