top of page

'Little Boy Lost' by Ruhi Choudhary

Title: LITTLE BOY LOST

Author: Ruhi Choudhary

PUBLICATION DAY: May 6th 2021

Description:

The clear sky burst into flames of peach and gold, illuminating the small body leaning against the rocks. He looked even smaller than he had in the photos, purple marks blemishing his neck. His eyes were open, staring ahead at the vastness of the still water.

When three nine-year-old boys go missing on a field trip to Lakemore’s annual spring festival, panic tears through the small town. Detective Mackenzie Price and her partner Nick Blackwood lead the search, but no trace of the boys is found—until one of them is found murdered, a note stuffed down his throat.

“Find Johnny’s killer, or they all die.”

Johnny was supposedly a victim of Jeremiah, a serial killer Nick helped put behind bars nearly a decade ago for the murder of ten young boys. But when Mack and Nick pay him a visit, he claims that he knows nothing—and that he remains innocent of Johnny’s murder.

Then a second boy is found, another clue left on his body, leaving just one left alive. Desperate to save the last boy’s life, Mackenzie and Nick comb over Jeremiah’s case, only to discover proof of a shocking cover-up—and a killer who will stop at nothing to right the wrongs of the past.

Packed full of shocking twists and nail-biting suspense, Little Boy Lost is a truly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Regan and Angela Marsons.





BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Little Boy Lost' by Ruhi Choudhary.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Ruhi Choudhary, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 6th May 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author and it is the third book in the 'Detective Mackenzie Price' series but can be read as a standalone. I have previously read the first book in the series 'Our Daughter's Bones' which I enjoyed and would recommend.


I was originally drawn to this book by its eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a fan of Ruhi's previous book 'Our Daughter's Bones' and if this is half as good as that it is sure to be a great read. It also stated in the synopsis that this book is 'perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Lisa Regan and Angela Marsons.' I am a huge fan of Karin , Angela and Lisa so am looking forward to see if it lives up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue, 73 chapters and an epilogue. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Lakemore, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective with the main protagonist Detective Mackenzie Price. The benefits of third person perspective especially if omniscient are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Little Boy Lost' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Ruhi discusses/includes child murder.


Wow, Wow just WOW!!! Ruhi you have absolutely smashed it yet again!! What another explosive book in an epic series!!!!


The whole thing was brilliantly written and filled with in depth vivid descriptions that put me right next to Mackenzie and I was just completely lost in the story. The title, synopsis and cover represented the storyline perfectly.


This book is the third book in the Detective Mackenzie Price series and it can be read as a standalone without any problems. Anything that gets brought up about previous cases is covered in just the right amount of information, not too much to bore readers who already know what happened and just the right amount for new readers.


The description was completely accurate saying it is perfect for fans of Karin Slaughters, Lisa Reagan and Angela Marsons. I would like to add that fans of C. L Taylor and Carol Wyer or any other amazing (and my top) authors will absolutely sink their teeth into this!!


The storyline itself had me hook, line and sinker from the start and kept me on the edge of my seat as well as up at night flipping through the pages that I just couldn't put down. I completely absorbed it in one sitting. Packed with suspense, secrets, crime, lies, secrets, friendship and the BIG BANG at the end. I thought I had my suspicions of who was up to what but I was proven wrong and damn lady I DID NOT EXPECT that nucleur ending!!! Where did that come from!!! Just mega wow!!! Completely left me speechless and sitting there with my mouth hanging open like a dog. Cliffhanger much!!! I could not compliment this book enough, it just had everything!!!



I absolutely loved meeting all the realistic characters again with all their big personalities, strengths and flaws. First time I "met" them I knew I was going to love the characters from the first page and I was 100% right. I thought Mackenzie was a fantastic, strong female lead, always a bonus having a female lead being one myself!! Nick was brilliant, a good friend to Mackenzie and with a kind heart. Sully makes me laugh with his new hobby every few hours but it is a nice unique trait about him. I absolutely love this team and they all worked well with their different personalities. I really cannot wait to read more about them. They were exactly what a good crime book needs, a mix of funny, serious and I just couldn't get enough of them.


Well done Ruhi on another massive success and I hope your busy writing your next book as I for one cannot wait. If not your book then I really hope your getting a movie produced of this fantastic series. People will love Mackenzie and Nick!!


Overall if you are looking for a heart racing, page turning psychological crime that will leave you shocked and demanding more this is the book for you.



One of my favourite quotes in this book is the following:


😂 "Sully put everything away. “My daughter told me to watch The Hunger Games. That Catpiss woman inspired me. I’m thinking of enrolling in archery classes.”“It’s Katniss,” Nick corrected."


Genres covered in this book include Mystery, Thriller, Crime fiction, psychological thriller, and Police procedural. amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer, C. L Taylor, Karin Slaughter, Lisa Reagan, anyone who has read any of Ruhi's previous books in this series and well jist anyone who is looking for an epic read!!!



398 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@RuhiChoudhary @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thriller.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!


Author Social Media Links:








BUY LINKS:


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Yorumlar

5 üzerinden 0 yıldız
Henüz hiç puanlama yok

Puanlama ekleyin
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page