top of page

'My Husband's Daughter' by Emma Robinson

Book Description:


Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter too.’


It is just past ten o’clock on a cold Friday evening when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl. Who she claims is Jack’s daughter.


Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship – even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice.


But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives.


A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself – could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home, and into her heart?


A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Kate Hewitt.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'My Husband's Daughter' by Emma Robinson.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 13th October 2020


This is the first book that I have read by this author. It most definitely will not be my last!!


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing colourful cover and interesting sounding blurb. The fact that it states on Amazon that the book is perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes also drew me in as I'm a HUGE fan of both of their books. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 47 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is written in third person perspective with the two main protagonists being Rebecca and Cara. I enjoy books written in third person with several protagonists as it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters. I love the fact that there are 2 main protagonists as you get to see the storyline from both of their view points.


Wow!!! Where to even begin?? Mind you it's hard enough to write this with blurry eyes through tears!! Oh yes, that emotional even I she'd tears!!!


I start by saying that Emma Robinson is a very talented author and I cannot wait to get dug into more of her books. She is definitely on par with several of my favourite authors including Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks and has been added to this list so well done there!!!


The book itself is written so well that it reads so smoothly from chapter to chapter with brilliant descriptions and settings perfect for the scene. I really dragged me deep into the story until I came out the other end with tears streaming down my face.


The storyline is absolutely heartbreaking and a real tear jerker. It is also an absolutely beautiful story of love and family!! The fact that it goes from how Rebecca feels and is doing to Cara's side is a perfect layout for this type of book as you get to really feel what each 'side' is going through. It was an absolute roller-coaster ride of emotions.


The characters are all realistic and described so well I really felt that I got to know them all. I loved that they were a mix and I enjoyed watching the relationships between each grow and develop. I admired Clara's strength and Rebecca's dedication and loyalty and honestly just everything about them and the storyline was perfect. I would LOVE to see this turned into a movie!!!!


Overall an absolute page turning, tear jerking beautiful story of love and family.


Genres covered include Literary Fiction.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Nicholas Sparks, Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and just anyone looking for a beautiful read.


288 pages.


This book is £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free on kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@EmmaRobinson @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.



She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.












Buy Links:






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page