top of page

'My Husband's Girlfriend' by Sheryl Browne

Title: My Husbands Girlfriend (Previously The Whisper) Author: Sheryl Browne

Publication date: 7th April 2021


Book Description:


She told my little boy a secret and now he’s gone… Tucking her little boy Ollie into bed one night, Sarah notices his beloved teddy bear, which she bought him when he was born, is missing and in its place is a new toy given to him by her ex-husband’s new girlfriend, Laura. When she asks Ollie about it, he begins to shift uncomfortably, before whispering ‘Laura told me a big secret and she said I can never tell you’. Sarah’s heart sinks. But when she raises her concerns, nobody wants to listen. To everyone else, Laura is the perfect stepmother and Sarah is just the jealous ex-wife. But Sarah knew the moment she met Laura she couldn’t trust her, from her overly perfect stepmother act to the way she evaded questions about her own history. Soon Ollie is asking to spend more time with his dad and Laura, and shrinking away from Sarah. Then, when she calls to him in the garden one day, Ollie doesn’t answer back. The garden is silent. Ollie’s sandpit is empty. Ollie has disappeared. If you love a book that keeps twisting and turning, then you’ll love My Husband’s Girlfriend – it’s guaranteed to keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell.



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Husband' s Girlfriend' by Sheryl Browne.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Sheryl Browne, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 7th April 2020.


This is the first book I have read by this author. It was originally titled 'The Whisper' but the name was changed prior to publication.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching and intriguing cover and its captivating synopsis. The synopsis also stated that this book is 'Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell'. I am a huge fan of Lisa and Shalini's books so it will be interesting to see if it lives up to this statement.I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 61 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the protagonists are Sarah, Laura, Steve, Sherry and Joe. The benefits of third person perspective with several protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


Wow!!! What did I just read!!! What a twist and a half fairplay, I most certainly was NOT expecting that!!! Anyway, we shall return to that!!! This book is extremely well written and completely drew me in from start to end. The synopsis and cover worked well with the storyline although the event described in the synopsis didn't actually happen until much later in the book than what I expected it would, towards the end.


The storyline was extremely compelling and I cannot remember the last time a book made me question myself so much. It was filled with little mysteries, twists and surprises and had me completely absorbed throughout. It is a slower build thriller than I usually read but I found that worked perfectly as Laura's background slowly came out in dribs and drabs throughout. It was filled with suspense and had me on tenterhooks on the edge of my seat and biting my nails to get to the truth. I absolutely loved how it completely shocked me at the end!! There's not much worse in a book than when you have already figured out what is going on by 50%!!


This book would make a truly captivating movie which I would love to see and I am definitely looking forward to reading more books by Sheryl. Congratulations Sheryl you have made my top authors list and as soon as I've finished this review I will be going straight to Amazon to add all your books to my wish lists!!


The characters were vivid, realistic, unique and very compelling. Throughout the book I liked, disliked and questioned each of the main characters unsure of who was to blame and who was doing what wrong and right. After I had done all that I was still wrong!!! Throughout the book I flicked from feeling sorry for either Sarah or Laura and then by the next chapter I thought that same character seriously needed help. Steve and Joe were also helpful at times and needed a slap at others. I felt the book ended perfectly the way it did and everything was explained with no loose ends, another pet hate of mine.


Overall a page turning, gripping and addictive dark psychological thriller that will shock you!!


Genres covered in this novel include Thriller, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Noir Fiction, Psychological Fiction and Crime Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell and anyone looking for a book with an epic twist!!!


331 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@SherylBrowne @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86










Author Bio:


Bestselling Author, Sheryl Browne, writes taut, twisty psychological thriller. A member of the Crime Writers’ Association, Sheryl has several books published and two short stories in Birmingham City University anthologies where she completed her MA in Creative Writing. Sheryl has also obtained a Certificate of Achievement in Forensic Science and – according to readers – she makes an excellent psychopath. Sheryl’s latest psychological thriller MY HUSBAND'S GIRLFRIEND comes to you from BOOKOUTURE. Her previous works include the DI Matthew Adams Crime Thriller series, along with contemporary fiction novels, The Rest of My Life and Learning to Love. To find out more about Sheryl go to www.sherylbrowne.com https://twitter.com/SherylBrowne





Buy Links:


24 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

2 Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
befuddledsheryl
Apr 11, 2021

Thank you SO much, Kirsty. I think I stopped breathing reading this! What a brilliant review! Your excitement just shone through - and that means a lot. So chuffed I made your top authors list, particularly alongside such talented company. THANK YOU!

Like
Kirsty Whitlock
Kirsty Whitlock
Apr 11, 2021
Replying to

You are extremely welcome. Thank you for taking the time to visit my site and to comment. Really looking forward to your next books I'm sure they will be just as page turning as this one was. You should be extremely proud of yourself!! Xx

Like
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page