top of page

My Fake Italian Marriage by Romy Sommer. Review.


Book Description


Cleo Arendse: You know how almost every movie set in Italy seems to be about a woman who

travels to Tuscany and is swept off her feet by a charming, gorgeous but arrogant aristocrat? Well,

that’s not this story.


Luca Fioravanti:

Challenge accepted.


British Banker Cleo Arendse is nothing like the women lawyer Luca Fioravanti is used to – both

because she’s only in Tuscany to oversee his family vineyard’s business and because she’s impervious

to the charm that has never failed him before now.

But Luca has never shied from a challenge, and when circumstances arise that allow him to step in as

Cleo’s knight in shining armour, he leaps…right into a fake marriage! The romance may be a ruse but

the passion burning between Luca and Cleo is very, very real, and as the ‘honeymoon’ glow envelops

the pair, all bets are off…





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'My Fake Italian Marriage' by Romy Sommer.



Read and reviewed for Romy Sommer, Harper Collins, One More Chapter , NetGalley and Rachel's Random Book Tours .



Publication Date 3rd November 2023


HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY ROMY!!!.



This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely will not be my last!!!



This novel consists of 39 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Well I am ABSOLUTELY gutted to come to the end of this book as it ends my stunning sofa holiday 😭


This book is beautifully written and completely absorbs you in the stunning atmosphere of Italy completely sucking you in with the vivid descriptions leaving you feel the warmth of the the sun and smell of the wine. The synopsis and cover suits the storyline perfectly.


The storyline is authentic and realistic as well as easy to read and heartwarming. It is just one of those absolutely stunning books that promises the reader gets completely lost in the pages for hours. I absolutely loved delving deep into the pages and getting lost exploring Italy for hours!!! I genuinely felt like I had packed my suitcase leaving rainy Wales for the stunning Italian sun. I could see the vineyards, taste the hazelnut wine and feel my heart pound while certain events were unfolding. It wasn't all happiness though and my heart really went out to Luca for how he was made to feel and although it wasn't intentional it still had a huge affect on him. One of the important things that this book really does show and teach readers is how one lie can lead to another until the web is so big that you end up captured in it!!! Honesty really is the best policy!!! This book is a true emotional rollercoaster ride and even I had tears streaming down my face so make sure you have tissues at the ready. You'll be glad to know many were happy tears!!! You will also want to book the day off whatever you had planned as once you pick up this book and turn the pages I can guarantee you will not want to put it down!! I found myself picking it up every spare second I had and not wanting to put it down so ended up reading it in one sitting in the end!! The storyline was filled with a range of emotions and was heartwarming, devastating and had wine, sexiness, food, lies, love, drama, wine, laughter, demigods, food, relationships, stunning locations,family, friendship and history all going on in this beautiful atmosphere. Did I mention food and wine??? With Romy's stunningly evocative writing skills and descriptions I swear I got tipsy and put on weight just reading this stunning book!! I loved the fact that we get to read from both Cleo and Lucas's perspectives and Romy has woven them together absolutely perfectly!! It felt like a lovely break away from a rainy Wales!! I loved how the story ended and I would love to read more about the life in this gorgeous Italian place. An absolutely stunning read!!!


AN ABSOLUTELY STUNNING MUST READ!! Clear your schedules, grab your tissues and get ready to go on a journey of a lifetime!!!



The characters were all unique with their own realistic traits, strengths and weaknesses. It was intriguing to watch

Cleo and Luca relationships grow, develop and change throughout the the storyline. It wasn't just their relationship that I loved watching though and became completely invested in but also that of all the other amazing characters surrounding them from Cleo's best friends Sarah and Moira to Luca's parents, brother and his friends. While watching the characters interactions develop and change my own opinion on each of them also changed and I went from thinking some of them were stuck up to seeing a huge difference by the end and going from wanting to throttle some to absolutely adoring them!!! They brought emotions out in me from anger to happiness, laughter and joy to sadness and despair, an absolute emotional rollercoaster from the start to the beautiful end!!! It was absolutely amazing to watch the personalities and relationships between all the characters grow, develop and bond and I would sooo love to meet them all again. The amazing thing is I've looked through Romy's previous books while adding them all to my wish list and I was landed to see that she has written Sarah's story in 'Last Of The Summer Vines' so I cannot wait to get stuck into it and read that one and meet many of the characters again!! All of these amazing characters worked perfectly with the storyline and I would love to meet them again and hope to see this made into a series or even a movie!!!


Well done Romy on an absolutely stunning start to what promises to be a gorgeous new series, I will definitely be looking for your books any time I need to be swept off to another country!!!



A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Romy on a HUGELY stunning success!!! I loved every page of your book and I cannot wait to read more of your past and hopefully future books. Congratulations you are now one of my favourite authors! Here's to your next success 🥂


Overall a true page turning, perfect and stunning romance that will sweep you off your feet and land you in Italy in the blink of an eye!!


359 pages


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle and £9.19 in paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@MyFakeItalianMarriage @RomySommer @OneMoreChapter @HarperCollins @HarperCollinsPublishers @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @NetGalley




















Author Bio


South African author Romy Sommer is the author of seven contemporary romance novels published

by HarperCollins London, and she has also indie-published a further eight books, under her own

name and a pseudonym. Her Hollywood romance, Not a Fairy Tale, was a 2016 finalist for the

Romance Writers of America® RITA Award, and her Tuscany-set romance, Last of the Summer

Vines, won the ROSA 2019 Imbali Award for best Romance novel by a South African author.


Romy's passion for encouraging and growing aspiring writers led her to found ROSA (Romance

writers Organisation of South Africa). Through ROSA, she began mentoring and teaching, and since

2017 she has worked full-time as a writing coach and editor, following two decades in film

production, first in movies and then in television advertising.


She lives in Johannesburg, South Africa, with two precocious teens, four cats and one bearded

dragon.




Social Media Links


Author website: www.romysommer.com


Writing coach website: www.writingcoach.co.za













Purchase Links









6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page