top of page

My Daughter's Boyfriend by Daniel Hurst. Review


Book Description


My daughter thought she had found the man of her dreams. But now her life is in danger…



When Ellie tells me she has a new boyfriend, I am absolutely thrilled and can’t wait to meet him. She finally seems so happy and in love.



But there’s a catch. Ellie has never met him in person. In fact, he doesn’t even live in the same country. Our home is in England, but Daryl is in Los Angeles.



When handsome Daryl invites Ellie to stay with him at his luxury Los Angeles mansion for a few weeks, I insist on joining her. I need to find out more about the man who has my daughter so enamoured.



Daryl welcomes us into his whitewashed house, complete with a stunning swimming pool and sun-drenched patio. Then one morning, I discover a terrible secret in his basement that changes everything. He has been lying to us from the start.



I go to confront him, but Ellie and Daryl are nowhere to be found. I call Ellie’s phone but there’s no answer.



Has something happened to my precious girl? And will I be able to save her?



An utterly gripping psychological thriller that will keep you up all night from the author of the number one bestselling novel The Doctor’s Wife. If you love Gone Girl, The Night She Disappeared and The Perfect Couple, you’ll be hooked by My Daughter’s Boyfriend.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW




Review for 'My Daughters Boyfriend' by Daniel Hurst.




Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Daniel Hurst, Bookouture publishers, Bookouture Audio and Bookouture anonymous




Publication date 3rd June 2023.



This is the third book I have read by this author. I have also read 'The Doctor's Wife' and 'The Holiday Home' which I would also highly recommend!!




I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that this book is "An utterly gripping psychological thriller that will keep you up all night from the author of the number one bestselling novel The Doctor’s Wife. If you love Gone Girl, The Night She Disappeared and The Perfect Couple, you’ll be hooked by My Daughter’s Boyfriend." I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a HUGE fan of Daniel Hurst after reading his 'The Doctor's Wife' and 'The Holiday Home' and if this book is even half as good as they are was it is guaranteed to be a page turner! I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).




This novel consists of a prologue, 34 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




This book is based in Los Angeles, California, USA 🇺🇲 and England🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧.




This book is written in first person perspective and the protagonists are Ellie and Dawn. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


Well done Daniel on yet another absolutely heart racing and page turning psychological thriller!!!



AN ABSOLUTELY INTRIGUING, THOUGHT PROVOKING, UNPUTDOWNABLE HEART RACING AND EXPLOSIVE BOOK THAT WILL KEEP YOU UP LATE AT NIGHT UNTIL YOU TURN THE LAST PAGE!!



Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on my arms was standing on the ends and my heart was pounding throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline.




Another HUGE success by the extremely talented Daniel Hurst!! Daniel is one of those extremely talented authors who has written so many books but yet each one I have read has been just as gripping,unique and explosive as the next!! How he does it I have no idea but whatever you are doing Daniel, keep doing it!!! I absolutely loved this unique page turning explosive page turner. I was absolutely absorbed throughout this psychological thriller. It is filled with tension, drama, family, suspense, lies, deceit, romance, love, and omg the twist!!! I DID NOT see the twists coming at all and there were more than one!!! Just when I think everything had been worked out and things were settling down BOOM there was another bombshell!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Daniel!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books in this series. I cannot remember the last time I was so hooked by a book but you managed that big time!!! I loved that the book is told from different perspectives and each of their stories/chapters were perfectly weaved together to show us everything that is going on and how each of the characters are thinking and feeling throughout. The storyline is filled with shocks, suspense, tension, deceit, and everything you could ask for in a psychological thriller!!. There was so much going on and it was very fast paced and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout. The surrounding atmosphere was absolutely perfect and the narrative ensures you are completely absorbed into the storyline with the characters coming to life all around you thanks to Daniel's evocative writing skills and Tamsin and Harrie's amazing narratives. If you are ever in a reading slump then any of Daniels books are guaranteed to pull you out of it!!!! I lost count how many times I had funny looks shouting out don't do it as I was walking on the school run listening to this amazing book!! Meeting someone you have been talking to on the net is never the best of ideas. Meeting someone you met on the net and when that lives in another country is definitely NOT a good idea at all!!! However, that is exactly why Ellie does!!! Ellie has been talking to Daryl who lives in America online. Ellie is working in a dead end job and living with her mum Dawn. Dawn also hates her job but has to stick with it to pay the bills after her husband died. When Daryl invited Ellie over to the USA to meet him and even paying for her Ellie can't resist. Dawn is more reluctant but agrees if she goes with Ellie. When Darryl and his Dad Harvey pick them up from the airport Dawn starts noticing an abundance of missing woman posters and later finds a photo of Darryl with one of them after he denied knowing her. Is Darryl telling the truth? Are Dawn and Ellie in danger? Does Harvey know more tis making out? To find out the answer to these and many more questions that you will ask yourself while reading this amazing rollercoaster ride then grab your copy today!!!! This book is absolutely addictive and I read it in one sitting. I absolutely loved the cliff hanging explosive twist at the end that leaves you wanting more! It kept me on the edge of my seat, biting my nails with my heart absolutely pounding throughout especially at the end! I really am looking forward to the next book by this extremely talented author. A gripping, all consuming addictive page turner!!!



Clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!! I would absolutely love to see this turned into a movie!!!!



This is one of the few books that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrators Harrie Dobby and Tamsin Kennard who both did an absolutely amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life. I have previously listened to Kathryn Croft's 'The Suspect' and Sheryl Browne's 'Her First Child' on audiobook that are also narrated by Tamsin Kennard and I would highly recommend listening to or reading them both as they are both fantastic page turners from another two great authors!! I would listen to it and this book in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Daniel but also to listening to more books narrated by both Harrie and Tamsin!


.



The characters were all strong and realistic and thanks to Daniel's absolutely fantastic writing skills and Tamsin and Harrie's amazing narrative skills they all come to life when you are turning the pages. My heart went out to Dawn for what she went through and what happened to her when she lost her husband. She is an amazing mother, likeable character and strong woman. Dawn is extremely hard working and has been worn down by life and her daughter Ellie. As much as I liked Dawn the opposite was true with Ellie and I found her to be a completely spoilt brat. She is 24 going on 13 and OMG she drove me absolutely mad with her attitude!!! She is immature, rude, blames her mother for everything, demanding, contributes nothing to the house and arrrggghhh I could go on!!! She really is a despicable character!!! Now, normally when I dislike a character I struggle to enjoy the storyline but with Daniels fantastic writing skills he always manage to put unlikeable characters in such fantastic storylines that you can't help but be addicted to the book regardless of how you feel!!! Both Tamsin and Harrie were perfect to portray the voices of each character helping me like or dislike the characters even more! I will stop here as I will give too much away if I say anymore and I really don't want to spoil it for future readers so I wont say anything else and let other readers make their own minds up about how they feel about the characters.. Regardless of whether you love or hate the characters they all worked perfectly together to make this an addictive and explosive storyline!!



This is exactly why you are one of my favourite male authors Daniel! An absolute must read author!! I cannot wait to read all your previous and future books!! Here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely heart racing, suspense filled, unputdownable addictive page turner psychological thriller filled with twists with a shocking ending!!




Genres covered in this book include Women's Psychological Fiction, Family Life Fiction, Murder Thriller, Mystery, Thriller, Women's Literary Fiction, Women's Crime Fiction, Suspense, Women's Psychological Thriller, Romantic Suspense, Mystery, Suspense, Crime, Thriller & Mystery Adventures, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction and Psychological Thriller amongst others.





I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'Behind Closed Doors', 'The Housemaid', 'The Night She Disappeared', 'The Perfect Couple', Shari Lapena, Karin Slaughter, Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan, Paula Hawkins, Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn, Freida McFadden, Rachel Abbot and anyone who loves an explosive ending!!!





249 pages




This book is just 99p to purchase via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews







@MyDaughtersBoyfriend @DanielHurst @Audible @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @BookoutureBookClub @BookoutureAudio @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @Audiobook

























Author Bio


Daniel Hurst is an Amazon #1 bestselling author of fast paced psychological thrillers. His most popular titles include Til Death Do Us Part, The Passenger and The Doctor's Wife, the latter title reaching #1 on the Amazon UK Kindle store in February 2023. A regular KDP Select All Star since he became a full-time author in 2021, Daniel prides himself on writing fast, releasing stories often and replying to every email he receives from his readers.


You can visit him at www.danielhurstbooks.com, where you can also download a copy of his FREE thriller 'Just One Second.'






Purchase Links










1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page