top of page

'Last Day Alive' by J.R Adler

Updated: Apr 27, 2021

Title: Last Day Alive

Author: J.R. Adler

Publication date: 20th April 2021




Book Description:


One hot summer’s evening, ten-year-old Piper Chase went off on her pink bicycle towards the dark woods on Black Heart Lane. She never came home… Piper cycles off one hot Oklahoma evening for a sleepover with her new friend Miley from summer camp. But when she doesn’t come home, her grandparents raise the alarm. Detective Kimberley King knows that the first twenty-four hours in a missing child investigation are the most critical, but with no witnesses, and darkness falling in the small town of Dead Woman Crossing, she begins to fear the worst. She longs to find the little girl with wide blue eyes and an infectious smile, but when her team discovers Piper’s body in a woodland clearing, lying on a bed of moss, something inside her dies. Then she gets a call that chills her to the bone. Piper’s friend Miley has gone missing Desperate to find the monster who has taken these little girls, Kimberley chases down all the leads she has. The summer camp counsellor, who got too close to Piper and Miley and lost his job. Piper’s shifty uncle, who arrived back in town the day she disappeared… And as another dark night descends on Dead Woman Crossing, Kimberley can’t stop thinking about Miley, trapped in the darkest place of all. With the clock ticking, Kimberley knows she must act fast, before another innocent life is stolen. A gripping, heart-wrenching crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat, holding your breath. Last Day Alive is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Carol Wyer.




BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Last Day Alive' by J.R Adler.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for J.R Adler, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 20th April 2021.


This is the second book I have read by this author. It is also the second book in the 'Detective Kimberley King series' The first book I read is the first one in the series and is called 'Dead Woman Crossing' which I highly recommend!! This book can also be read as a standalone with no issues.


I was originally drawn to this book by its beautiful eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis. I loved J.R. Adler's 'Dead Woman Crossing' and am hoping this will be just as good. It also stated in the synopsis 'Last Day Alive is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan and Carol Wyer'.

I am a huge fan of Lisa Regan and Carol Wyer so am looking forward to see if it loves up to this. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of 41 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Oklahoma, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Detective Kimberley King. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.


'Last Day Alive' discusses some topics that may trigger some readers. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book J. R Adler discusses child murder, mental health and more.


Well, what an explosive stortline in the second book of an explosive series!! Although this book is the second book in a series it can definitely be read as a standalone. Any previous events from the first book that are mentioned are covered in just the right amount of detail to let you know what happened yet not too much to drag on if you have read 'Dead Woman Crossing', which I also highly recommend. I was sucked straight into the storyline from the very first page. The book is very well written with fantastic descriptions. Throughout the book it gives flashes of the Killer's thoughts to help piece what they are thinking and doing together. These were put in at just the right times in the story and linked well.


The storyline was action packed and filled with suspense, drama and tension. I became completely hooked and couldn't stop turning the pages until I finished early hours in the morning. I am happy to say I was completely shocked when I found out who the killer was. I was very glad of this as I was tvery shocked when they were revealed in the first book so J. R Adler is definitely improving. I cannot wait until the next book in this series!!! I enjoyed that although it was extremely edge of the seat tense at time there were some light hearted moments and the very unexpected sentence 'room for his big swinging d##k.' almost made me spit my tea out 😂.


I loved meeting all the characters again!!! They were all very well developed and there was a good mix. I had mixed feelings with Kimberley when I first met her but she has definitely grown in me and she is a whoop butt female lead. I enjoyed watching the relationships develop further between herself and her team and I'm definitely looking forward to reading more about them in the next novel of the series. All the team members are very realistic and I really like several of them, Sam and Barb especially. I cannot wait to see if anything happens between Sam and Kimberley 🤞. They both have history and are both such strong lead team members it would be lovely to see how they work together in a couple.


This book would make a brilliant movie and Jeneva I'd like to welcome you to my favourite author club.


Overall a very well written, suspense filled crime thriller which will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include

Crime Thriller, Mystery, Murder and Police Procedural, Domestic Drama and more.


I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of Lisa Regan, Carol Wyer and anyone who enjoys books with a strong female leads.



280 pages.


This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5/5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@JRAdler @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio:


Originally from Wisconsin, J.R. Adler currently lives in Ithaca, New York with her husband, Drew, and her English Bulldog, Winston. When not writing, you can find her reading, playing board games, travelling, and binge watching The Office for the umpteenth time.



R

Buy Links:





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters...

Commenti

Valutazione 0 stelle su 5.
Non ci sono ancora valutazioni

Aggiungi una valutazione
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page