top of page

Murder At The Matterhorn by T.A.Williams. Review


Book Description


An old friend in need…


Despite being retired from the police, Dan Armstrong is always on hand to help with solving a crime.

So, when he’s contacted by an old colleague in need of help, Dan readily agrees. The only problem

Dan can see is the location – an isolated mountain-top campsite of UFO enthusiasts.


An unexplained death...


But these are no ordinary star watchers, and when Dan arrives one member of the group is already

dead. Some of the group suspect alien abduction, but Dan is sure the killer is much closer to home.


An out of this world case?


Dan doesn’t believe in aliens, but faced with black hole of secrecy from the group of suspects, he and

Oscar have their work cut out to catch the murderer…before they strike again.


It's another case for Dan and Oscar to solve!


A gripping new murder mystery series by bestselling author T.A. Williams, perfect for fans of Lee

Strauss and Beth Byers.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Murder At The Matterhorn' by T. A. Williams .



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for T. A. Williams, Book And Tonic, Boldwood Books and Rachel's Random Tours.



Publication date 24th November 2023.



This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the fifth book in the 'Armstrong And Oscar Cosy Mystery' series but can be read as a standalone. I have also read third book in the 'Armstrong And Oscar Cosy Mystery 'Murder In Florence' which I would highly recommend. Each book in this series can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of 25 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



The storyline had me hooked immediately and I love the way that Dan goes about his detective work. There was so much going on that it kept me entertained thoroughly throughout with mystery after mystery and clue after clue. It was filled with mystery, laughter, murder, clues, romance, doggy treats, tension, suspense and so much more!! It is absolutely perfect to read either curled in front of the fire or lying on a beach which not many books can achieve. I never did work out who the killer was and was completely shocked when they were discovered. A great achievement as I am a huge crime fan and tend to work out who did what quite early on. The atmosphere was perfectly suited to the mystery and I loved that it was set in the Alps. I also enjoyed the paranormal parts where stories of sightings of UFO's are being told and I also enjoyed the Italian to English translation aspects. I would definitely say that the author has done his research which is always a bonus as there's nothing worse than a book littered with errors which could have been avoided by doing research on the topics. TA Williams evocative writing skills made me feel like I had been swept away to the Alps and was walking along trying to solve the crime and mystery along with Dan and Oscar. I enjoyed getting deeper into this series and managed to read this book in one sitting. I wont say anymore about that as I don't want to spoil anything for future readers by giving too much away. I also enjoyed how everything weaved together nicely towards the end and there wasn't any loose threads as another pet hate is ending a book with unsolved mysteries. A fantastic addition to this brilliant series!!



Although this is the fifth book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.



There was another fantastic selection of characters that I met in this book along with the brilliant characters I have previously met in the third book in this series 'Murder In Florence' including our main protagonist Dan and of course Oscar. I was fascinated watching the character development from that back to the end of this book and I'm looking forward to how Dan started right at the beginning and to continuing to read this series to watch his character continue to grow, especially after reading the first chapter of book one which has me even more intrigued!! I have to admit though that my favourite character just had to be Oscar!! As a huge animal lover myself any books that include animals gets bonus points for me and this one got mega points as Oscar played a main part!! He is such a sweet but mischievous boy and absolutely adorable!! I also enjoyed meeting all the different characters that we meet on throughout the book and each of them had their own unique personality and part to play which they played perfectly. They were all well rounded, strong, realistic with their own quirks and personalities. There was the perfect amount of characters to keep you guessing who the killer is and I enjoyed trying to work out who was hiding what even though I kept getting it wrong!! I'm looking forward to meeting Dan and Oscar again in previous and future books in this series!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of T.A William's 'Murder In Tuscany' which is the first book in the Armstrong And Oscar Cozy Mystery Series and which promises to be just as gripping as this book and is one I'm definitely looking forward to reading myself!!!


Overall a fun and easy to read page turning cosy murder mystery with the perfect amount of crime, history and humour that will keep you turning the pages.



256 pages.



This book is just £2.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@MurderAtTheMatterhorn @ArmstrongAndOscarCozyMystery @TAWilliams @TAWilliamsBooks @BoldwoodBooks @BoldwoodBloggers @BookAndTonic@Netgalley @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger


















Author Bio –


T A Williams is the author of over twenty bestselling romances for HQ and Canelo and is now turning his hand to cosy crime, set in his beloved Italy, for Boldwood. The series will introduce us to retired DCI Armstrong and his labrador Oscar and the first book, entitled Murder in Tuscany, will be published in October 2022. Trevor lives in Devon with his Italian wife.




Social Media Links


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TAWilliamsBooks


Twitter: https://twitter.com/TAWilliamsBooks


Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/TAWilliamsNews



Purchase Link








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page