top of page

Lovers by Fran Clark. Review and Giveaway.


Book Description

A chance meeting sparks a journey of love, loss, and hope in this evocative story that begins in London’s Soho, 1983.

Charlie is captivated by the female singer in a blues band at the Soho Cellar and is about to begin a love story that was never meant to be.


Fast forward to 2020 and the lives of five West London strangers intertwine, pulling them into the heart of Charlie’s story. As they search for friendship, compassion, and love, they must each take a chance and risk it all.

In this heartwarming story of fate and second chances, will a perfect stranger become a perfect lover?





BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Lovers' by Fran Clark.



Read and reviewed for Fran Clark, Zooloos book tours and Island Dream Books.



Publication date 28th September 2023.




This is the first book I have read by this author.


This novel consists of a 46 chapters. The chapters are short in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



'Lovers' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Fran discusses/includes domestic violence.



I adored this unique storyline which is hard to come by when it comes to books as there are so many out there but Fran has created an absolutely beautiful storyline!!!! It is the perfect book to read snuggled up on the sofa with a blanket while you get stuck in to the lives of 5 strangers. With its character driven storyline I became completely invested in them as well as the storyline itself, I'll talk more about the characters shortly. Fran's fantastic writing skills makes this book an easy to read, emotive and smooth read that I completely lost myself in. It is both heartwarming and heartbreaking and one minute I was laughing until tears streamed down my eyes and the other I was crying. It is ram packed with friendship, fate, kindness, hope and so much more! It is not only filled with multiple protagonists but also multiple timelines moving from 1983 to 2022. I was completely invested in this book from the very first page and just could not put it down and ended up devouring it in one sitting!! Fran's evocative writing skills really do bring the locations, emotions and the characters to life!! I absolutely LOVED the realism of this storyline which made it so easy to picture everything that was going on. I am looking forward to reading more of Fran's books.




Well done Fran on a beautiful book!!! This may be the first book I have read by her but I cannot wait to get hold of more books by this talented author!!!



The characters were all an eclectic mix and each one of them were realistic and strong. I was completely invested in them all. It also makes them more realistic, believable and made me feel even more for them than I normally would. They each had their own unique personalities with positive and negative behaviours. We get to meet Ione, Marta, Elliot, Charlie and Louise and see their lives through their eyes with Fran's multiple character protagonists. I love it when there are several protagonists as we get to see a much bigger picture as well as seeing how they are each feeling as individuals. During this book it was intriguing to see how each of their lives intertwined and connected through different events and reasons until the 5 strangers are no longer strangers but more. I loved each of them for different reasons, they were all very likeable and honest characters which makes all the difference to how much I enjoy a book. Fran's evocative writing skills makes each of them leap from the page and their emotions became mine so make sure you have the tissues at the ready before delving into this book!!! I loved learning about them as individuals as well as seeing their interactions with each other and seeing their friendships and relationships change and develop throughout. There were just so many amazing characters that I loved getting to know that I could write about them all day but I don't want to bore you so I'll start to wrap it up here. Each of the characters are memorable and unique in their own ways and they are a group that I wont be forgetting any time soon!



Overall a beautiful book filled with emotions, second chances and so much more!!!



276 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £8.99 in paperback at time of review via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@Lovers @FranClark @FranClarkAuthorPage @IslandDreamBooks @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @BooksOnTour @BlogTour @BookReview @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger




















Author Bio

Fran Clark writes Women’s Fiction, both contemporary and historical. Her first novel was published by Indigo Dreams in 2014. In the same year she achieved a Distinction in her Creative Writing MA from Brunel University. In 2016 she was shortlisted for the SI Leeds Literary Prize. In Febuary 2024, her Island Secrets Book Series will be published, starting with Holding Paradise Book 1.

Originally from London, Fran moved to the English countryside with her musician husband. A musician herself, Fran teaches vocals and leads a local choir. She has two sons.

Fran also writes under the pseudonym, Rosa Temple, writing contemporary fiction and published by HQ Digital and Simon & Schuster UK.




Social Media Links









Purchase Link







Giveaway

The Kindle edition of Lovers is Free from 5th October to 9th October on Amazon. There is a Giveaway of 2 signed paperbacks (UK Only) Entry is from 5th October and the draw is on 16th October. Entrants need to follow my socials and share the Giveaway with #Lovers.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page