top of page

'Left For Dead' by Joy Kluver


Book: Left for Dead

Author: Joy Kluver

Pub Day: January 10th 2022

About the Book:

The detective stared at the young woman lying on the bed. She almost looked peaceful, her face like porcelain. Despite everything she had been through, she was still beautiful. When DI Bernie Noel hurries to Keira Howard’s hospital bedside, she knows that Keira has been lucky. Barely conscious and badly injured, at least she is alive. Convinced that Keira’s attack is the latest in a string of increasingly violent assaults on young women in the area, the next victim might not be so fortunate. So she vows to find the man who did this, and to stop him before anyone else gets hurt. Spurring her team into action, she quickly hones in on a prime suspect. But then he suddenly dies while on police watch, and Bernie’s investigation goes into freefall. When Bernie’s superiors won’t let her take the case any further, her gut instinct tells her there’s much more to his death than meets the eye. If it was murder, who would want him dead, and why? So she determines to set out on her own to find out what happened. But the closer Bernie comes to discovering the truth, the more she is putting her own life in danger. And with Keira finally strong enough to talk her about her attack, Bernie worries she may be at risk yet again. There’s someone out there who has killed to stay safe in the shadows; can Bernie stop another senseless death, and save Keira, before it’s too late? An utterly compelling crime thriller full of twists and suspense, perfect for fans of Val McDermid, Angela Marsons and Cara Hunter.

BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Left For Dead' by Joy Kluver.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Joy Kluver, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 10th January 2022.


This is the third book I have read by this author. It is also the third book in the 'Detective Bernadette Noel' series but it can be read as a standalone. I have previously read 'Last Seen' which is the first book in the 'Detective Bernadette Noel' series and 'Broken Girls' which is the second book in the 'Detective Bernadette Noel' series, which I would highly recommend.



I was originally drawn to this book by its captivating, eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'If you like Angela Marsons, Val McDermid or Cara Hunter, you’ll love Joy Kluver'. I am a huge fan of Angela Marsons so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I am also a huge fan of Joy Kluver and if this is half as good as 'Last Seen' or 'Broken Girls' it is sure to be a page turning read. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 79 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Wiltshire, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Bernadette Noel. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


'Left For Dead' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Joy discusses/includes sexual assault.


Wow!! Just Wow!! What can I even say?!? Joy you have absolutely slam dunked it yet again!!! Your fourth novel and it is still absolutely heart racing!! What an absolutely EPIC read. You are going far!!! Anyway... Will I get on with my review? Best had....


As you can tell from my opening statement this book is brilliant! More than brilliant, amazing!!! It had been fantastically written and the descriptions completely absorbs the reader into the storyline.


Since the major cliffhanger/bombshell the last book 'Broken Girls' ended in I have been waiting extremely impatiently for this book and it was most definitely worth the wait!!


The storyline is absolutely gripping, addictive and captivating. Filled with everything you are looking for in a book... Suspense, tension, mystery, red herrings, researched police procedural, bombshells, you name it this book has it. I was absolutely hooked from the first page to the last. I had a complete shock at the twists and finding out who was who and who did what. A HUGE congratulations there as it is getting harder and harder to surprise me these days but that was a whooper!! I loved that there were several storylines going on and yet everything came together perfectly, nothing worse than crucial parts being mentioned and then left and not mentioned again, this was all perfectly tyed up a the end. This is an absolutely fantastic continuation to what is a heart racing and nail biting series. Joy you best be writing your next book as we speak as I cannot wait!!! I absolutely LOVED the ending and am inpatiently waiting for your next success!! This is one of the best crime series I've read and I would love to see them made into a TV show!!


Although this is the third book in the series I had absolutely no problems reading it without the others. Any details or events that have previously happened are mentioned in just the right amount of detail to let a new reader know what has happened and yet not too much to bore a previous reader.


Love, love, loved all the characters!!! I loved meeting them again and still cannot wait to meet them yet again. The fact that Bernice is such a strong, determined and captivating female lead is a huge bonus for all female readers. Woman power!! It wasn't just Bernie who was a super woman though as Kerry was also whoop butt and Alice is definitely shining brighter and I really liked Leigh who was a new character in this book. I love the fact that she has autism and is absolutely fantastic at her job. Joy has done a fantastic job at portraying autistic traits perfectly and it was nice to see a character who has autism doing such a fantastic job. I really like detective chief superintendent Wilson who has such a caring and father type personality as well as being a fantastic boss. The dynamic of the team was spot on and I really enjoyed reading all the different personalities and watching friendships bond. Matt and Anderson were also excellent members of the team and Anderson will definitely be an intriguing one to continue to read about. I also enjoyed meeting Paul and Anna Bentley again who have become integrated as part of the team although not so much in this book. Leigh. LCI who has autism, nice to see. I'm looking forward to meeting them all again and hopefully soon. Although Leigh isn't a part of the team anymore it would be nice to meet her again. It was also interesting to see Jade again and how her attitude has changed from the previous book.


I really cannot compliment this book and successfull author more. I would love to see this made into a movie and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book.


Overall an addictive, gripping, heart racing, nail biting and page turning thriller that will keep you hooked.


Some of my favourite quotes/sentences in this book include the following:


😂 "She sat down on the toilet and willed her wee to be quiet."

"‘Yes but— What’s that noise? Are you on the loo?’"


I've lost count of how many times I've done this 😂. The fact that this was in the first paragraph made me laugh, great start to a book!!


Genres covered in this novel include Crime, Suspense, Police Procedural, Crime Thriller and Mystery amongst others.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans Melissa Leigh, Carla Hunter, Angela Marsons, C. L Taylor, Val McDermid, Carol Wyer and anyone looking for a great new series.


395 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JoyKluver @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86








Author Bio


Joy Kluver has been an avid reader and writer since childhood. More recently she's been escaping the madness of motherhood by turning her hand to crime novels. A book blogger, she's also part of the First Monday Crime team and if you've been to any of their events it's likely you've eaten one of her cookies. She also organises author talks for her local library. Joy lives in SW London with her husband and three children. 'Last Seen' is her debut novel and the first book in the DI Bernadette Noel series. Joy is represented by Anne Williams at the Kate Horden Literary Agency.


Social Media








Buy Links






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page