top of page

Lainy's Tale by S L Rosewarne. Review.


Book Description


If you liked Six Thirty in Lessons in Chemistry then you'll love Lainy!


Dog lover Suki is smitten with her new rescue, Lainy.


But Lainy’s struggling with PTSD and Suki’s almost out of ideas for helping her dog. When she meets a

young musician whose music calms terrified Lainy, Suki thinks he is the answer to her prayers.

But he is not who he appears to be and suddenly Suki’s happiness - and Lainy’s too - is at risk.


What is this man’s secret, and can Suki learn to say no before he destroys their future?


Following on from the hit success of The Rescue




BOOK REVIEW


Review for 'Lainy's Tale' by S L Rosewarne.


Read and reviewed for S.L.Rosewarne, DLM Tours and Compass Publishing UK.


Publication date 17th November 2023


This is the first book I have read by this author but it most definitely won't be my last!!!


This book consists of 31 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!!



Well done Sue on an absolutely gorgeous, page turning read that I just could not put down!!!


I absolutely adored this unique one of a kind storyline!!! This book tells the story of Lainy and her family mainly through the eyes of Moll the Terrier!!! Moll has lived with her human family who she has vowed to protect when rescue dog Lainy comes to live with Suki and Moll. Lainy had an awful and traumatic life before coming to live with Suki and Moll and my eyes were streaming with tears on many occasions. It is an extremely emotional book with Lainy struggling with PTSD from her past, Suki struggling to help Lainy as well as Zachary and Moll trying to protect her family and help Lainy and protect Suki.

I am a huge believer that animals are extremely clever and more compassionate than many people I know, they pick up on how you are feeling and, like babies and children that cannot talk, are unable to communicate or comfort their owners verbally but do so in ways they are able such as giving cuddles and licks. This really is a beautiful read and although Sue discusses difficult topics such as PTSD she does so in a compassionate way and weaves these topics perfectly into a gorgeous and thought provoking book. Sue portrays the difficulties that not only humans but pets suffer with when they struggle with PTSD. Sue manages to pack such an emotional punch and thought provoking story that will stay with the reader for a long time. I absolutely LOVE that this book is told from the view point of the family pet because who has never wondered what their pets would say if they could talk or wondered what they are thinking? I most certainly have and I must say that the way Sue has written Moll's perspective is surreally identical to how I believe a family pet would think and feel in these circumstances with feelings of insecurity, worry, doubt and loyalty. This book will take you on an emotional rollercoaster ride where you will go from anger to joy, heartbreak to happiness and everything in between so make sure you have the tissues at the ready!!! I must say I would absolutely LOVE to be able to know what on earth all my Golden Oldies Cat rescue and hospice cats are thinking and feeling!!! I mean I honestly just absolutely loved him!!! I am a HUGE animal lover myself (well I'd have to be to own a cat rescue 😂)and any books with animals playing main characters is a HUGE bonus for me and Moll and Lainy are absolute treasures that I wont be forgetting any time soon !! There was no way I could put this gorgeous book down until I had finished it. Any time I picked it up and even though I kept telling myself just one more chapter I just could not put it down as every time I went to something happened which meant I had to read just one more again until I ended up reading it in one sitting having been glued to my book for a few hours!! This book really is an absolutely gorgeous must read that I would recommend to anyone and everyone and I would love to see it turned into a movie!!


Clear your schedules and grab your tissues ready for this stunning emotional rollercoaster!!! Congratulations Sue on an absolutely beautiful book filled with emotion, an amazing dog and family drama! Here is to your next guaranteed success 🥂


Overall a beautiful, emotional and unique book that will have you seeing through the eyes of Moll the Terrier and will keep you absolutely hooked!!!


268 pages


This book is just £5.99 to purchase on kindle and £9.99 in paperback via Amazon at time of review which I think is a bargain for this book.



@LainysTale @SLRosewarne @DLMTours @CompassPublishingUK @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger














Author Bio


My journey through grief inspired the novel The Rescue, and as my terrier Moll was such a strong character, it seemed right that she should narrate this tale, though as most writers know, once you start writing, the story takes on a life of its own. This is very much what happened in the writing of The Rescue, which was published in November 2022. I am currently writing the sequel, Lainy’s Tail.


I write fiction under the name S L Rosewarne, but under Sue Kittow for my literary themed series of Cornish books entitled Walks in the Footsteps of Cornish Writers, Daphne du Maurier, Poldark and Rosamunde Pilcher.


Like many writers, I have had a variety of jobs including temping, bar work and waitressing, cleaning, TV news, advertising, being a moonlighting masseuse, working for a fine wine auction company, young offenders and running the accommodation office for a university. I then gave up proper jobs and became a journalist, getting my first commission on my 50th birthday. My beloved terrier Moll, who features in all my walking books, sadly died in 2020 so I now live in Falmouth with my Romanian rescue dog, Lainy, who is very affectionate and a terrible flirt.




Social Media Link




Purchase Link








5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page