top of page

Last Bank Holiday by Christina Delmonte. Review



Book Description


A BEDROOM DOOR LEFT OPEN TO THE NIGHT RIPS ONE FAMILY APART FOREVER.


Karen, Will and the twins enjoy a luxury weekend away in the tranquil Cheshire forest.


Amidst a freak heatwave, they leave a door open to the elements that night.


Mistake number one...


There's a secret lurking in the woods.

A secret better left buried.


The events that follow turn their lives upside down and change things forever.


Do they overcome that bank holiday weekend?


Can they put their lives back together?


Will they survive?


Last Bank Holiday an unputdownable psychological thriller.








BLOG TOUR REVIEW



Review for 'Last Bank Holiday' by Christina Delmonte.



Read and reviewed for Christina Delmonte, Delmo Publishing and Zooloos Book Tours .



Publication date 12th October 2021


This is Christina's debut novel.



This novel consists of a prologue and 33 chapters . The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in Cheshire, England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 and Wales 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿 UK 🇬🇧. I always enjoy when books are set in the UK as I'm from Wales and have sometimes visited areas mentioned in the book. This makes it easier to picture where the scenes are set at times. I have in fact visited and holidayed in Cheshire on many occasions including this year and next year again plus I live in Wales so am looking forward to possibly recognising name places.



This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists being Karen and Jez. The benefits of books written in first person perspective with multiple protagonists are as long as they are well written it makes you feel that you are being spoken to by the protagonist and it can create more of a bond between yourselves and them.


'Last Bank Holiday' discusses some topics that may upset some readers or may not be suitable for others. I like to point this out ahead of time in my reviews so you can judge if this book is for you or not. In this book Christina discusses Alzheimer's, Assault and Intercourse with a minor.


This book is fantastically written with vivid descriptions that absolutely grip the readers attention and puts them right in the middle of it all making your heart pound and you constantly second guessing.



I must say I was completely shocked to realise that this is Christina's debut novel after I read it as there is no way this brilliant book gives ay indication of being an author's first work!!! Well done Christina you have done a brilliant job and I cannot wait to see what you come up with next!!! The only thing I will say is that it is listed on Amazon as a psychological thriller but I would say it is more a domestic thriller or psychological drama. However to regardless of not seeing it as a psychological thriller I still really enjoyed reading it and was absolutely addicted from the first page to the last!!! The storyline tells us about Will, Karen and their children Jesse and Ellie who go on a break away to a stunning log cabin that Karen wan in a charity auction. However, the break ends up in disaster after Will is determined to leave the window open as he is too hot that night. Things take a tragic turn for Karen and her family and one heartbreaking disaster leads to another. Karen has been worried that Will has been having an affair while also struggling to look after her Mum who has Alzheimer's. What happens in this storyline all ripples from one incident like a stone being thrown into a pond. It is a book filled with heartache, crime, suspense, murder, emotions, drama and so, so much more!!! Christina has done an absolutely amazing job on creating this multi layered and strong storyline that takes us from past to present and on a journey seen from multiple perspectives. I won't go into any of the other storyline as I don't want to risk giving anything away. The ending was a bit of a mixed one for me as half of it I had worked out what was going to happen but the part which started everything was a complete mind blowing ahok so a another HUGE WELL done to Christina on that part as I read so many thrillers, suspense, crime and psychological books that it is getting harder and harder to shock me and even though a part didn't the major part did. I know I'm teasing readers of this review but I'm not giving any hints so head to Amazon or your local store, grab your copy today and let me know what you think!!! I just could not put it down!!! Every time I said one more chapter it ended on a cliffhanger and I just had to know what was going on!!! This kept on happened over and over until before I knew it I had devoured the whole book in one sitting!! If you are going to read this then clear your day because it is truly unputdownable. I devoured this book in one sitting in the end!! Christina when are you getting this made into a movie so I can be the first in line for it? I cannot wait to read more of this extremely talented authors books!!!


It is set over multiple time lines. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture


This may be the first book I have read by this very talented author but it most certainly won't be the last and I cannot wait to get stuck into her future books!!!



There is a good mix of realistic, well rounded and strong characters which makes it a realistic read. All the characters were strong and realistic as well as hiding their own secrets. I was completely invested in each and every one of them. My heart went out to Karen who went through one thing after another. Honestly, I felt so, so sorry for her even more every time I turned a page something was happening to her. She is such a strong woman who just kept pushing through every time something knocked her down, and there were countless of things!! My heart also went out to the children Jesse and Ellie who are the same as my eldest Malaki and OMG I couldn't imagine him going through half of what these poor girls did. In fact my heart went out to the majority of the characters. However, one of them made me sick to my stomach and the other I wanted to shout at for the way they acted to others and then to do what they did. Arrrgghh!!! I understand certain things were going on but having had someone in my family so the same I just get so angry, so you know what?? This is one hell of a tease but I really, really cannot say anymore as it will just give to much away!!! You will just have to grab your copy to see what I mean!!! I absolutely adored Will's parents and Karen's best friend Louise who were such amazing support to Karen and just genuinely lovely people. Anyway, I will leave it there as I really cannot say anymore but regardless of whether you love them or hate them they each played their parts perfectly!!!





Overall a suspense filled gripping psychological drama filled with heartbreak and a twist you won't see coming!!




Genres covered in this novel include Women's Psychological Fiction, Crime, Thriller And Mystery Adventures, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Psychological Thriller, Literary Fiction, Suspense Thriller, Psychological Literary Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Noir Fiction, Womens Psychological, Domestic Thriller, Thriller, Mystery ,Thriller & Suspense Literary Fiction, Crime Thriller, Suspense Thriller, Alzheimer's Disease, Murder Thriller, Psychological Suspense, Domestic Fiction, Domestic Thriller and Thriller amongst others.




I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of 'Gone Girl', 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Woman in the Window', 'The Girl on the Train' ,Lisa Jewell, ,Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn , Freida McFadden, K.L Slater, Daniel Hurst. Shari Lapeni, 'The Wife Between Us', 'The Housemaid' and anyone who loves an addictive drama.



228 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle, free with kindle unlimited and £7.99 in hardback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 4/5 (I enjoyed it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews




@LastBankHoliday @ChristinaDelmonte @Chris_tinadelmonte @christinedelmo9 @DelmoPublishing @ZooLoosBT @ZooloosBookTours @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger @KindleUnlimited














Author Bio 


'Last Bank Holiday' is Christina Delmonte's debut novel.

Christina has had a successful career in the Art, Design and TV Industry before owning

her very own Art Gallery.


Inspired by her love of reading, Christina decided to put pen to paper and create 'Last

Bank Holiday'.


Splitting time between Europe and the UK, she lives in the beautiful county of Cheshire,

which has provided much of the inspiration for the novel, along with her husband and

two children.




Social Media Links   






Purchase Link






2 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page