top of page

'Love Is The Answer' by Ben Craib

Updated: Mar 29, 2023


Book Blurb Love Is The Answer tells the story of grieving seventeen-year-old Scarlett who falls in love with a young ecstasy dealer and DJ and embraces his lifestyle of raves, pills, and underground parties. Together they’re like two wires completing an electrical circuit - with him she’s lit up, happy and whole - away from him dead. But when he brutally betrays her she is forced to confront the toxic river of anger they’ve both been trying so hard to avoid. Love Is The Answer explores the turbulence of first love mixed together with the pressure pot of the complicated effects of grief. All publisher profits will go to the mental health charity MIND






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Love Is The Answer' by Ben Craib.


Read and reviewed for ZooLoos Book Tours, Ben Craib and Spellbound Books.


Publication date 7th May 2022.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and intriguing sounding synopsis and title. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Spellbound Books. I have yet to read a book published by Spellbound Books that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 54 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in London, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 , UK 🇬🇧 . The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited London so am intrigued to see if I recognise anywhere namd in the book.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonist is Scarlett. The benefits of books written in first person perspective are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'Love Is The Answer' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ben discusses/includes cancer and drugs. Due to these I would recommend reading age of 16 plus.



This book is extremely well written with vivid descriptions that really set the scene leaving you hearing and seeing the busy sights and sounds of London. The cover and synopsis suit the book perfectly.


The storyline was captivating from the first page until the last and I was completely invested in it. It was absolutely rammed full of romance, deceit, heartbreak, tension, friendships and everything that you go through as a teenager and more. I just could not put this book down and finished it in one sitting. The storyline is sadly very realistic and something that thousands of people go through and struggle with regularly, especially teens. It goes to show how fragile life is and how one decision can lead to another and then another until it completely changes the pathway of your life. However, it is not just a story of regrets but also one that shows that there can be light at the end of the tunnel and that it is never to late to change the path that you are on. This book is an emotional rollercoaster and as previously mentioned the story is largely based on drug use so readers should be made aware of this before starting. I was completely invested in the storyline and devoured it in one sitting. This is a book that all young people should read, especially those in secondary school, to make them aware of the effect certain life choices can have. Ben has woven a serious topic into an intriguing storyline perfectly and I'm sure this book will help many people in the right hands.



It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


Do not start this book until you have cleared your schedules as you will not be able to put it down!!


The characters were all realistic and strong and I was completely invested in Scarlett throughout. My heart went out to her time after time as she went through so much tragedy and heartbreak and I really hope that she finally finds happiness. However, at the same time there were several parts of the book where I could have screamed at her for being so childish, selfish or blind to what was going on so definitely a mixed bag of feelings with her. I do realise though that she is just 17 years old at the start of this book so is just a child herself finding her own way in a world that does not always make it easy and love makes us all do crazy things. It is also nice to see a male author getting a female character "right" without all the typical female descriptions and characteristics I've seen many male authors use, if your female reading this then I'm sure you understand what I mean! I didn't trust certain characters at all and I was correct not to and I had absolutely no sympathy to them. I really liked both Elliott and Bad Ben along with Harper who I found to be true friends to Scarlett. I won't say more than that as I don't want to give too much away. Regardless of what I thought about who, each character worked perfectly to make this an intriguing page turner.


Congratulations Ben on a huge success and I would like to welcome you to my favourite male author list 🥂 I am off to add all your past books to my wish list and I'm looking forward to your future ones too 😊


Overall an emotionally charged coming of age page turner that will keep you addicted.



Genres covered in this book include Romance, Contemporary Fiction, Children & Young Adult Fiction, Teen & Young Adult In Substance Abuse, Teen & Young Adult Contemporary Romance, Teen & Young Adult Social and Family Issues amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of anyone looking for a realistic coming of age page turner filled with emotion.


296 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle or free on kindle unlimited (at time of review) via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@BenCraib @ZooLoosBT @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @SpellBoundBks













Buy Links







51 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page