top of page

Little Lost Dolls by M.M. Chouinard. Review

Updated: May 9, 2023



Book Description


Little Lost Dolls: An absolutely gripping crime thriller with a shocking twist (Detective Jo Fournier Book 7) by M. M. Chouinard

The young woman lying on the forest floor looks like she’s dreaming; her brown hair fanning out into a crown around her head, her hands clasped over her breast. She could be sleeping—if it weren’t for the brutal slash across her neck… It’s autumn in Oakhurst when Detective Jo Fournier rushes to local beauty spot, Crone Ridge Woods, desperately hoping to find Madison Coehlo alive. Instead, she discovers the pregnant woman’s pale and lifeless body, killed in the spot where she loved to walk her dog. Madison looked after her sick mother and studied at community college, who could have wished her harm? Madison’s mother is utterly broken by her brutal murder, but she cannot give Jo any insight into the tiny doll pushed into her daughter’s hand. Supposed to bring luck to whoever finds one, is it a coincidence or a warning from the killer? When Jo gets another frantic emergency call, she rushes to the scene, determined to catch this cruel monster before he can steal more innocent lives. Her heart pounds when she finds another identical plastic doll. As the local community panics, Jo and her team work round the clock to keep other pregnant women safe. The call logs of the murdered expectant mothers give Jo the clue she desperately needs, but her heart splits in two when she realizes another woman is in danger. Can Jo get to her first, or is the killer pulling them both into a deadly trap? From USA Today bestseller M.M. Chouinard, Little Lost Dolls is a keep-you-up-all-night utterly gripping crime thriller with a truly jaw-dropping twist! Fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen will be completely addicted.


BLOG TOUR REVIEW Review for 'Little Lost Dolls' by M.M Chouinard. Read and reviewed via NetGalley for M. M Chouinard, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous Publication date 4th May 2023. This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the seventh book in the 'Detective Jo Fournier' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'The Vacation' and 'Her Silent Prayer' (book 5 in the Detective Jo Fournier series) which I highly recommend. It is also the fifth book in the 'Detective Jo Fournier' series but can be read as a standalone. I was originally drawn to this book by its stunning eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'From USA Today bestseller M.M. Chouinard, Little Lost Dolls is a keep-you-up-all-night utterly gripping crime thriller with a truly jaw-dropping twist! Fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen will be completely addicted..' I am a huge fan of all three of these amazing authors so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of M.M Chouinard and if this is half as good as 'The Vacation' and 'Her Silent Prayer' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book). This novel consists of 60 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case! This book is based in California, USA 🇺🇸 This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonists being Detective Josette Fournier. The benefits of third person perspective with are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything. WHAT did I just read!!!! WOW!!! I mean seriously Wow!! I am shocked that this is the only book I have read in what is promising to be an amazing series!! This has GOT to start with a MASSIVE WELL DONE MM Chouinard!!!! Firstly let's start off with the writing style, etc!! This is an extremely well written book which had me hook line and sinker!!! It is so smoothly and beautifully written with vivid descriptions I completely forgot I was even reading a book a few times. The blurb, title and cover really fit the storyline. As you can tell I LOVED the storyline. I found it to be realistic, very fast paced and I read it in a day. It is one of those books that every time I said Ill just read this one more chapter but then it ended in a way I just had to carry on reading another and then another and before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting!! In this fantastic addition to an epic series Jo is enjoying some family time with her boyfriend Matt, sister Sophie, two nieces and brother-in-law David when she gets a phone call from David's mistress Chelsea who is pregnant. Chelsea wants Jo to help her to find her friend Madison who never turned up for a planned shopping trip. This puts Jo in an awkward position but she agrees to help. When Madison is found murdered and Jo starts looking into her life lies, secrets, surprises, shocks and so much more is in store!! I loved the setting and atmosphere and just well... Everything!!! The plot throughout is rammed with suspense, mystery, lies, surprises, tension, romance and everything you could ask for in a page turner!!! It is one of those multi-layered books that just keeps on giving and giving. Anyway, I won't say anymore as I don't want to spoil it for future readers. I was shocked when the killer was revealed as they hadn't even come into my thought process so a HUGE WELL done there as its getting harder and harder to shock me but you managed to do it!!! Another fantastic and explosive addition to this pulse racing series! Although this is the seventh book in the series I had would have had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader. I loved getting to know every single one of the characters and thought they were portrayed perfectly with great character development. They were all realistic with their own little quirks and I liked each one for different reasons!! I have become completely invested in Jo and she has quickly become like a much loved friend that I enjoy meeting again and again and miss every time I have to say goodbye at the end of the book leaving me counting down the days until I meet her again! I was not only invested in Jo but the majority of the characters we meet and am looking forward to meeting them all again. Jo isn't just a strong kick butt female lead but she also has a vulnerable side too and I love getting to know strong female leads in books being female myself!! Congratulations Michelle on yet another explosive success!!! I cannot wait to read more of this explosive series. Here's to many more successes 🥂!!! Clear your schedules before picking this up as you will not be able to put it down!!! " Overall an absolutely page turning, thought provoking must read that will leave you wanting more!!! Genres covered in this novel include Murder Thrillers, Vigilante Justice, Thriller, Organized Crime, Suspense, International Mystery & Crime, Psychological Thriller, Serial Killer, Murder, Psychological Fiction, Crime Fiction, Police Procedural, Serial Killer Thriller and Mystery amongst others. I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Sheryl Browne, Shalini Boland, Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware, Gillian Flynn, Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh and Gregg Olsen and anyone looking for an explosive page turner!!! 345 pages. This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.99 in paperback via Amazon (at time of review) which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!! Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook. Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@LittleLostDolls @DetectiveJoFournier @MMChouinard @Bookouture @BookoutureAnonymous @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Netgalley @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger


https://kcmw86.wixsite.com/bookworm86


https://m.facebook.com/Bookworm1986/?ref=bookmarks


https://m.facebook.com/Bookwork86/?__tn__=%2As-R


https://www.instagram.com/bookwormwhitlock86/


https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/34299953-kirsty-bookworm86 https://mobile.twitter.com/kcmw86




Author bio

M.M. Chouinard’s first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after. While pursuing a Ph.D. in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millennium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity’s sake, she released them. She’s currently at work on her seventh novel.


Author social media









Purchase links:









2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page