top of page

'Just Married' by Kiersten Modglin


Book: JUST MARRIED

Author: Kiersten Modglin

Pub Day: 05/07/2021

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐



About the Book:

When my husband found this perfect little cabin in the woods for our honeymoon, I couldn’t wait to get away. Just us in the middle of the forest, waking up every day in the trees, ending each night in the hot tub under the stars. But now I’m not sure that I know my husband at all… I just wish we’d gone to the police when someone left a note on the doormat saying: She’s dead, you’re next. Ryan said I was overreacting, but I don’t understand why he won’t go to the cops now things are getting worse. Can I trust my husband? I’ve known about the terrible thing that Ryan did for years and it’s been tearing me apart. Last night I told him I would always keep his secret. But is the man I married hiding something else from me? Now someone has cut the phone lines and we’re trapped here. Ryan swears he has no idea what’s going on and just wants to keep us safe. I’m here alone in the middle of the dark forest with the man I thought I could trust. My heart is racing and there’s no one I can call… My husband promised till death do us part. Am I about to find out what that means? A heart-pounding, unbelievably twisty psychological thriller that will have you sleeping with the light on! Fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Date Night will be utterly gripped.






BLOG TOUR REVIEW


Review for 'Just Married' by Kiersten Modglin.


Read and reviewed via NetGalley for Kiersten Modglin, Bookouture publishers and Bookouture anonymous


Publication date 5th July 2021.


This is the first book I have read by this author.


I was originally drawn to this book by its intriguing and mysterious cover and gripping sounding synopsis and title. The synopsis stated that 'Fans of Gone Girl, Behind Closed Doors and Date Night will be utterly gripped'. I am a huge fan of 'Gone Girl' so am looking forward to seeing if this lives up to this statement. I must admit I was also biased due to the publisher being Bookouture. I have yet to read a book published by Bookouture that I haven't enjoyed. Hopefully this won't be the first... Watch this space! (Written before I started reading the book).


This novel consists of a prologue and 29 chapters. The chapters are short in length so possible to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!


This book is based in Tennessee, USA 🇺🇸.


This book is written in first person perspective and the main protagonists are Ryan, Grace and Janie. The benefits of having both first person perspective with multiple protagonists are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out on anything.


OMG!!!! WHAT DID I JUST READ!!!! I DID NOT EXPECT THAT!!! MIND BLOWN MUCH!!!


Wow!!! This book is fantastically written and had me hook, line and sinker from beginning to end. The descriptions were so in depth and vivid that the hair on. My arms was standing on the ends throughout and I could here the trees rustling throughout. The synopsis, title and cover were perfect for the storyline. I was absolutely absorbed throughout this page turner. It is filled with tension, suspense, lies, secrets and omg the twists!!! I DID NOT see any of them coming!!! A MASSIVE CONGRATULATIONS Kiersten!! It is getting harder and harder to shock me but by God you did that over and over and over!!! What an ending!!! One of the most gripping unputdownable nerve wracking psychological thrillers I have EVER read!!! You lady have one hell of a talent and I cannot wait to get hold of your previous and future books. I cannot remember the last time I was so creeped out by a book but you managed that big time!!! Do not read this with the lights off and clear your schedule before you start as I read this in one sitting as I could not put it down!! Practically every chapter ended on a cliff hanger so no way could I put it down!! Absolutely hooked!!


Some chapters were set in the past. When books show what has happened in the past and what is happening in the present I find it really helps the reader (if it is well done) understand why things are happening and what has lead to the present activities and decisions. It also shows the bigger picture.


I was completely invested in both the storyline and the characters. Grace and Ryan were both such realistic characters and just wow well I just didn't see ANY of that coming. I can't actually say anything else about them without giving anything away!!!


Welcome to my top authour CLUB Kiersten and your book is one of the best psychological thrillers I have EVER READ!! Bring on the next one!!! I cannot wait!!!


Overall an absolutely heart racing, never wracking, unputdownable addictive psychological thriller!!!



Genres covered in this book include Psychological Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Thriller and Psychological Suspense amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of CL Taylor, 'Gone Girl', Shari Lapena and ANYONE looking for a page turner!!!



184 pages.


This book is just 99p to purchase on kindle via Amazon or free with kindle unlimited which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!


Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.


Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews


@KierstenModglin @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86









Author Bio


Kiersten Modglin is an Amazon Top 30 bestselling author of award-winning psychological thrillers and a member of International Thriller Writers. Kiersten lives in Nashville, Tennessee with her husband, daughter, and their two Boston Terriers: Cedric and Georgie. She is best known for her unpredictable suspense and her readers have dubbed her 'The Queen of Twists.' A Netflix addict, Shonda Rhimes super-fan, psychology fanatic, and indoor enthusiast, Kiersten enjoys rainy days spent with her nose in a book.


Social Media









Buy Link:



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page