top of page

Love Letters On Hazel Lane by Jennifer Page. Review.


Book Description


Scrabble fan Jo always seems to pick the wrong guys. Now she’s moved to the Yorkshire village of

Hebbleswick, and decided to give dating one last chance. This time, there’s a catch: she will only date

men whose names would score highly in her beloved word game.


After Tarquin (16 points) proves just as disappointing as the rest, she meets low-scoring local doctor

Ras (3 points). Her rules mean she can’t date him – but when he asks her to organise a Scrabble

festival with him, she can’t say no.


As the event draws nearer and Jo and Ras grow closer, will Jo ignore her rule and let true love

blossom over the triple letter scores?




BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Love Letters On Haze Lane' by Jennifer Page.



Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Jennifer Page, Aria, Head Of Zeus, Bloomsbury Publishing and Rachel's Random resources Tours.



Publication date 4th January 2024.




This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!! It is also the second book in Jennifer's 'The Little Board Game Café' series but can be read as a standalone.



This novel consists of a prologue, 48 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!




WOW!!!! What can I say?!?! What an absolutely beautiful book that I fell in love with!!! I cannot wait to read more books by this extremely talented author!




This book is beautifully written with vivid descriptions setting the picture perfectly in the readers mind. The title, description and cover works perfectly with the storyline.




This book is an absolutely gorgeous read filled with Scrabble, letters and love!!! It is an absolute rollercoaster ride of emotions filled with heartbreak, jealousy, bullying, regrets, romance, anger, love, secrets, friendship and so much more. I was completely swept away with the storyline and loved having a holiday in the absolutely gorgeous Yorkshire village of Hebbleswick. I loved following Jo during her days in work, nights at work and Scrabble games and more. There are times when I laughed, shouted, smiled and felt full of joy. Jo moved to Hebbleswick away from her horrid ex husband after she felt it was fate when she found a Scrabble dress for sale in a charity shop window. Jo works in Pop! Productions where she loves what she does but when her colleagues stop inviting her out for drinks, she is bullied by Leona and feels isolated she starts hiding in the stationary cupboard to chat to her best friend Gemma to get some advice. Jo ends up on a dating site and after several disastrous relationships where she is taken advantage of financially and assaulted she decides to give up dating and men. However after bumping into one of the not so disastrous dates at a Scrabble club and being asked to organise a Scrabble festival Jo's life starts changing slowly and things start looking up. This book is such a fun, relaxing and humorous read where we see characters arguing over Scrabble, worrying about dating characters because their names would score low in Scrabble, a vicar becoming very embarrassed and so much more than you will not be able to put it down!!! I really cannot wait to get stuck into book one and then book three in this series when it comes out along with more of this amazing authors books!! I was utterly glued to the pages and I could not bring myself to put it down. I was carrying my phone to read it in kindle every chance that I got. I adored the gorgeous ending and would love to see this book turned into a movie!! I would seriously recommend this book to anyone and everyone, and most definitely Scrabble fans!! A gorgeous uplifting romance that will warm your hearts 💝. I am off to add the rest of Jennifer's past and future books to my Amazon wish list as soon as I've finished this review!!


Clear your schedules as this is one gorgeous and unputdownable stunner ❤️


Although this is the second book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without reading book one first. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


The characters are strong, realistic and I became completely invested in each and every one of them. They all had their own problems, secrets, feelings and all had unique personalities and I just absolutely loved getting to know them all. I felt each of their love , friendship, pain, heartbreak, happiness, anger, sorrow and so much more. I loved the main protagonists Jo and Ra's who were both such strong, relatable and unforgettable characters. My heart went out to Jo who really wasn't having any luck in her work or love life especially when it came to bullying in the workplace. I absolutely cannot abide bullies, there really is no excuse and my heart breaks for any victims of bullying regardless of their age. I absolutely loved seeing Jo go from strength to strength and seeing the difference in her from the beginning of the book to what she was like at the end was absolutely amazing!! I love seeing strong female leads in books being female myself and Jo really is an amazing woman! I am unsure if I will get to meet her again in the first book in the series but I cannot wait to see her again in the future books. I loved seeing her personality change and develop as an individual as well as watching her bond with other characters as the storyline went on. I won't go into too much detail as I don't want to spoil the storyline for anyone. Ras is also a sweet character and my heart went out to him for how he felt after certain things happened, again I can't say more. There were just so many amazing personalities in this book from the younger ones such as Cosmic, Jo's best friends Gemma and Kate, the Scrabble Gang Florence, Mr B, Malcolm, Linda, Ray, Sylvia and just so many others I would be here forever naming them!!!! Although the majority of the characters were amazing and I would love to meet them again there were also a few I was not fond of at all such as Tarquin, Simon, Leona and David and I couldn't stand them. However, regardless of if I loved them or hated them they each played their parts perfectly and it wouldn't have been as amazing a read as it was if I had loved them all!!! Jennifer does an absolutely amazing job of bringing the story to life and the characters leap out of the pages as your turning them thanks to her evocative writing skills!! It is so hard to say what I feel about the characters without giving anything away so I won't say anymore about them as I don't want to go into too much detail at the risk of spoiling it for other readers but Jennifer really has done an amazing job at bringing each of the characters to life and I am missing them already and cannot wait to meet them again in 'The Little Board Game Café' (book one in this series) and 'Second Chances At The Board Game Café' (book three in this series which will be published 6th June 2024) Well done Jennifer!!!




Congratulations Jennifer on an absolutely gorgeous, escapism filled with everything you could one in a page turner!!! I am looking forward to reading more of your previous and future books, especially the first book in this series 'The Little Board Game Cafe' . I would absolutely love to see this book turned into a movie!!! This is why I would like to welcome you to my favourite author list and here's to your next success 🥂



Overall an absolutely addictive and gorgeous book that will take you to Yorkshire and warm your heart ❤️!!!




416 pages.




This book is just £2.48 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £9.19 in paperback (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!




Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.




Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews.




@LoveLettersOnHazelLane @TheLittleBoardGameCafe @JenniferPage @jenpagewrites @JenniferPagewrites @jenniferpagewrites @Aria @HeadOfZeus @Bloomsbury @RachelsRandomResources @rararesources @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnimited @Netgalley



























Author Bio


Jennifer Page wrote her first novel – a book about ponies – when she was eight. These

days she prefers to write romance. When she isn't writing, Jennifer can usually be found playing

board games which are the inspiration for her first novel. She has worked as a television producer, a

music teacher and has even run a children's opera company. She now lives near Hebden Bridge in

West Yorkshire with her husband and his large collection of games.




Social Media Links









Purchase Link






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page