top of page

'Inglestone Manor' by S.S Saywack

Book Description


It seems the war will never end. When Lizzy and her brother and sister are evacuated to the village of Inglestone, they find their new home strange. Under the shadow of the ruined Inglestone Manor, they meet Dorothy Inglestone, the last of her line, and the ever-watchful Mr and Mrs Gains.


When they are told of a treasure hidden in a ruin manor, they can’t resist trying to find it. In their hunt, they come across a strange boy roaming the ruins. Not only is he wanted by the police, but he is also wanted by the Gains.


Can the Allens keep a secret and not betray the boy? Before long, their loyalties will be tested.



BOOK REVIEW



Review for 'Inglestone Manor' by S S Saywack.



Read and reviewed for S S Saywack.


Publication date 31st August 2021.



This is the the second book I have read by this author. I have also read 'Mary Finch And The Thief' which is the first book in the 'Mary Finch Mystery' series. I would highly recommend reading thay too.


I was originally drawn to this book by its fantastic eye catching cover and its intriguing synopsis and title. I am also a huge fan of S.S Saywack and if this book is half as good as 'Mary Finch And The Thief' it is guaranteed to be a page turner.


This novel consists of 53 chapters. The chapters are short to medium in length so easy to read 'just one more chapter' before bed...OK, I know yeah right, but still just in case!



This book is based in England 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿, UK 🇬🇧. The bonus for me of books that are partly or fully based in the UK is that I live in the UK and have sometimes visited places mentioned in the book which makes it easier to picture. I have actually visited and had holidays in England on several occasions so am looking forward to seeing if I recognise anywhere that S. S Saywack has based the book on.



This book is written in third person perspective and the main protagonist is Elizabeth (Lizzy) Allen. The benefits of third person perspective are that it let's you see the bigger picture of what's going on and you get to know more characters more, what they are thinking and what they are doing. It feels like you get to see the whole picture and not miss out in anything.



A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS TO S S SAYWACK ON AN ABSOLUTELY ADDICTIVELY PAGE TURNING COSY MYSTERY.



AN absolutely successful unputdownable cosy mystery by the very talented S S Saywack. I'm always a bit dubious with books based historically as I worry about not being able to 'deal' with the language used but I absolutely love how Shiv Saywack has written his book. The language used is perfectly suited to the era whilst being easy to read and making it quite humorous on several occasions. The atmosphere and descriptions were perfect. The synopsis and cover also suit the storyline.



The storyline had me hooked immediately and I love the way that Lizzie, Charlie and Munch go about their detective work exploring. There was just so much about this book that I found unique and that I absolutely loved!!! The fact that the protagonists are children and they go about exploring Inglestone Manor trying to discover the jewels while keeping Miss Inglestone company makes this a unique storyline. Shiv's writing is absolutely brilliant and really brings the story alive. There was so much going on that it kept me entertained thoroughly throughout with mystery after mystery and clue after clue. It was filled with suspense, mystery, friendship, murder, clues, war. tension, suspense and so much more!! It is absolutely perfect to read either curled in front of the fire or lying on a beach which not many books can achieve. The atmosphere was perfectly suited to the mystery with the children exploring the Manor and the house plus the scenes that were set in London at the start of the book. The vivid descriptions helped the scene and characters come alive and there were many times when I looked up and felt completely lost to where I was as I was so lost in the book. I'm always a bit dubious with books based historically as I worry about not being able to 'deal' with the language used but I absolutely love how Shiv has written his book. The language used is perfectly suited to the era whilst being easy to read. I loved the author notes at the end which gives the reader information about the 'Blitz'. This book is a fantastic, easy to read page turner which really sucks you into the mystery. I loved the ending which left some mystery to who Abel really was.


It is advertised as having a suitable reading age of 10 to 18 but as a 36 year old I absolutely loved it. I read it with my 10 year old son Malaki who also got completely sucked into the storyline and hated it when I left it at a cliffhanger wanted to read 'just one more chaoter' again and again. The only part he wasn't a fan of was at the beginning when it mentioned the war with everything that is going on in Ukraine at the moment. However, he still absolutely loved the story and is looking forward to reading more books by this author. Malaki also enjoyed S.S Saywack’s 'Mary Finch And The Thief' which I would also highly recommend!! I would say it is great for anyone age 10 years and older. The fact that Lizzy, Munch and Charlie are only children the self helps to attract this book to the younger generations. I was absolutely hooked throughout and I am looking forward to getting stuck into more books by this fantastic author!!




The characters were all larger than life, realistic and jumped out of the pages. My heart went out to Lizzy, Munch and Charlie who are taken away from their mum and maid and sent to a Manor where they don't know anyone to keep them safe. Lizzy is so strong and such an amazing sister trying to look after Munch and Charlie and keep them calm and happy when their world is crumbling around them. Munch is sweet and I loved her little attitude and she is very strong headed. She is a lovely girl who is protective of Lizzy and Charlie. Charlie is also a sweetheart who is protective of his sisters and tries to be the "man of the house". I absolutely adored Miss Inglestone who the children went to live with. She is such a lovely woman and my heart broke at the end. I won't say more as I don't want to give anything away. I was intrigued listening to her history and watching her relationship with the children grow stronger throughout the book. I could not stand Mr Gains who was a brutish bully and ungrateful for everything Miss Inglestone does for him and Mrs Gains. Mrs Gains is just as bad although my attitude to her did change towards the end of the book. However, regardless of of you love them or hate them they all worked perfectly to make this such an explosive start to a promising series I cannot wait to meet them all again and see what they get up to in the next "episode".


If you are looking for a cosy and explosive historical mystery that will keep you absolutely hooked then look no further!!!


This is why you are one of my favourite authors S S Saywack! A page turning and unputdownable success! Here's to your next success 🥂!!



Overall an easy to read, fun,page turning and addictive cozy murder mystery that will keep you up late at night.


Genres covered in this novel include Cozy Mystery, Historical Mystery, Historical Mystery, Thriller & Suspense Fiction, Mysteries and Detective Stories For Children, Children, Children's Exploration & Discoveries Fiction, Teen, Murder, Children's Historical Fiction On Exploration & Discoveries,Classic Crime Fiction, Suspense, Young Adult, Mystery, Children's Mysteries And Detectives, and Crime amongst others.



I would recommend this book to the fans of the above as well as fans of T E Kinsey, Agatha Christie, Lee Strauss, Sherlock Holmes, Arthur Conan Doyle and anyone looking for an addictive and page turning murder mystery.



219 pages.



This book is just £1.99 to purchase on kindle and £8.85 on paperback via Amazon which I think is an absolute bargain for this book!!!



Rated 5 /5 (I LOVED it ) on Goodreads, Instagram, Amazon UK and Amazon US and on over 30 Facebook pages plus my blog on Facebook.



Feel free to add me on Goodreads or follow me on my website or Facebook for more reviews



@InglestoneManor @SSSaywack @BlossomSpringPublishing @Bookouture @Bookworm1986 @bookworm86 @Goodreads @Amazon @AmazonKindle @Bookstagram @BookBlogger


















Author Bio


S S Saywack is the author of the Mary Finch Mysteries. This comprises four novels and a small prologue: Mary Finch and the Thief, Mary Finch and the Grey Lady, Mary Finch and the Spy, Mary Finch Endgame and Mary Finch, a Prologue. After a career as a Graphic Designer, then an art teacher, he took to writing short stories, flash fiction and novels for middle-grade readers. He has a love of history - Victorian England and the early twentieth century, playing the guitar and is an avid reader of all types of fiction. He lives in the East End of London, a place well suited for his creation, Mary Finch, to explore and to have her adventures.


Find him on the web: https://saywackwrites.com



Purchase Link






39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shadows In The Ashes by Christina Courtenay. Guest Post

Book Description Rising from the ashes … a love that echoes through time Present Day – Finally escaping an abusive marriage, Caterina Rossi takes her three-year-old daughter and flees to Italy. There

Zero Kill by M.K Hill . Promo

Book Description A TIMES BEST NEW THRILLER PICK 'Runs at breakneck speed through a dark and dangerous universe populated with characters who are never what they seem' KATHLEEN KENT, author of Black Wo

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page