top of page

'Martha's Cottage' by Fiona Cooke


Book Blurb


Be careful what you wish for.


Sarah and Ben Stephens had it all. Attractive thirty-somethings, upwardly mobile; good careers in the city, a sizeable house in the suburbs.


To all concerned it was the perfect picture of marital bliss.


Or was it?


Years of infertility treatment have taken its toll on their marriage. Barely speaking, they’re strangers who share the same bed.



Then the fallout from a surprise birthday party and a lifechanging discovery send Sarah fleeing to the West of Ireland. And there, at Martha’s Cottage, a tiny stone house by the wild Atlantic Ocean, she licks her wounds and must decide on the course of her future.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Martha's Cottage' by Fiona Cooke


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Spellbound Books and Fiona Cooke.


Publication date 28th September 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Spellbound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Spellbound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).



This novel consists of a prologue, 41 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Ireland 🇮🇪 , UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.



This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Sarah Stephens and Ben Stephens. The benefits of third person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Martha's Cottage' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Fiona discusses infertility.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene and kept me on the edge of my seat. The cover and synopsis suited the storyline perfectly.


This book takes you on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. When I find out the genre of a book I always turn to Amazon which lists the ranks the book is in within certain genres. These genres included 1,825 in General Humourous Fiction and 3,167 in Humour. I was quite surprised this was mentioned with the book as I wouldn't classify it as humorous personally. I'm unsure what I would class it as, probably family drama. Anyway, I just wanted to point that out if anyone became confused as to why I had included those genres on my review. Where was I.... Yes an emotional rollercoaster ride of emotions than many couples in the same boat as Sarah and Ben may recognise. Sarah and Ben are desperate to have a child but when aben struggles with the relationship he decides to find romance elsewhere. Sarah escapes to an isolated seaside cottage owned by a friend. The storyline is all about love, loss, second chances and so much more!! I found both faults and positive aspects in both Sarah and Ben and I don't think I've ever wanted to bang a couples head together as much as I wanted to in this book!! Fiona's evocative writing and descriptions will have you biting your lip to stop you shouting out loud at either of them so I would probably avoid reading it on public transport!! Ben has made a mistake leaving Sarah broken hearted. Can Sarah forgive him or has he gone too far? You'll just have to pick this stunning page turner up to find out!!


Congratulations on an absolutely stunning page turner Fiona!! I'm looking forward to reading your next success 🥂



Overall an emotional page turner filled with drama that will keep you up reading until 2am!!



Genres covered in this book include Humour, Family Drama, Holiday Fiction and General Humorous Fiction amongst others.




262 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited via Amazon at time of review which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I loved it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@Bookworm86 @bookworm1986 @ZooLoosBT @FionaCooke @SpellBoundBks @SpellboundBooks











Author Bio


F. B. Hogan is a writer, blogger and poet living in the midlands of Ireland. She masquerades as a sensible adult and mother to five children and cat but lives and breathes purely for horror.


Fiona writes in a mix of genres and you can also find her collection of humorous and supernatural tales - The Lights Went Out and Other Stories on Amazon under the name Fiona Cooke. Her novella, a romantic comedy set in Kerry, Ireland - What Happened in Dingle, is also available to download on Amazon.


She scribbles random thoughts about nature, her work and anything that amuses her at her blog



Follow her at:









Buy Links









3 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page