top of page

'My Big Fake Wedding' by Jessica Hatch


Book Description


The date is set. The guy is definitely not.


When I entered a lottery to win a free wedding, I had no idea that I was about to be cheated on, and unceremoniously dumped, by my ex-boyfriend. So when I win, there’s just one teeny tiny problem… I have no one to walk down the aisle with. All I need to do now is find a husband. Simple, right?


My closest friend Oliver, an old-fashioned romantic, thinks I’m crazy. He snorts when I show him my colour-coded binder, packed with step-by-step instructions for my Husband Hunt. And when he reads my to-do list, he laughs so much his green eyes fill with tears.


Step 1: Figure out what men want

Step 2: Research the best bars for romantic first dates

Step 3: FIND A HUSBAND


Despite following my list to the letter, something happens that the binder could never have predicted. After months of fantasising about this exact moment, I have a tequila-fuelled kiss with my long-term office crush Andrew. But just when I think I’ve found my soon-to-be husband, my ex-boyfriend declares his undying love for me, and Oliver stops returning my calls when I need him the most…


With my wedding day getting ever closer, I’m starting to realise that the only thing more complicated than finding a husband on a deadline, is finding the right one.


This absolutely hilarious and totally feel-good romance is perfect for fans of Ali Hazelwood’s The Love Hypothesis, Christina Lauren’s The Unhoneymooners, and Emily Henry’s Beach Read.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'My Big Fake Wedding' by Jessica Hatch.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jessica Hatch, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous



Publication date 18th August 2022.



This is the first book I have read by this author.



I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching unique cover and intriguing as well as hilarious sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'This absolutely hilarious and totally feel-good romance is perfect for fans of Ali Hazelwood’s The Love Hypothesis, Christina Lauren’s The Unhoneymooners, and Emily Henry’s Beach Read. ' I am a fan of 'The Honeymooners' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of 26 chapters. The chapters are a mixture of length ranging from medium and some long in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Virginia, USA 🇺🇸.



This book is written in third person perspective with the protagonists being Beatrice Corbin. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


This book was quite fast paced, different and fun. I devoured it in one reading and was completely absorbed throughout!! This is the first book that I have listened 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the first time I listened to the whole book and I was impresse! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Stephanie Cannon who did a great job bringing this story to life. I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity and Stephanie did a brilliant job on both male and female characters voices!!! I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Jessica but also to listening to more books narrated by Stephanie. I found myself laughing one moment while feeling quite emotional the next. I adore the fact that although there are quite sad moments and emotional times that within minutes Jessica has you laughing until you are in tears again. There were a couple of points that I did find frustrating such as the peanut allergy scene, I'm not sure if this realistically would have happened due to health and safety regulations. I also wasn't a huge fan of Bea but I will go more into that later. I also did not understand the point of Bea's company if I'm completely honest. I must admit I found a certain event to be quite predictable.However, I do love the fact that there is a very unique moment in this book which sadly I can't go into as I don't want to spoil it for future readers but I definitely agree with what Jessica states in the letter from her at the end. I also absolutely LOVED the 'To Do' lists at the end of each of the chapters. These were also a unique addition to the book that gave that extra sprinkle of fun to the storyline!


This is probably a first for me but I really could not click with Bea, the main protagonist, at all yet I continued to read and even finish the book!!! I found Bea very self-centred and selfish and I don't understand how Lucy, Charlie and Oliver put up with her as a friend!!! I also wasn't a huge fan of Andrew who I found to be false and also selfish. However, I absolutely LOVED Lucy, Charlie and Oliver who were all great friends to Bea who, I think, took them all for granted. The only thing that I found quite nasty about these three (well one) was something Lucy had said to Bea which was mean but at the same time I think she had been pushed to breaking point by Bea at this point. I may not have liked the main character which is a first for me BUT as I have always said, if you liked every character in a book it wouldn't be very interesting!! You need complex and different personalities, some of which may clash with a reader to make a book come alive!


A MASSIVE WELL DONE to Jessica on a romcom with a twist!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your future books.


Overall a unique, refreshing and sweet romcom with a lovely twist.


Genres covered in this book include Fiction, Romance Novel, Contemporary Romance, Humourous Literary Fiction, Romance Literary Fiction, Rural Life Humour, Love, Sex & Marriage Humour and Women's Humourous Fiction amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Ali Hazelwood’s 'The Love Hypothesis' , Christina Lauren’s 'The Unhoneymooners' Emily Henry’s 'Beach Read' and anyone looking for a unique uplifting, fun and refreshing romcom.



348 pages/9 hours 13 minutes


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


This book is £18.29 to purchase as Audiobook or 1 credit or £7.99 if you have Audible Premium Plus.



Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@MyBigFakeWedding @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @JessicaHatch











Author Bio


Jessica Hatch has a passion for writing humorous women’s fiction with a

strong-beating heart. She loves to develop quirky, high-concept “what if”

scenarios and then drop her characters into them, escape room–style, to see

what happens. Her work spotlights characters and locales the reader can fall in

love with, and aims to explore real-world issues that women and nonbinary

people face.


Jessica has worked in book publishing since 2013. She has had bylines


published in Writer’s Digest, The Millions, and G*Mob

Magazine, among others, and she is a proud alumna of the Mors Tua Vita Mea

workshop in Sezze Romano, Italy. Before being acquired by Bookouture, her debut

novel won a pitch slam at the Brooklyn Book Festival in 2018 and was

workshopped by acclaimed author Rumaan Alam at Aspen Summer Words in 2019.


Jessica was born outside of Richmond, Virginia, but now lives in Jacksonville, Florida,


with her bartender husband, Paul, and their three cats. When she is not

writing, you can find her jogging on the Riverwalk or planning her next

international trip. Say hello at www.jessicahatch.com.



Social Media










Purchase Links




Audible:















12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page