top of page

Love You Gone by Rona Halsall. Review


Book Description:


'Hello? Police? My husband and our children… they’re gone.’


When Mel arrives at the holiday cottage in the Lake District, she expects to find the heating on and her husband Luke and the two children waiting for her. Maybe a bottle of wine open…


Instead, there is just a note on the side, saying they’ve gone out for a walk.


But they aren’t back several hours later, and Mel knows something is wrong. Really wrong. When a search doesn’t find them, she has to confess to the police that her marriage isn’t all that it seems.


Even if that risks her own secrets being revealed…


An absolutely incredible, page-turning psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, for fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Ruth Ware..



BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Love You Gone' by Rona Halsall.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Rona Halsall, Bookouture publishers, Bookouture Audiobooks and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 19th December 2023.


This is the seventh book I have read by this author. I have previously read 'Her Mother's Lies', The Ex Boyfriend', 'The Guest Room', 'The Liar's Daughter', 'The Wife Next Door' and 'The Bigamist' and highly recommend them all.


This novel consists of 49 chapters and an epilogue. It is set over four parts. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



Wow!!!! Well done Rona on another amazing success!!! An absolutely fantastic unputdownable psychological thriller. Extremely well written as are all Rona's books I have previously read with vivid descriptions that absorb you into the storyline. It was also fantastically narrated by the fabulous Tamsin Kennard. The storyline is chillingly realistic and it kept me on the edge of my seat and then on the edge of my bed until late at night as I just could not out it down!!! I really enjoyed trying to work out who was telling the truth and who was hiding what throughout this drama packed page turner. Mel arrives at the holiday home she has booked with her family to discover her family are missing and there's a note left saying they have gone for a walk. However, hours later there are still no sign of them so she contacts the police. However, all isn't as it seems and there are always two sides to every story which we soon find out when we discover Luke's side. Just when I thought I had it all worked out, yet again, Rona proves that she is a writing legend and proves me wrong yet again!!! I will never admit that to my partner mind as he knows I am always right but a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to Rona for proving me wrong!! I have read countless crime and psychological thrillers so it is getting harder and harder to surprise me but Rona manages it every single time without fail!!! I was captivated throughout and the storyline was absolutely rammed with secrets, lies, love, mystery ,suspense, tension, shocks, twists , lies and red herrings all the way up until the very perfect ending. Rona's evocative writing skills and Tamsin's brilliant narrative brings not just the storyline and atmosphere to life but also each of the characters who leap out of the pages at the reader. However, I'm not going to say anything about them as I will let you draw your own conclusions when you meet them yourself!! I cannot wait to get dragged back into another one of this amazing authors books!!


This is one of the few books that I have listened to 100% on Audiobook. If I listen to a book on audiobook I usually also read the physical book between but for the second time I listened to the whole book and I was impressed! I must say a HUGE congratulations to the narrator Tamsin Kennard who did an amazing job bringing this story and the characters to life. I have previously listened to 'Her First Child' by Sheryl Browne, 'The Suspect' by Kathryn Croft and 'My Daughters Boyfriend' and 'Her Husband's Mistake' by Daniel Hurst that were all also narrated by Tamsin Kennard and I would highly recommend listening to or reading them all as it they re other fantastic page turners from other great authors!! I would listen to it in the car and while walking at any opportunity. I'm not only looking forward to reading more books by Rona but also to listening to more books narrated by Tamsin.


Congratulations Rona on yet another HUGE success and for, yet again, managing to shock me when many fail. This would make an epic movie that I would love to see come out!! This is the exact reason you are one of my favourite authors and here's to your next success 🥂!!!


Make sure you read to the very end of the book to read the prologue of Rona's 'The Bigamist' which is actually one I have already read and if you enjoyed this book then I can guarantee you will love that one too. I would highly recommend reading it!!!


Overall an addictive, page turning, epic and action packed psychological thriller that will shock you throughout!!



288 pages/ 8 hours and 49 minutes.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited, £8.99 in paperback via Amazon and £13.12 for the audiobook at time of review, which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@LoveYouGone @RonaHalsall @TamsinKennard @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @BookoutureAudio @Audible @Netgalley @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger













Author Bio:


Rona is the bestselling author of psychological thrillers published by Bookouture. She loves to turn domestic storylines on their head to keep her readers guessing what the heck is going on.


She has been a bit of a nomad during her adult life, moving around the north of England, before settling in Snowdonia, North Wales where she brought up her family while working as a business mentor. She now lives on the Isle of Man with her little nutter of a Border Collie, Maid. You'll find all the places she's lived in her stories!


She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful glens and beaches on the Island while she's plotting her next book. She has three children and two stepchildren who are all grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of material for new stories.



To find out more about Rona and her novels, visit her website: https://ronahalsall.com/ and sign up to her newsletter to get the latest info on new books and offers.


Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Rona Halsall here: https://www.bookouture.com/rona-halsall





Buy Link:



You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you'll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page