top of page

'Make Me Disappear' by Jessica Payne


Make Me Disappear: A twisty and gripping psychological thriller by Jessica Payne

Book Description

By the time I realized the truth about Daniel it was too late. But the truth about me? He never saw that coming… Dr Daniel Ashcroft was perfect: handsome, romantic, protective. I thought I was so lucky. But then I heard the rumors about his previous girlfriend, that she had vanished without a trace.That’s when I found the cameras in my apartment. I was trapped. Daniel made it clear I couldn’t leave him, not without risking everyone I loved. I had to disappear, so I arranged my own kidnapping. I should have known Daniel would never let me get away that easily. But he could never have predicted what I’d do next… Make Me Disappear is a brilliantly twisty psychological thriller guaranteed to keep you up all night. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Gone Girl and The Couple Next Door will find it impossible to put down.









BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Make Me Disappear' by Jessica Payne.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jessica Payne, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 16th May 2022.


This is the Jessica Payne's debut novel.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching unique cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of The Wife Between Us, Gone Girl and The Couple Next Door will find it impossible to put down.' I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 85 40 chapters. The chapters are short to medium so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Seattle, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Noelle Thomas and Daniel Ashcroft. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them. If there are several protagonists you also get to see more of what is going on.


'Make Me Disappear' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Jessica discusses/includes domestic abuse.


OMFG!!! If this is what you can do with your debut novel Jessica then I cannot wait to see what you have up your sleeves for your next success!!!!


This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that will leave your heart pounding and you sitting on the edge of your seat throughout. The cover and synopsis suit the storyline perfectly.


Well, Well, Well what an absolutely EXPLOSIVE non stop, action packed suspense rammed psychological thriller!!! This book is filled with tension, suspense, secrets, lies, explosive reveals and an absolutely bombshell ending!!! I picked this up this morning and I just could not put it down!!! This is one of those books that when I wasn't reading it physically I was listening to the audio book. I am not a regular audio book listener but I must say the narrators were absolutely perfect, especially the guy who voiced Daniel, he absolutely sent shivers down my spine!!! This book came with one twist after another and you jist did not know who to trust!!! I would never have expected THAT reveal though so an absolutely HUMONGOUS CONGRATULATIONS to Jessica. Its getting harder and harder to shock me lately but you absolutely blew my mind and for a debut novel, well I think that's only the second time ever someone's first book has shocked me so much!!! I felt like I was standing next to Noelle and Daniel throughout the book and my heart was literally racing at times. When it came to the ending I literally shouted out OMG WTF and got a few dodgy looks from my partner!!! This has got to be one of the best books I have ever read and I cannot wait to see what else you have up your sleeve!!! This book can be hard at some points as it revolves around the topics of domestic abuse and gaslighting but I am a firm believer that these subjects should be written about more in fiction as it can help victims see that what is going on isn't normal and hopefully get help before it's too late which may in turn save a life. Jessica has done an amazing job weaving these topics into an unputdownable psychological thriller.


It is set over/includes multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Do not even think about picking this up until you have cleared your schedules as you will NOT be able to put it down!!!


The characters were realistic, creepily so in Daniel's case, we'll defined and strong. I felt like I was sitting opposite Noelle while she told me her story and hiding in the corner when Daniel spoke. As I've previously mentioned the narrators for the audio book did an absolutely fantastic job and the voices were perfect for the characters but even with me reading the physical copy I had a string sense of their personalities. My heart went out to Noelle who just did not know who to trust or where to turn to. I was completely invested in her throughout and loved watching her character develop and grow from beginning to end. Daniel was another story and he absolutely made my skin crawl. My partner listened to one chapter from Daniel and his words were "I want to punch him already"!!! Whether you love or hate them they all work perfectly to make an unputdownable novel that will keep you addicted from the first page to the last.


Congratulations Jessica on an absolutely amazing, unputdownable, explosive successful debut novel. One of the best I've ever read!!!! Here is to youe next success 🥂


If you pick up one book this year THIS is the one for you!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, explosive, unputdownable psychological thriller that will keep you up at night.


Genres covered in this book include Psychological Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Thriller, Debut and Mystery amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'The Wife Between Us' , 'Gone Girl', 'The Couple Next Door' and every single person reading this review!!!


383 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JessicaPayne @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @JessicaPayne












About the author

Jessica Payne is the author of MAKE ME DISAPPEAR. She grew up in Kansas City, later moving to the Pacific Northwest where the mountains and Puget Sound became home. Beyond writing, she loves to run, rock climb, and explore the great outdoors with her daughter and husband. She is an RN and recently finished her degree as a nurse practitioner. When holding still, which isn’t often, you’ll find a book in her hand and a cat or dog (or both!) in her lap. Jessica writes suspense and thriller and is the host of #MomsWritersClub on Twitter and YouTube. You can find out more about her at her website, jessicapayne.net





Author social media


Facebook: @authorjessicapayne


Instagram: @jessicapyane.writer

Newsletter sign up:






Purchase Link







26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

コメント

5つ星のうち0と評価されています。
まだ評価がありません

評価を追加
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page