top of page

Lucas by Alan Meredith



Book Description


Hallucinations where I am tortured to death or Emmerdale? Tough call. Ever feel that your life is so empty that all there

is left to do is drink? Life for Lucas hasn't changed since he was 20, battling an addiction which consumes him and anyone close. Can Lucas break the cycle or is he cursed to have his life stuck on repeat?


Unlike my previous two books this is adult fiction with mature themes, sexual references, graphic violence and swearing (even the 'c' bomb). If you have bought Shimmer or Midas for your younger kids, please don't just buy this one and put it in their Xmas stockings. Beware!




Book Review


Review for 'Lucas' by Alan Meredith.



Read and reviewed for Alan Meredith.



Publication date 2nd December 2022.



This is the third book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Shimmer' and 'Midas' which I also enjoyed and would definitely recommend.


'Lucas' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Alan discusses addiction.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of Alan Meredith and if this book is half as good as 'Shimmer' and 'Midas' it is guaranteed to be a page turner!


This novel consists of 19 "chapters". The chapters are short to short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Lucas. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.



This book is very well written with vivid descriptions that really sets the scenes for the reader and brings the book alive.


This is the third book I have read from this fantastic author. I enjoyed 'Shimmer', really enjoyed 'Midas' and absolutely loved 'Lucas'! I love watching an author's books and work develop and seeing how they manage to suck the reader deeper into each book they write and seeing the story's becoming better and better! The first book I read by him was 'Shimmer' which is suitable for young children and adults, then I read 'Midas' which is suitable for older children and adults but this one is definitely for teens and adults eyes only!! Alan's evocotive wreiting skills bring sthe story to life and sucks the reader in seeing the characters come to life. It is filled with fantasy, regrets, sadness, laughter, destruction and much more. I am one of those people who love gore in any book and this one definitely provided the perfect amount. Alan makes you question how you feel about the main protagonist Lucas and I was shocked to find that I really started liking and rooting for him considering he is a 'bad guy'. I loved watching is character development throughout the book and when it came to the bitter sweet end I was even more shocked to discover I had shed a few tears!! This is something I have never done when it comes to horror or fantasy so weirdly a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Alan on making me cry!!! Alan has the exceptional ability to create a storyline that really gets under your skin and in this novel he writes about addiction. This is an extremely important topic to write about as it helps to spread awareness of addiction, the symptoms and the consequences and books life this can really help someone realise this is happening to themselves or to somebody the know and can be the trigger/push they need to get much needed help. I would even go as far to say as books like this one can easily save somebody's life. Well done Alan on bringing this topic to light while weaving it into an absolutely page turning storyline that I just could not put down! It sucked me straight in from the very first page until the very end!! I was literally walking around with my kindle everywhere I went as I just could not put it down and ended up reading it in just a few hours so if you are looking for a quick read that will grip your interest then pick up your copy today!


Lucas is the lead character and is trying to overcome his addiction leaving a trail of destruction in his wake. He is desperate to stop drinking not only for himself but for his father as well which I thought was sweet as many addicts just cannot see how the destruction and devastation their addiction creates affects their friends and family. It was heart-breaking watching him struggle and I really felt for him. I have seen what alcohol can do to people and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. Lucas goes to AA meetings and although this book is predominantly a horror I must admit that I laughed out loud a few times, namely during these meetings. This is one of the things I love about this book is that although it is a horror and the topic of addiction is serious Alan also creates humour throughout the book which is perfect to lighten the dark storyline up at times. Lucas is the main character but all the characters we meet are strong and well developed and along with Lucas my heart also went out to 'Pops' and Tak.


This book is a very fast paced, gritty and addictive with a bitter sweet and unexpected ending. Congratulations Alan on yet another successful page turner and I cannot wait to see what you come up with next!!!


Overall a unique, gritty and addictive page turner filled with laughter, sadness, gore and much more with a bitter sweet ending you wont see coming!!



Genres covered in this book include Horror, Fantasy, Urban Fiction, Horror Fantasy, and Urban Fantasy amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of fast paced and addictive books with unexpected twists and turns!



122 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase, £4.99 in paperback and £9.99 in hardcover (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) from myself on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews





@Lucas @AlanMeredith @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger
















Author Bio


Hi! I’m Alan Meredith and I like taking the real world and weaving fantastical elements into it. To be honest I am not 100% sure what genre I write but the I think the closest I have seen written down is ‘contemporary fantasy’.


I have written three books so far. ‘Shimmer’ is about a lost girl and a lost cat who both help each other to find their way home. ‘Midas’ is the story of a boy who learns that all that glitters aint gold. And ‘Lucas’ is a story of a someone who is struggling to hold onto their humanity. ‘Lucas’ is my first book which is not suitable for children. All my books are available on Amazon in paperback, hardback, and kindle formats.


For those who want to know more you can find me on Facebook & Good Reads, look for the only Alan Meredith who is a vampire.




Purchase Link






15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page